Report/Result: East Lancs Road Race

2016 VanillaBikes Banner

Jake Cowen wins a four up sprint to the line at Bashall Eaves in Lancashire for the East Lancs Road Clubs Spring Road Race

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Result: East Lancs Road Race
Bashall Eaves Long Circuit, 22nd May 2016 (Thanks Robert)

This was the first time the East Lancs Road Club had used the Long Bashall Eaves circuit and fifty-four riders set off in glorious sunshine to tackle five laps of the undulating course.

From the start, the leading riders set a blistering pace and a dozen riders were soon shipped out the back of the peloton, unable to withstand the combination of a long uphill drag and the relentless speed set by the leaders.

The pace slacked gradually during the second lap but no rider or riders were able to make a breakaway stick. More riders were lost on lap three and a sustained breakaway by Dave Powell (Horwich CC) and Stuart Percival (GMC Fire Services) looked to have settled the matter by the beginning of the fourth lap.

However, the peloton had other ideas and with some sustained hard riding saw the bunch bring the two escapees back into the fold and in a hectic final lap the whole field were in with a chance of the win.

Only on the final climb to the finish did a foursome of Jake Cowen (The Nab Racing), Joseph Bowers (Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles), Jimmy Smith (Team Aspire) and Benjamin Trippier of the organising club show sufficient strength to distance themselves from the chasing pack and take victory.

A great days racing and, an extremely well organised event. Congratulations to Organiser David Trippier and his hard working team of accredited marshals, club marshals and helpers.

1 Jake Cowen The Nab Racing
2 Joseph Bowers Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles
3 Jimmy Smith Team Aspire
4 Benjamin Trippier East Lancashire Road Club
5 Cameron Jeffers Team Corley Cycles
6 Tom Lowe
7 Craig Battersby Team Chronomaster
8 Max McMurdo SSLL Racing Team
9 James Wilkinson Audlem Cycling Club
10 Ryan Coulton Pro Vision SJ Academy
11 James Claydon The Nab Racing
12 Jamie Fletcher Team Elite
13 Christian Smith Manchester Bicycle Club
14 Sam Fairhurst Bill Nickson Cycles RT
15 Kieran Lacey Lakes RC
16 Stuart Percival G M C Fire Services
17 Tony Workman Lancashire RC
18 Christopher Green East Lancashire Road Club
19 John Backhouse Audlem Cycling Club
20 Dave Powell Horwich CC
21 Kevin Chadwick Lakes RC
22 Ben Whitehead ABC Centreville
23 Chris Gambles Lancashire RC
24 Matt Gott West Pennine Road Club
25 John Agnew
26 Andrew Gorton East Lancashire Road Club
27 Thomas Hanlon Harry Middleton Cycling Club
28 Oliver Huszar East Lancashire Road Club
29 Derek Leggett Lakes RC
30 Steven Sherwen North Cheshire Clarion
31 Luke Dabbs Rossendale RC
32 Paul Whaley
33 Alex Wallis Salford Cycling Club




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK