Report/Results: Braintree Velo Grass Track


Report and results from the Braintree Velo Grass Track Endurance meeting Margaretting, Essex recently

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Results: Braintree Velo Grass Track
from Leigh Haigh, Organiser

The 2nd edition of the Braintree Velo CRC Endurance Grass Track Meeting was held again in glorious blue skies in the small village of Margaretting, Essex. Last year’s champion Martin Smith (Chesterfield Coureurs) had again travelled down from Lincolnshire to defend his win at this meeting, though he would be up against the reigning British 8 km Grass Track champion Mitchell Powell (Team Terminator). This truly was going to be a classic ding dong battle between the two riders.

Powell took early advantage by claiming wins in the Devil and the 1 km scratch but it was the 8km event that was the turning point in the meeting. Powell resplendent in his white National Champions jersey was watching everything that the riders threw at him.

Attacks from Smith, Dave Mitchison (CC Ashwell) and Laurence Lisher (Green Arrow CRT) were well covered until Lisher launched a devastating attack which saw him power off the front gaining 60 meters and was holding that advantage for the latter stages of the race. The bunch started slowly drawing him in and when the bell rang it was touch and go whether he would hold off for the win.

Powell started his sprint on the back straight but his back wheel went from under him and down he went. Smith & Mithchison took advantage and caught Lisher well before the line with Smith taking the win.

The final event of the day was the Last Man Standing race which has become the featured event in this meeting. 2 ways of winning. Either lap everyone and they get pulled out, or race for the full 40 minutes and sprint it out with whoever is left. A few early digs off the front saw the backmarkers being swallowed up and eliminated from the race. After 10 minutes of racing, 3 groups had developed and 5 minutes after that it was down to 2 groups.

The front group consisting of Lisher, Smith, Mitchison, Powell, Rob Kennison & Steven Smith (both Medway CC) soon caught the 2nd group after 20 minutes of racing. Smith & Mitchison started attacking each other at every opportunity which eliminated Smith, Kennison, Lisher and finally Powell. Both riders had a gladiatorial battle royal by not giving one another an inch. It was a fascinating spectacle with the spectators applauding both riders. After 35 minutes of racing, Smith finally succumbed to cramp which left Mitchison to win the race in 36minutes 48 seconds. … continued after advert


Seniors Omnium
1st Martin Smith Chesterfield Coureurs
2nd David Mitchison CC Ashwell
3rd Mitchell Powell Team Terminator
4th Laurence Lisher Green Arrow RT
5th Rob Kennison Medway VC
6th Steven Smith Medway VC
7th Gavin Mitchell Twickenham CC
8th Andy Ballentyne Easterley CC
9th Ian Foulkes CC Ashwell
10th David Hadsley CC Ashwell
11th Alexander Cook Medway VC
12th David Dodsworth Maldon & District CC
13th Michael Tyas Maldon & District CC
14th Philip Booth Medway VC

Women Omnium
1st Sally Smith Medway VC
2nd Sherylin Powell Chelmer CC
3rd Laurette Dodsworth Maldon & District CC

In the Youths racing there was spirited racing with each category winner dominating their events. All Youths came away with medals and trophies which made it a day out worthwhile.

Youth B Omnium
1st Ellie-Mae Pledger Lee Valley Youth CC
2nd Archie Foulkes CC Ashwell

Youth C Omnium
1st Joseph Hadsley CC Ashwell

Youth D Omnium
1st Will Morrison Colchester Rovers CC
2nd Chloe Ollett Colchester Rovers CC
3rd Matthew Dodsworth Maldon & District CC

Youth E Omnium
1st Izaak Carr Colchester Rovers CC
2nd James Morrison Colchester Rovers CC
3rd Erica Dodsworth Maldon & District CC

Free Wheelers Omnium
1st Isaac Smith Chesterfield Coureurs CC
2nd Safiya Smith Medway CC
3rd Arthur Smith Chesterfield Coureurs CC



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,