Report/Result – Velothon Wales UCI 1.1


Tom Stewart of Madison Genesis wins the Velothon Wales UCI 1.1 road race with Ian Bibby third

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result – Velothon Wales UCI 1.1
(thanks Richard Hopkins for the result  | Photos Getty Images)

Britain’s Tom Stewart (Madison Genesis) claimed victory in the Pro Race at the second Velothon Wales on Sunday (May 23rd).


After a thrilling 194km Pro Race it was Stewart, riding for Madison Genesis, who hung on to his breakaway lead in the finishing straight to take the victory ahead of Stolting Service Groups’ Rasmus Guldhammer in second and NFTO’s Ian Bibby in third place.

Victory for the 26-year-old Stewart came a week after he won the Lincoln Grand Prix and an impressive showing in the Tour de Yorkshire. “I am so chuffed. I have never gone as deep as this over the last four weeks in my life and today was another record again,” admitted Stewart. “As a team we really deserved what we got in Lincoln last week and this is another great moment for us. It was a brilliant race, really hard and I decided to take it on.”

“First time up the Tumble was steady and then the second time was much harder and that’s when I made my move. I felt really good on Caerphily the first time, got away with a couple of other riders and then got caught. Then I just went again and got a gap going over the top. I can’t sprint for toffee so I decided to go for it. I kept telling myself ‘don’t get home tonight and regret anything, just dig deeper and deeper’. What a relief it was to win.”


Two British riders on the podium of a UCI 1.1 – Tom Stewart of Madison Genesis (1st) and Ian Bibby 3rd. Second was Rasmus Guldhammer.


The peloton on the Tumble.


1 Stewart Tom Madison Genesis 04:20:29.000
2 Guldhammer Rasmus Stölting Service Group
3 Bibby Ian NFTO
4 Hnik Karel Verva Activejet Pro Cycling Team
5 Cieslik Pawel Verva Activejet Pro Cycling Team
6 Domagalski Karol ONE Pro Cycling
7 Stedman Max Pedal Heaven
8 Boulo Matthieu Team Raleigh GAC
9 Appleby Dale NFTO
10 Hoekstra Jochem Parkhotel Valkenburg
11 Smith Dion ONE Pro Cycling 00:00:14
12 Bialoblocki Marcin ONE Pro Cycling 00:00:14
13 Hansen Lasse Norman Stölting Service Group 00:00:16
14 Gradek Kamil Verva Activejet Pro Cycling Team 00:00:16
15 Ockeloen Jasper Parkhotel Valkenburg 00:01:12
16 Pruus Peeter Rietumu-Delfin 00:01:13
17 Vinjebo Emil Nygaard Team Giant-Scatto 00:01:43
18 Pullar Jack Pedal Heaven 00:01:50
19 Evrard Laurent Team 3M 00:01:50
20 Harper George ONE Pro Cycling 00:01:50
21 Hrinkow Dominik Hrinkow Advarics Cycleangteam 00:01:50
22 Luksevics Viesturs Alpha Baltic – Maratoni.LV 00:01:50
23 Podlaski Michal Verva Activejet Pro Cycling Team 00:01:50
24 Koch Jonas Verva Activejet Pro Cycling Team 00:01:50
25 Moreno Sala Adria Team Raleigh GAC 00:01:54
26 Janssens Jimmy Team 3M 00:01:56
27 Torres Barcelo Albert Team Raleigh GAC 00:02:17
28 Mould Jonathan JLT Condor 00:02:17
29 Lewis Gruffudd Madison Genesis 00:02:17
30 Fox Will Pedal Heaven 00:02:17
31 Briggs Graham JLT Condor 00:02:17
32 Janssen Dick Team 3M 00:02:17
33 Bradbury Edmund NFTO 00:02:17
34 Kalojiros Tomas AC Sparta Praha 00:02:17
35 Tarvis Peeter National Team Estonia 00:02:17
36 Lloyd Rhys NFTO 00:02:21
37 Barker Yanto ONE Pro Cycling 00:02:21
38 Downing Russell JLT Condor 00:02:26
39 Bogdanovics Maris Rietumu-Delfin 00:03:03
40 Liepins Emils Rietumu-Delfin 00:03:14
41 De Vos Gertjan Team 3M 00:03:14
42 Bichlmann Daniel Stradalli-Bike Aid 00:03:14
43 Kneisky Morgan Team Raleigh GAC 00:03:14
44 Mager Christian Stölting Service Group 00:03:19
45 Kamp Alexander Stölting Service Group 00:03:19
46 Atkins George JLT Condor 00:03:19
47 McEvoy Johnny NFTO 00:03:19
48 Van Denberg Jim Parkhotel Valkenburg 00:07:13
49 Smirnovs Andris Alpha Baltic – Maratoni.LV 00:07:50
50 Slater Alistair JLT Condor 00:10:15
51 Horton Tobyn Madison Genesis 00:17:26





Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,