Report: Ron Brown Memorial 100


Kieron Davies and John Dewey the top two in the Ron Brown Memorial 100 (Hounslow & District Wheelers), both breaking the course record

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Ron Brown Memorial 100
(thanks Chris)

The complaint is often made that time trials are too predictable to be called races, and that the only interest is in the minor differences in the relationship between established riders.

Last Sunday (29th May) in the Ron Brown Memorial 100 this cosy arrangement was completely exploded when the two fastest rides came from novices at the distance. The winner was Kieron Davies (Drag2Zero) with a time of 3 hours 27 minutes 34 seconds, the very close runner up was John Dewey (Team Bottrill) who recorded 3.28.21.

This shock effect was enhanced when it was realised that both performances were improvements on the existing course and event records (event record was by Kevin Dawson, 3.29.03, when the event was the National Championship in 1997, course record, Adam Topham, 3.34.01 in 2015).

Keiron Davies’ time is truly remarkable for a first 100, although it should be said that he is not exactly a time trial novice since he won the Welsh 50 Championship last year recording 1.39.16. Davies is a 29 year old school teacher from Camarthen in South Wales. Originally a rugby player he started cycling at 23 just to keep reasonably fit, but a competitive instinct soon showed itself and he is now in his fourth racing season.

Since he is, by time trial standards, still young, there seems to be a possibility that Keiron could soon be rewriting the record books for this branch of the sport.

John Dewey was unlucky to have to settle for second place; his time was just 47 seconds slower than the winner’s and was course and event record, but only for just over two minutes, since, by chance, he had started three minutes ahead of Davies.

His 2016 season has been outstandingly successful before last Sunday, with five victories from the first five rides, which he attributes to honing his skills with Matt Bottrill though last winter. John did have the consolation of leading his club to a team victory, supported by Scott Walker (3.47.25) and Edward Nicholson (3.49.56).

Both the leading riders intend to use this result as a qualifying time for the National 100 Championships – perhaps they will also upset things there.  … continued after advert


Laura Bartlett (A3crg), the ladies winner, was yet another novice at the distance. However it’s clear that she is already skilled at pace judging since her 50 time was almost exactly half her finishing time of 4.08.16. Laura reported that her club mates suggested she had not tried hard enough because she looked so fresh at the finish – while this seems an unfair criticism of a first timer in a long event, it certainly tells us there is more to come from Ms. Bartlett.

The event took place on the Farnham – Alton course in cool weather with a moderate North Easterly wind: not bad conditions, but by no means perfect. For the first time in a quarter of a century it was not organised by Trevor Gilbert who has been obliged to lighten his responsibilities for health reasons – we all owe Trevor a great debt for his work over many years.

Jeff Marshall stepped into the breach at short notice and has done an excellent job, but it’s worth noting that while Jeff has had a long connection with this event, he won it in 1962 and 1972, there was at least one person present who had an even longer connection: Ron Richardson (91) whose first experience of this 100 was in 1949 when he was a young(ish) member of the then promoting club, the legendary Calleva RC, from which the Hounslow took over in 1956.

Hounslow & District Wheelers – Ron Brown Memorial 100 (29th May 2016)

1. Kieron Davies Drag2Zero 3.27.34
2. John Dewey Team Botrill 3.28.21
3. Peter Harrison GS Henley 3.30.22
4. James Hayden Bishop’s Stortford CC 3.35.04
5. Charles Mitchell A3crg 3.41.26.

1. Laura Bartlett A3crg 4.08.16
2. Deana Ford High Wycombe CC 4.36.50.

Fastest Vet: Jon Wynn 3.42.22

Vet on Standard: Stephen Whitewick VeloRefined Aero plus 78.48

Team: Team Bottrill
John Dewey 3.28.21.
Scott Walker 3.47.25
Edward Nicholson 3.49.56
Aggregate time 11.05.42.



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK