Report: GT Ellingworth & GA Bennett Road Races


William Davey and Dave  Shackleton winners at the Witham Wheelers GT Ellingworth & GA Bennett Road Races on Bank Holiday Monday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: GT Ellingworth & GA Bennett Road Races
(Thanks Simon)

GT Ellingworth

On Bank Holiday Monday Witham Wheelers promoted their annual two British Cycling road races, which with support from PedalPushers Racing Bike shop of Grantham attracted good fields of riders from all over the midlands and further afield


The morning GT Ellingworth race over 3.3/4 laps of the Wyville, Saltby, Skillington, Ponton Heath circuit, with 65 riders starting, The 50 mile race around our 12 mile circuit began in a horrible drizzle before the sun came out with 2 laps to go. In the first laps, several breakaway attempts were made before being caught by the bunch due to the windy conditions.

With a lap and a half to go, Adam Egner (Witham Whs) broke away with Will Davey (Beeston CC) and together they pushed out a lead of 30 seconds, but with half a lap to go, the wind got the better of Adam and he dropped back to the bunch while Davey stayed away to win the race by 17 seconds on the line.

The bunch sprint was led in by Tom Lowe (RAF CC) with Martyn Ludlam (Witham Whs) just taking third with a big lunge at the line.

GT Ellingworth (3/4)
1 William Davey Beeston Cycling Club
2 Thomas Lowe Royal Air Force CA at 17 secs
3 Martyn Ludlam Witham Wheelers Cycling Club ”
4 Jack Stephenson Out Of The Saddle ”
5 Joshua  Gale Flex-Tech Ettridge Cycles RT ”
6 Joel Hewitt Bikechain – Ricci ”
7 Thomas Sutton RST Racing Team ”
8 Gary Hides Out Of The Saddle ”
9 Richard Lister Team WNT ”
10 Simon Drury South Normanton Cycling Club ”
11 David Furniss Doncaster Whls CC ”
12 Jasper Frary Squadra RT ”
13 Adam Cadle Cliff Pratt Racing ”
14 Alexander Gyte ”
15 Thomas Davison Geared Up Cycles ”
16 Robert Fox VC Lincoln ”
17 Oliver Humphreys National Clarion Cycling Club ”
18 Jake Poole Steve Poole Plant Hire / Raleigh ”
19 Kevin Potter Lichfield City CC ”
20 Alfie Jollands Clay Cross Road Team ”
21 Matthew Coates OVB ”
22 Mark Walker Hull Thursday RC ”
23 Edward Scarrow VC Norwich ”
24 Oliver Smee Team PB Performance ”
25 Adam Egner Witham Wheelers Cycling Club ”
26 Paul Westwood Lichfield City CC ”
27 Anthony Swaby Witham Wheelers Cycling Club at 38 secs
28 Philip Wilkins Moda RT ”
29 Llewellyn Byrne Witham Wheelers Cycling Club ”
30 Mark Scoffin Team Cystic Fibrosis ”
31 Ben Spiers Rockingham Forest Whls ”
32 John Grenfell-Shaw Cambridge University CC ”
33 Daniel Leverton Rockingham Forest Whls ”
34 Brett Waterhouse Hull Thursday RC ”
35 Liam Eccott Royal Air Force CA ”
36 Darren Mullett Lichfield City CC ”
37 Stuart Harrison Flex-Tech Ettridge Cycles RT ”
38 Stewart Le Couilliard Geared Up Cycles ”

GA Bennett

The afternoon event for Elite123 categories was held over 82 miles 6.3/4 laps and again had a good field of 64 riders. This produced a hard competitive race with the windy conditions making it tough for anyone who wanted to race over the rolling circuit. A break of 8 riders broke away on the first lap and over the first 3 laps this group built up a lead of 3 minutes over the main bunch.


With 3 laps to go through the finishing line a group of 11 riders, were now chasing at 1.30 with another chasing group of 6 riders a further 50 seconds behind and the bunch falling further back at 3.15 behind the leaders.

With 2 laps to go the gaps between the leading 3 groups was now 50 and 45 seconds respectively before the 2 chase groups merged and then split again to leave on the final lap to leave 13 riders approaching the finish where Dave Shackleton (Wilsons Wheels- Manchester) won a close sprint from Doug Coleman (CC Luton) with Jake Tanner (Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield) 3rd.

GA Bennett (E123)
1 Dave  Shackleton Wilson’s Wheels RT 3.07.20
2 Douglas Coleman CC Luton ”
3 Jake Tanner Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield  ”
4 Jamie Caldwell Richardsons-Trek RT ”
5 George Fox Wellingborough Cycles Race Team ”
6 Ross Lamb Godfrey Bikewear Race Team ”
7 Steve Young Giant Store Rutland / Wattbike ”
8 Martin Ford Planet X – Northside Cycling ”
9 Simon Wilson Bikehaus by Ridley ”
10 Chris  Sleath Adept Precision RT/NE Healthcare ”
11 Jack Rees Planet X – Northside Cycling ”
12 Kit Gilham ”
13 Sam Smith Langdale Lightweights Racing Team ”
14 Charlie Renshaw Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield  at 1.41
15 Alex Anderson VC Equipe – Flix ”
16 Edward Pickard Leisure Lakes ”
17 Joseph Clark Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield  at 2.03
18 Mike Wragg CC Luton at 2.13
19 Matt  Clarke Pedal Heaven Academy at 2.55
20 Alex Dalton Wold Top Actif RT ”
21 Alex Luhrs Planet X – Northside Cycling ”
22 Peter Cocker Giant Store Rutland / Wattbike ”
23 Karl Baillie Raleigh GAC ”
24 Joseph Elwood Langsett Cycles RT ”
25 George Bartlett KTM Impsport RT at 3.27
26 Pierre Vernie Godfrey Bikewear Race Team ”
27 Martin Woffindin Bikehaus by Ridley ”
28 David Ogg Godfrey Bikewear Race Team ”
29 Billy Robinson Squadra RT at 4.30
30 Tobias Bartlett Acre Racing Team ”
31 Reece Egner Witham Wheelers Cycling Club ”
32 Anthony Richardson Royal Air Force CC ”
33 Alexander Foster Bikehaus by Ridley ”
34 James Hedley-Smith Pedal Power Loughborough ”
35 Tim James Catford CC Equipe/Banks ”
36 Chris McNaughton OVB ”
37 Andrew Turner Manchester Wheelers Club ”
38 Andrew Brinkley OVB at 6.24
39 Sam Travis Acre Racing Team ”
40 Andrew Sheret OVB at 7.40
41 Chris Limberger Beeston Cycling Club ”
42 Adam Turner Andy Moore Autocentres Racing ”
43 Joseph Perkins Leisure Lakes ”
44 Jonathan Hornblow Leisure Lakes ”
45 Robert Orr Planet X – Northside Cycling ”
46 James  McKay Finchley RT ”
47 Ollie Taylor Wellingborough Cycles Race Team ”
48 Stefan Rick Beeston Cycling Club ”
49 Conor Williams Langdale Lightweights Racing Team ”
50 Alastair  Hepworth Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield  ”
51 Andrew Webster Bikehaus by Ridley ”
52 David Lowe BowlPhish BONTRAGER Racing at 8.05
53 Will Corden Mammoth Lifestyle Racing Team ”
54 Freddie Jagger Muckle CC ”
55 Oliver W Bates Wellingborough Cycles Race Team at 8.21
56 Joseph White Acre Racing Team ”
57 Phil Giles Beeston Cycling Club ”
59 Jonathan  Bridge Acre Racing Team

… continued after advert





Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK