Report: Brooks Cycles Track League


Despite the the threat of rain, the Brooks Cycles Track League at the Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme, latest round took place on Thursday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Brooks Cycles Track League

The Brooks Cycles Track League at The Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme, latest round took place on Thursday 9th June 2016.The weather forecast did threaten rain in the event however although it was cloudy and very warm the rain never appeared and so a full program of events took place.

The night started with the usual Freewheelers racing with only two groups this week however the 23 riders put in some great racing.After a program of 13 races the top points scorers in each group were as follows;

Group 1 Zac Edwards , Lyme RC 10 Points
Group 2 Euan White Lyme RC 8 Points

The main league started with the 500m Handicap League. The winner was multi World Masters Track Champion Steve Cronshaw ( Brooks Cycles ) with Dan Cooper ( Lichfield CCC ) second and Chris Heaton ( Sportcity Velo ) third. In the other Sprinters League events there was a win for Phil Houlton ( Brooks Cycles) Barney Swinnerton (SwinnertonCycles ) and Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton cycles ) in the Team Sprint and Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton Cycles ) won the individual Sprint Final from Joel Partington (Sportcity Velo )

In the A Class Endurance events Matt Walls ( Velocity Global bikes ) won all the events in the the 10 lap scratch, devil, course de primes and the 10 mile. The B Class races saw a large field compete with the points going to a large number of riders. The 10 lap scratch was taken by Alex Coates ( Lyme RC) and later he won the devil. Emile Alexander (Lichfield CCC ) wo the course de primes and the 10 mile .

In the youth events Joel Ackers won the block handicap and the course de primes. The devil ended when two riders crashed and so four riders were awarded the win and the points. … continued after advert



Group 1
Race 1
1st Zac Edwards Lyme RC
2nd Paige Hardy Lyme RC
3rd Thomas Mould Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Evie Davis Lyme RC
2nd Harry Brayford Lyme RC
3rd Brandon McMillan Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Aaron Hardy Lyme RC
2nd Natasha Sandbach Lyme RC
3rd Charlie Shroder Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Zac Edwards
2nd Harry Brayford
3rd Paige Hardy

Race 5
1st Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC
2nd Natasha Sandbach
3rd Aaron Hardy

Race 6
1st Zac Edwards
2nd Evie Davis
3rd Brandon McMillan

Race 7
1st Aaron Hardy
2nd Charlie Shroder
3rd Thomas Wheaver

Group 2
Race 1
1st Daniel Jones Lyme RC
2nd Holly Edwards Lyme RC
3rd Euan White Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Nicholas Sandbach Lyme RC
2nd` Harley Johns Lyme RC
3rd Euan White Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Euan White
2nd James Swinnerton Lyme RC
3rd Holly Edwards

Race 4
1st Harley Johns
2nd Aliya Shroder Lyme RC
3rd Scarlet Swinnerton Lyme RC

Race 5
1st Daniel Jones
2nd Euan White
3rd Holly Edwards

Race 6
1st Emma O’Neil
2nd Aliya Shroder
3rd Rocco Schumacher
2nd Hugo Shroder
3rd Max McKenzie

500m Handicap League
1st Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles
2nd Dan Cooper Lichfield CCC
3rd Chris Heaton Sportcity Velo
4th Josh Dunham Team Swift
5th Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles
6th Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles

Youth Block Handicap
1st Joel Ackers Sportcity Velo
2nd Harry Ledingham-Horn Lyme RC
3rd Brandon Fraser-Thomson Eastlands Velo

A Endurance 10 lap scratch
1st Matt Walls Velocity Global Bikes
2nd Ben Hardwick Wolverhampton Wheelers
3rd Simon Bradeley Pro Vision

B Class 8 lap Scratch
1st Alex Coates Lyme RC
2nd James Brayford Lyme RC
3rd Aleshia Mellor Lyme RC

Sprinters League Team Sprint
1st Phil Houlton
Sean Mayer Swinnerton cycles
Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles

2nd Chris Pyatt
Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles
Joel Partington Swinnerton Cycles

3rd Josh Dunham
Chris Heaton
Paige Dutton Swinnerton Cycles

Youth Team sprint
1st Sam Hall Lyme RC
Matt Cutherbertson Lyme RC
Bradley Hill Lyme RC
Harry Ledingham Horn Lyme RC
Joel Ackers

A Devil
1st Matt Walls
2nd Jake Stewart Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Ben Hardwick

B Class Course de Primes
1st Emile Alexander Lichfield CCC
2nd Esme Niblet Mid Shropshire Wheelers
3rd Alex Coates

Youth Devil
1st Sam Hall
Harry Ledingham-Horn
Hannah Davies
Joel Ackers All awarded first place due to crash

A Class Course de Primes
1st Marr Walls
2nd Jake Stewart
3rd Aidan Morley Lyme RC

B Class devil
1st Alex Coates
2nd Paul Jones Ellmore FRT
3rd Charlie Fisher Newport CC

Sprint Final
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Joel Partington
3rd Chris Heaton

Youth Course de primes
1st Joel Ackers
2nd Harry Ledingham Horn
3rd Bradley Hill

30 lap Scratch
1st Matt Walls
2nd Jake Stewart
3rd Joel Partington

1st Emile Alexander
2nd Steve Hall Lyme RC



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,