Report/Results: Mid Shropshire Wheelers Sunday Series


Kirk Vickers, Tom Mansfield & Hetty Niblett winners at the penultimate round of the Mid Shropshire Wheelers Sunday Series in Shropshire

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Results: Mid Shropshire Wheelers Sunday Series

Impressive performances from the girls in testing conditions.

The weather forecast was correct for the penultimate round of the Mid Shropshire Wheelers Sunday Series of races. Showers started when the organisers arrived at the popular Shrewsbury Sports Village circuit and in light of the new risk assessment issued by British Cycling there were a few heads scratched before the commissaire deemed the circuit safe for racing.


Highlights of the days racing has to be the performances of the girls and for different reasons. Wolverhampton duo, Grace Lister and Amelia Southall absolutely bossed the combined boys and girls under 12 event taking 1 & 2. Mid Shropshire Wheelers Cerys Greaves continues to improve by leaps and bounds to take the under 10s girls win, whilst Shewsbury sisters Esme and Hetty Niblett were convincing sprint winners of the combined under 14 and 16 girls race and the Women’s Elite race.

The testing conditions meant there were punctures and crashes a plenty with riders pushing to the edge of traction but there was no drama for local lad Kirk Vickers wrapped up the 2/3 category series with his 4th win out of 4 races making the July final round a procession before he is crowned King of the Circuit. … continued after advert



2/3 Category 40 laps
1 Kirk Vickers Rhino Velo Race Team 2nd
2 Adam Holmes DMW – BRIDGTOWN 2nd
3 Matthew Garthwaite Rhino Velo Race Team 2nd
4 Hefin Evans NFTO Race Club 2nd
5 Peter Banham Team Jewson-M.I.Racing-Polypipe 2nd
6 Justin Harcourt Urban Cyclery 2nd
7 David Scott Rhino Velo Race Team 2nd
8 Adam Studzinski Skinline Race Club 2nd
9 Charlie Bailey Rhino Velo Race Team 3rd
10 Christopher Froom NFTO Race Club 3rd
11 Mark McCann DMW – BRIDGTOWN 2nd
12 Josh Williams Stourbridge Velo 3rd
13 Will Perrin Gannet CC 2nd
14 George Mills-Keeling Wolverhampton Whls 3rd
15 John Fradley Pro Vision Cycle Clothing 3rd
16 Devon Round Mid Shropshire Wheelers 3rd

4th Category 31 laps
1 Tom Mansfield GBC Racing Team 4th
2 Reece Lowe Brotherton Cycles 4th
3 Owain Phillips NFTO Race Club 4th
4 Steven Allman Chester RC 4th
5 Sean Byatt Revolutions Racing 4th
6 Dave Woodvine Mid Shropshire Wheelers 4th
7 David Cunningham Saracen Road Club 4th
8 Harry Wilson 4th
9 Stewart Ball 4th
10 Simon Harrison Mid Shropshire Wheelers 4th
11 Michael Boddice Wyre Forest CRC 4th
12 Andrew Cooper Wyre Forest CRC 4th
13 Darren Cadwallader Stourbridge CC 4th
14 David Campbell Army Cycling Union 4th
15 Jonathan Benson Mid Shropshire Wheelers 4th
16 James Bell Mid Shropshire Wheelers 4th
17 Richard Blackman Solihull CC 4th
18 Matthew Boazman Wyre Forest CRC 4th
19 Leo Blackman Solihull CC 4th
20 Ben Holland DMW – BRIDGTOWN 4th
21 Cameron Mould Horwich CC 4th
22 Martin Whyatt Mid Shropshire Wheelers 4th
23 Gary Hodkinson 4th
24 Trevor Ricketts Mickey Cranks CC 4th
25 Alec Bond Mid Shropshire Wheelers 4th
26 Alan Price Newport Shropshire CC 4th

Women – 25 laps
1 Hetty Niblett Team Footon VeloSport 2nd
2 Gabriella Homer Wolverhampton Whls A
3 Hayley Edwards WBN? Cinelli 3rd
4 Leah Ball Brotherton Cycles 3rd
5 Gemma Stuart Mickey Cranks CC 2nd
6 Maisie Duckworth PMR Toachim House 2nd
7 Phoebe Martin Team 22 2nd
8 Vicki Boddice Wyre Forest CRC 4th
9 Karen Ager Ynys Mon Racing Team 4th
10 Annie Glover Ynys Mon Racing Team 4th
11 Isobel Whiteley Halesowen A & CC 3rd
12 Jessica Harvey Evolve 4th

Youth A Boys – 25 laps
1 Jamie Crump Wyre Forest CRC A
2 Josh Sandman Climb On Bikes CC A
3 George Mills-Keeling Wolverhampton Whls A
4 Charlie Fisher Newport Shropshire CC A
5 Darren Rider Mercia CC – Lloyds Cycles A
6 Sebastian Bacon Wolverhampton Whls A
7 Aidan Mosley Lyme RC A
8 Oliver Bill Wyre Forest CRC A
9 Isaac Russell Derby Mercury RC A
DNF Matthew Redworth Mid Shropshire Wheelers A

Youth B Boys – 25 laps
1 Matthew Kingston Lichfield CCC B
2 Taylor Carr Lichfield CCC B
3 Alex Thomson Wolverhampton Whls B
4 Samuel Cooper Wyre Forest CRC B
5 Thomas Lord Eastlands Velo B
6 Ryan Greaves Mid Shropshire Wheelers B
7 Ben Pierce Mid Shropshire Wheelers B
8 James Satoor Mid Shropshire Wheelers B
9 Max Williams Climb On Bikes CC B
10 Jack Young Mid Shropshire Wheelers B
11 William Dale Mid Shropshire Wheelers B

Youth A Girls – 15 laps
1 Gabriella Homer Wolverhampton Whls AG
2 Lorna Sharples Halesowen A & CC AG
3 Sophie White Wolverhampton Whls AG
4 Erin Boddice Wyre Forest CRC AG

Youth B Girls – 15 laps
1 Esme Niblett Mid Shropshire Wheelers BG
2 Tia Froom NFTO Race Club BG
3 Rhiannon Tansley Mid Shropshire Wheelers BG
4 Kinga Ingram Wyre Forest CRC BG

Youth C Boys – 10 laps
1 Thomas White Wolverhampton Whls C
2 Emyr Trulove Climb On Bikes CC C
3 Nick English Mid Shropshire Wheelers C
4 Nathan Fullwood Mid Shropshire Wheelers C
5 Ben Tomlinson Mid Shropshire Wheelers C
6 Louis Smith Wyre Forest CRC C
7 Charlie Boddice Wyre Forest CRC C
8 Fred Meredith Hafren CC C
9 Harry McDougall Climb On Bikes CC C

Youth C Girls – 10 laps
1 Grace Lister Wolverhampton Whls CG
2 Amelia Southall Wolverhampton Whls CG
3 Bethany Bennett Towy Riders CG
4 Stephanie Kingston Lichfield CCC CG
5 Daphne Jones Mid Shropshire Wheelers CG
6 Caitlin Harvey Lichfield CCC CG
7 Ella Williams Climb On Bikes CC CG

Youth D Boys – 6 laps
1 Josh Jackson Lyme RC D
2 Max Bufton Hafren CC D
3 Tom Wheaver Lyme RC D
4 Will Beddow Lyme RC D
5 Sam Tomlinson Mid Shropshire Wheelers D
6 Sebastian Ball Mid Shropshire Wheelers D
7 Jake Bazeley Mid Shropshire Wheelers D

Youth D Girls – 6 laps
1 Cerys Greaves Mid Shropshire Wheelers DG
2 Tia Carr Lichfield CCC DG
3 Rebecca Woodvine Mid Shropshire Wheelers DG

Youth E Boys – 6 laps
1 Noah White Mid Shropshire Wheelers E
2 Oliver Bryan Climb On Bikes CC E
3 Rocco Schumacher Lyme RC E
4 Finley Boulton Mid Shropshire Wheelers E

Youth E Girls – 6 laps
1 Jessica Bufton Hafren CC EG



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,