Result: Staffordshire Kermesse


1-2-3 for JLT Condor as Tom Moses solos for half the race to win from Russell Downing and Chris Lawless who dominated the bunch kick behind

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Staffordshire Kermesse

The 100 kilometre kermesse around a testing 5.4k circuit at Shugborough Hall in Staffordshire saw a 1-2-3 for JLT Condor as Tom Moses solo’d for half the race to win from Russell Downing and Chris Lawless who dominated the bunch kick behind


The win by Moses came after what he called a ‘negative’ race which was surprising as the event was the first one in the national series where the results count towards to competition for getting a ride in the Tour of Britain.

Instead of the smashfest expected in a shorter than normal race for a road race series, it was a race with very little action. Afterwards Moses said “I was getting really frustrated in the bunch and and I wanted to give it a go to try to get a few of us away but no-one came with me.”

“I thought I’d give it few laps to see it how it goes and rode a good tempo and found myself with a good gap. So I thought I’d carry on at a tempo I can hold and then ride the final two laps flat out.”

This he did and whilst there was a chase behind, it wasn’t having any effect on the gap to Moses and he crossed the line still almost a minute clear of his teammates Russell Downing and Chris Lawless.


Russell Downing wins the bunch kick.


Whilst Chris Lawless is third with Alex Blain of Madison Genesis the first non JLT rider in 4th.


The race began with the peloton cruising through the grounds of Shugborough on the road to Milton


A lap later and a break of three had escaped with Andy Hawdon of Raleigh GAC, Tobyn Horton of Madison Genesis and Kieran Simcox. The trio managed to hold onto their lead for three or so laps before the peloton with Catford CC/Banks Equipe riders at the head, were chasing them down round the Milton green and then up the circuits main hill.


Follow the leader, a rider from Catford CC/Banks Equipe tries to escape to chase the trio out front with Madison Genesis marking him closely as they had Horton in the leading three.


A lap later in the same spot and it was again a rider from Catford CC/Banks Equipe that was again at the head of the peloton at the bottom of the main climb.


The agressive riding by Catford CC/Banks Equipe paid off and they made it into a group of six which included Joe Evans (Madison Genesis) and a teammate, Josh Edmondson, Ed Laverack and Richard Hepworth (Raleigh GAC).

The move though did not stick and the peloton continued to roll around intact until with ten laps to go, Tom Moses came past on his own.


The inform rider had a lead of just over a minute and lap after lap, that gap went up and down by a few seconds but if there was a chase in the peloton, it wasn’t making any impression. He came round at the bell with still a minutes lead and whilst there was a sense of urgency in the peloton led by a former winner Morgan Kneisky (Raleigh GAC), the gap did not come down much and Moses had plenty of time to celebrate the win before his teammates crossed the line in second and third to make the race there’s.


Ian Wilkinson of Pedal Heaven leads the chase with eight laps to go.


Former winner Morgan Kneisky leads the chase at the bell….




… continued after advert



1 Tom Moses JLT Condor 23:55.5
2 Russell Downing JLT Condor 00:49
3 Christopher Lawless JLT Condor 00:50
4 Alex Blain Madison Genesis ”
5 Lloyd Chapman Pedal Heaven ”
6 Graham Briggs JLT Condor ”
7 Ian Bibby NFTO ”
8 Adrià Moreno Sala Raleigh GAC ”
9 David McGowan Pedal Heaven ”
10 Steve Lampier JLT Condor ”
11 Dan Fleeman Metaltek Kuota Racing Team ”
12 Matthew Holmes Madison Genesis ”
13 Zachery May Metaltek Kuota Racing Team ”
14 Jacob Hennessy Spirit Bikes Racing Team 00:54
15 Tom Mazzone Excel Pedal Heaven Academy ”
16 Jake Womersley Pedal Heaven ”
17 Bertie Newey Catford CC Equipe/Banks ”
18 Liam Holohan Team Wiggins ”
19 Sebastian Mora Vedri Raleigh GAC ”
20 Ryan Perry Metaltek Kuota Racing Team ”
21 Jez Mcann Richardsons-Trek RT ”
22 William Harper Excel Pedal Heaven Academy ”
23 Richard Hepworth Raleigh GAC ”
24 Davie Lines Wheelbase Altura MGD ”
25 Oliver Maxwell Neon-Velo Cycling Team ”
26 Alistair Slater JLT Condor ”
27 Jacob Tipper Pedal Heaven ”
28 Elliott Porter Neon-Velo Cycling Team ”
29 Kieran Brady Richardsons-Trek RT ”
30 Ian Field Hargroves Cycles – Ridley RT ”
31 Rhys Lloyd NFTO ”
32 Daniel Patten Team Wiggins ”
33 Luke Ryan Richardsons-Trek RT ”
34 Morgan Kneisky Raleigh GAC ”
35 Mark Christian Team Wiggins ”
36 Dexter Gardias Pedal Heaven ”
37 Steven Lawley Metaltek Kuota Racing Team 01:06
38 Steven Roach Raleigh GAC 01:10
39 Dan Bigham Planet X Northside Cycling 01:13
40 Albert Torres Raleigh GAC ”
41 Adam Kenway Metaltek Kuota Racing Team 01:31
42 Ed Laverack JLT Condor ”
43 Edward Clemens Spirit Bikes Racing Team 01:34
44 Joshua Edmondson NFTO 01:48
45 Jonathan McEvoy NFTO ”
46 Anthony Moye Spirit Bikes Racing Team 02:31
47 Edward Roberts Team Elite 02:32
48 Robert Partridge NFTO 02:49
49 George Atkins JLT Condor ”
50 Joshua Green Catford CC Equipe/Banks 02:51
51 Harry Tanfield Pedal Heaven 03:25
52 Elliot Jones VC Equipe – Flix ”
53 Michael Butler Hargroves Cycles – Ridley RT 05:01
54 Erick Rowsell Madison Genesis 05:10
55 Gruffudd Lewis Madison Genesis ”
56 Kieran Simcox Neon-Velo Cycling Team 08:34



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,