News: Beverley Cycle Races


The pro crit in Beverley has a rich history which makes in a prestigious one to win and the race will be hard fought!

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: Beverley Cycle Races

Startsheet here for the Beverley Town Centre Races

Tonight in Beverley (Friday), if history is anything to go by, the racing will see a big crowd turn up to see Britain’s best pro teams and amateurs race hard for an hour and five laps in a prestigious event on the calendar.


The events can be traced back to 1952 when the Alpha Road Club organised a two day road race from Beverley to Whitby returning the following day. The Road Races continued in various guises up to 2011 and always attracted the most talented riders in the country.

The East Riding of Yorkshire County Council became the event’s title sponsor in 1999 so the event was re named the ‘East Riding of Yorkshire Classic’. The first edition of the town centre circuit race was held in 2006 as part of a weekend of racing which included both the Men’s and Women’s National Road Race championships.

Here’s a look back at the history of this circuit race:
2006: The inaugural Friday evening circuit race saw Rob Hayles taking the win.

2007: the scene was set for a repeat of the three event weekend, including once again the Men’s and Women’s National Road Race Championships. However months of organisational effort were thwarted by severe floods in the week before the events.


2008: The town centre circuit race was awarded the British Championship title. Dean Downing had what appeared to be a very safe
margin with one lap to go in the circuit race. A fantastic effort by Rob Hayles was not quite enough to take victory away from Downing on the line.

2009: Recognised as a well organised and well supported event the East Yorkshire Classic Town Centre race was once again awarded the National Championship status. This time it was Russell Downing for the town centre race, claiming the National Champions jersey.


2010: for the 3rd year in succession the circuit race was the blue ribbon of town centre racing National Circuit Championship. Olympic gold medallist Ed Clancy MBE took the champions jersey by inches in the town centre race.

2011: National Circuit Race Championship for the fourth year running. Graham Briggs took the win narrowly beating Ian Wilkinson and Tom Murray.

2012: Rapha Condor Sharp rider Richard Lang snatched victory from the mighty Raleigh GAC team in a thrilling Elite Circuit race. The 23 year old Sydney-rider won the sprint from a small group of four that broke away in the latter stages of the race. The group contained two Raleigh GAC riders; Bernie Sulzberger and Liam Holohan, but Lang and fellow breakaway companion Owain Doull (100%ME) got the better of the Raleigh boys to claim first and second spots, with Sulzberger having to accept third. Holohan was swallowed up by the chasing bunch finishing in 14th position.


2013: A super-fast race saw 3 riders break clear after the half way mark – Jon Mould- Team UK Youth, Felix English – Rapha Condor JLT & Mike Northey Node-4 Giordana. Despite all teams behind taking turns at chasing not least Team Raleigh the leaders held onto a 20 second gap. Mould beating Northey and English into 2nd & 3rd place. Olympic Gold Medallist Ed Clancy MBE won the bunch sprint to take 4th.

2014 Mike Northey was part of a four up break that formed early on in the Elite Men’s race and with Raleigh having missed it, they started the chase but with two National Champions out front, Northey and Blythe as well as Matt Cronshaw and Graham Briggs, there was no way it was coming back.


The peloton held it for a while but the break was gaining a few seconds a lap and soon looked like lapping the peloton. The Commissaires took the decision to finish the peloton a lap early and just as well because seconds after Dean Downing had won the bunch kick. Northey crossed the line to win the race to show that ahead of the Commonwealth Games, he has great form.

Adam Blythe won the sprint for second from Graham Briggs and Matt Cronshaw.

2015: Felix English, lacking consistency after a number of injuries in the season took the win in the Elite race. Abby Mae Parkinson and 14 year old Jim Brown were the winners in the support races in front of yet another huge crowd. Mike Northey – Madison Genesis (who favours early breaks in Beverley) got away from the off with Tom Moses – JLT Condor.


Steve (Lampier, Raleigh GAC and Jon Mould – One Pro Cycling, went across the gap and joined the two leaders. Felix English went next making a group of five. The break worked well together pulling equal turns to establish a healthy lead.The quintet continued to press on and eventually lapped the rest of the field – the lead motor cycles had to segregate the two groups until the ‘lapped peloton’ were given the finish flag – sprinting for 6th place with 5 laps remaining.

With a lap to go Tom Moses jumped. Jon Mould was straight on the wheel and Felix English took up third position with just 400mts to go. Previous experience in Beverley paid dividends for English, knowing that acceleration is difficult on cobbles was led out by Moses, hitting full speed before arriving on the cobbled finish straight, sitting in the saddle to cross the line first.

For more detailed history and pictures visit the Race website




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK