Report: Ryedale Grand Prix


Ian Bibby won the Ryedale GP for the second time whilst Nikki Juniper won her third in two enthralling races on Sunday 

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Ryedale Grand Prix 

Ian Bibby won the Ryedale GP for the second time whilst Nikki Juniper won her third in two enthralling races on Sunday 

Men’s Race


Matt Holmes with 50 to go looks behind to see Ian Bibby and the rest swamping him after a late attack.


Holmes digs in and carries on but his legs are buckling and Bibby, Pullar, Moreno and Lawless are sprinting flat stick for the line.


Bibby goes on to win for the second year running, the first rider to win in consecutive years.


The race gets under with 102 riders


A break forms when two groups come together early on leaving a group of six in the lead - Mark Christian, David McGowan (Pedal Heaven), Steve Lampier, Gruff Lewis (Madison Genesis), Zach May (Metaltek Kuota), Elliott Porter, Bertie Newey and Tristan Robbins (Madison Genesis).


NFTO was one of the teams that missed it and so put numbers on the front to keep it under control.


And when one of the lead group, Dave McGowan of Pedal Heaven was dropped from the break. his team rode too and soon it was back together on the finishing circuits.


With two to go, a lap later, Chris Lawless attacked solo and was holding a good lead for a lap. Behind the race was in bits.


Dan Patten leads a group, one of many now


James Gullen of Pedal Heaven leading another group


With a lap to go, only a dozen riders were in the front with Lawless still leading but Erick Rowsell and others chased it down before Holmes made his move with 5k to go.


Steven Lawley (Metaltek Kuota) and Dexter Gardias (Pedal Heaven) were chasing Lawless and closing in before they themselves were caught.


L-R: Jack Pullar (Pedal Heaven), Ian Bibby and Adria Moreno (Raleigh GAC)


Ian Bibby (Winner)

Jack Pullar (Pedal Heaven) (2nd)

Adria Moreno (Raleigh GAC) (3rd)

Matt Holmes (Madison Genesis) – Late attack and is caught 50 metres from the line

Men’s Result

1. Ian Bibby, NFTO
2. Jack Pullar, Pedal Heaven
3. Adria Moreno, Raleigh GAC
4. Chris Lawless, JLT Condor
5. Liam Holohan, Wiggins
6. Matt Holmes, Madison Genesis
7. Dan Fleeman, Metaltek Kuota
8. Max Stedman, Pedalheaven @ 19 secs
9. Stevie Williams, JLT Condor
10. Tom Moses, JLT Condor @1.19
11. Ali Slater, JLT Condor
12. Adam Kenway, Metaltek Kuota
13. Dexter Gardias, Pedal Heaven @1.44
14. Steven Lawley, Metaltek Kuota @3.05
15. Erick Rowsell, Madison Genesis 3.17
16. Daniel Patten, Wiggins 5.27
17. Joe Fry, Pedal Heaven @6.08
18. Ben Hetherington, PlanetX Northside
19. Gruff Lewis, Madison Genesis
20. Marc Potts, Neo velo
21. Steven Roach, Raleigh GAC
22. Rob Partridge, NFTO
23. Luke Ryan, Richardsons Trek
24. Luc Hall, Wiggins @7.31
25. James Gullen, Pedal Heaven st
26. Jonny McEvoy, NFTO 7.33
27. Joe Clarke, Envelopemaster @8.31
28. Rhys Howells, Richardsons trek @11.19
29. Harrisons Jones, Pedal heaven @11.52
30. Lawrence Carpenter, Ninn Sigma Sport
31 Kieran Simcox Neon-Velo Cycling Team
… continued after advert


Women’s Rydedale GP


Nikki Juniper wins her third Ryedale GP to go with the three National Series wins she has had. See an interview with her below.


A large field left the start for a longer, tougher Ryedale GP than in previous years


There was lots of attacking which split the field during the first two big loops with the favourites in the 30 or so left at the front


A smaller group was left behind and eventually black flagged due to a 10 minute cutoff.


The pace eventually started to have its effect on the large leading group and soon the 30 or so in front became ten, including Juniper, Julie Erskine, Beth Hayward, Annasley Park, Alice Sharpe  and Irish champion Lydia Boylan (Team WNT).


In the sprint to the line, it was these three that were strongest and fastest in the uphill gallop L-R: Annasley Park (2), Nikki Juniper (1st) and Alice Sharpe (3rd)

Interview – Nikki Juniper


1 Nicola Juniper Team Ford Ecoboost
2 Annasley Park Team Breeze
3 Alice Sharpe SunSport Velo
4 Lydia Boylan Team WNT
5 Bethany Hayward Podium Ambition p/b
6 Elizabeth Holden Team Ford Ecoboost
7 Natalie Grinczer Team WNT
8 Julie Erskine Team Ford Ecoboost
9 Jennifer Hudson Fusion RT Fierlan 10 Chanel Mason Army Cycling Race Team (ACRT) 11 Rebecca Rimmington Team WNT
12 Emma Cockcroft Bikeshed – Bianchi
13 Henrietta Colborne Team Ford Ecoboost 14 Fiona Hunter Johnston Fusion RT Fierlan 15 Abigail Dentus Team Breeze
16 Charline Joiner Team Ford Ecoboost 17 Natasha Reddy RP Vision Racing Team
18 Gabriella Shaw Podium Ambition p/b Club La
19 Gemma Sargent Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire 20 Sarah King
21 Hetty Niblett Team Footon Velosport
22 Amy Gornall Podium Ambition p/b Club La
23 Melissa Brand Team Ford Ecoboost
24 Stephanie Mottram
25 Corinne Clark Team WNT
26 Gabriella Nordin Starley Racing
27 Kelly Murphy Boot Out Breast Cancer C.C



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,