Report/Result: Ford CC Go Race 6


Second win in a row for Neil Hughes at week 6 of the Ford CC Go Race series on July 7

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Result: Ford CC Go Race 6
(thanks Caroline)

Ryan Savage’s well deserved promotion to 3rd cat led to his teammate James Samuel (Crest CC) taking over prime winning duties, convincingly taking both on offer on the night. The fight for the second prime led to a small break in the peloton with about 4 riders off the front with 5 laps remaining. One of those, Neil Hughes (Velo Schils Interbike RT) kept going and soon built up a small lead over the bunch.

There were numerous attempts made to bring him back, mostly led by his teammate Andrew Mc Murray, in his first race of the series. With just over one lap to go McMurray escaped the bunch, but could not catch Hughes, who took a well-deserved (and very rare on this circuit) solo win, his second in a row. McMurray stayed clear to make it a 1-2 for Velo Schils, with Colin McPherson ( back on form taking a close bunch sprint for 3rd.

With two races of the series left to go Mihai Popescu (Gateway CC) is leading the Seniors, Robin Baker (Cycle Club Sudbury) the Vets, and Jack Marshall (Barking and Dagenham CC) the Juniors. With the best 6 results counting it is still all to play for in the final two rounds.


1 Neil Hughes Senior Velo Schils Interbike RT
2 Andrew McMurray Senior Velo Schils Interbike RT
3 Colin McPherson Veteran
4 Robin Baker Veteran Cycle Club Sudbury
5 Robert Michell Senior Gateway CC
6 Ian Samuel Veteran Crest CC
7 Mick Savage Veteran Crest CC
8 Jason McCloy Senior 0
9 Chris Hartley Veteran 0
10 Matthew Mead Senior Hornchurch CC
11 Ian Fraser Veteran VC Revolution
12 Joshua Pettican Senior Haverhill CC
13 Rob Mason Senior 0
14 Martin Ryan Veteran Ford CC
15 Mihai Popescu Senior Gateway CC
16 Jack Marshall Junior Barking and Dagenham CC
17 Brian Scarboro Veteran Colourtech RT
18 Steve Tidiman Veteran Essex Roads CC
19 Chris Warburton Senior Gateway CC
20 Dave Retigan Veteran Gateway CC
21 Darren Dowd Senior Haverhill CC
22 Stuart Clark Veteran 0
23 Rich Webber Veteran Velo Schils Interbike RT
24 Steve Willsone Veteran Gateway CC
25 Mark Hillebrandt Veteran 0
26 Lee Cullender Senior Essex Roads CC
27 James Samuel Senior Crest CC
28 Tom Hewett Senior 0
29 Jordan Rowland Senior Crest CC
30 Trevor Dyster Veteran Essex Roads CC
31 Philip Moir Veteran Barking and Dagenham CC
32 James McLennan Veteran Glendene CC
dnf Kevin Darragh Veteran Maldon and District CC




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK