Result: Hopton Road Races


Sophie Lankford and Jack Burgin winners in the Hopton Road Races for Men and Women on Sunday, in Suffolk

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Hopton Road Races
Pictures and words Fergus Muir


Diss CC’s first promotion of a road race for women resulted in a win Sophie Lankford (Aprire/HSS) who won the 43 mile event in a bunch sprint finish.


The new 8.6 mile triangular circuit features a climb directly after each of the sharp corners at South Lopham, Kenninghall and Garboldisham and these were the scene of many brief attacks – but nothing stuck. An increasing wind and the dominance of the Aprire/HSS team were mentioned as relevant factors.

Rebecca Johnson (Fast Test Racing, 9th) and Gemma Melton (Pedal Power Ipswich, 11th) were the top local finishers.


1 Sophie Lankford Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
2 Charlotte Colclough Team Jadan-Weldtite
3 Rosie Lethbridge Norwood Paragon CC
4 Emma Jane Hornsby VC Londres
5 Amy Good GB
6 Gemma Sargent Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
7 Tina Winzer Aprire Bycycles/HSS Hire
8 Sarah Walker VS Aster
9 Rebecca Johnson Fast Test Racing Team
10 Hannah Nicklin Dulwich Paragon CC
11 Gemma Melton Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
12 Jennifer Lake CC Luton
13 Harriet Mellor Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
14 Jennie Tillott St Ives CC
15 Katie Scotter Iceni Velo
16 Gemma Hayes East Grinstead CC
17 Anneke Prins Welwyn Wheelers CC
18 Louise Marsden VC Norwich
19 Francesca Cutts CC London
20 Louise Laker Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire



Twenty-nine year old Jack Burgin (St Ives CC) scored his first win for two years when he outsprinted Chris Thomas (East London Velo) to win the 60 mile Diss CC Road Race. The pair had escaped with one and a half laps remaining of the new South Lopham – Kenninghall – Garboldisham circuit through the cornfields of South Norfolk


Earlier, on as bright, breezy morning, Liam Gentry (VC Baracchi) and Andy Proffitt (Ipswich BC) had attacked on the climb out of Garboldisham, but had been caught. On the last lap Tommy Power (Strada Sport) used the same climb to launch a chase behind Burgin and Thomas. He was joined by Dougal Toms (Iceni Velo) and Rob Ormond (Fast Test). This trio failed to catch the two leaders, but shared the next three places, led by Toms who finished 13 seconds down on Chris Thomas.

The bunch came in a further eight seconds back, the sprint for sixth being won by Josh Andrews (Fast Test RT) who moves up to First Cat on the points won.

1 Jack Burgin St Ives CC
2 Christopher Thomas East London Velo
3 Dougal Toms Iceni Velo
4 Thomas Power Strada-Sport
5 Robert Ormond Fast Test Racing Team
6 Joshua Andrews Fast Test Racing Team
7 Harley Matthews Strada-Sport
8 Mark Smith Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
9 Zak Coleman Strada-Sport
10 Charlie Wright VC Norwich
11 Liam Gentry VC Baracchi
12 Charlie Bratt St Ives CC
13 Rory Havis St Ives CC
14 Nicholas Esser Velo Club Baracchi
15 Ben Benyon Strada-Sport
16 James Moore Velo Club Baracchi
17 Dale Johnston VC Norwich
18 Paul Miller Velo Schils – Interbike RT
19 Paul Johnson Peterborough Cycling Club
20 Morris Bacon Strada-Sport
21 Jeremy Perks Chelmer CC
22 Mark Richards Velo Club Baracchi
23 Peter Blenkinsop Fast Test Racing Team
24 Robert Anderson Gt Yarmouth CC
25 Joshua Aiken Fast Test Racing Team
26 David Warwick Orwell Velo
27 Lubomir Belak St Ives CC
28 Stephen Grant Strada-Sport
29 Ian Perry Velo Schils – Interbike RT
30 Oliver Jones Ipswich Bicycle Club
31 Steve Noel Peterborough Cycling Club
32 Simon Hazelby Iceni Velo
33 Jake Towler West Suffolk Wheelers & Tri Club
34 Neal Hughes Stowmarket & District CC
35 Richard McShee Islington Cycling Club
36 Toby Miles Finchley Racing Team
37 Ian Sandall Gt Yarmouth CC
38 Philip Large Iceni Velo
39 Jack Hardwicke Strada-Sport
40 Tom Elwood CC London
41 Bjorn Krylander Cambridge CC
42 Andrew Proffitt Ipswich Bicycle Club
43 Mark Howard Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
44 Thomas Doe VC Norwich




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK