Result: Ford CC Go Race Final


Stuart Weatherley of Colchester Rovers CC winner of the season’s final Ford CC Go Race on August 4

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Ford CC Go Race Final

Win for Stuart Weatherley (Colchester Rovers CC)

A slightly smaller field of 30 riders lined up for the final race of the series. A pretty pedestrian start led to a solo break by Martin Ryan (Ford CC) within the first half lap. The peloton allowed him a lead of 5 seconds at one point but then brought him back before the whistle went for the first prime.

Philip Turner (Hornchurch CC) took the first prime, before Tom and Dan Shanney (both Redbridge CC) repeated their move from the last race, establishing a 2-man break. A couple of laps later and 2 riders were still out front but with Stuart Weatherley (Colchester Rovers CC) trading places with Dan Shanney. Stuart took the second prime before it all came back together 6 laps from the finish.

The pace was applied in the bunch on the last lap with some being shelled out the back. Stuart Weatherley took the win on the night from Philip Turner in second, and Colin McPherson in 3rd.

Colin McPherson’s consistency over the series in never placing outside the top 5 led to him gaining the most points overall and the first vet. Neil Hughes, only 4 points behind in total, took first senior. Jack Marshall was the first Junior.

1 Stuart Weatherley Senior Colchester Rovers CC
2 Philip Turner Senior Hornchurch CC
3 Colin McPherson Veteran
4 Neil Hughes Senior Velo Schils Interbike RT
4 Rich Webber Veteran Velo Schils Interbike RT
6 Darren Dowd Senior Haverhill CC
7 Simon Constable Senior Essex Roads CC
8 Joshua Pettican Senior Haverhill CC
9 David Triggs Veteran Colchester Rovers
10 Jack Marshall Junior Barking and Dagenham CC
11 Rob Mason Senior 0
12 Dave Retigan Veteran Gateway CC
13 James Wright Senior Tero Sports
14 Robert Michell Senior Gateway CC
15 Tim Petit Veteran Essex Roads CC
16 Martin Ryan Veteran Ford CC
17 Kevin Darragh Veteran Maldon and District CC
18 Steve Willsone Veteran Gateway CC
19 Stuart Clark Veteran 0
20 Brian Scarboro Veteran Colourtech RT
21 Raymond Ricks Veteran Velo Schils Interbike RT
22 Daniel Shanney Senior Redbridge CC
23 Conrad Hill Veteran Gateway CC
24 Thomas Shanney Senior Redbridge CC
25 Ian Samuel Veteran Crest CC
26 Pete Shanney Veteran Redbridge CC
27 Trevor Dyster Veteran Essex Roads CC

Series Winners:
1st Vet: Collin McPherson (
2nd Vet: Robin Baker (Cycle Club Sudbury)
3rd Vet: Doug Rushworth (Hornchurch CC)

1st Senior: Neil Hughes (Velo Schils Interbike RT)
2nd Senior: Robert Michell (Gateway CC)
3rd Senior: Mihai Popescu (Gateway CC)

1st Junior: Jack Marshall (Barking and Dagenham CC)





Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK