Result: Leicester Castle Classic


Chris Lawless and Russell Downing 1-2 for JLT with Rory Towensend (Pedal Heaven) third in aggressive Leicester Castle Classic

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Leicester Castle Classic


In a sprint from a select group at the end of 50 agressive miles, Chris Lawless won not just the final round of the Star Trophy series but also the Elite Series overall for the prems in the second half of the season.

Almost 100 riders lined up for the race on what was a flat course but barriered most of the way round, narrow in parts and with lots of twists and turns, it was brutal for the riders who were not at the front of the group in what was a two hour long crit. From the get go, the peloton was lined out and soon breaks started to form.

The race for Madison Genesis wasn’t going well with two crashes for their riders Alex Blain and Taylor Gunman, one of which also involved Stevie Williams who had to retire from the race and another for Ali Slater who was bearing the scars on his face as a reminder of his day (to forget) in Leicester.


World champion Seb Mora (Raleigh GAC) was looking dangerous at the front of the race in breaks but his race too was ruined with a crash in front of him, and whilst he didn’t fall, he was pushed into the barriers and broke his front wheel. Race over at the front.

The race then continued to split, regroup and split until a small break escaped with pre-race favourite Chris Lawless, Matt Cronshaw of Madison Genesis who won the year before, Alex Paton (Pedal Heaven) and Dale Appleby.

The lead looked solid for a while but the chasing group soon had it in their sights, Appleby and Paton went again but that only lasted a lap before the race came together. Evan Oliphant (Raleigh GAC) then made his move.

“There was a little lull with a lap to go” explained the Scottish rider “so I attacked and quickly got a gap and at the other end of the circuit (3k to go), I still had quite a lead but there were four guys chasing me down.” Evan held on until there was only about 500 metres to go before being caught.

The aim then was for JLT to set up Russ Downing for the win but in the twists and turns, he was gapped by his leadout man Lawless who, with two riders from Pedal Heaven sprinting behind, had to keep going and held on by a wheel to win from Downing.


One minute Stevie Williams was leading alone, the next, he was involved in a crash and retired from the race.


Afterwards, Lawless explained “I was pretty aggressive all the way through where I was just trying to follow all the dangerous looking moves. I was confident through the corners, especially those on the cobbles where I was opening up gaps, and then saving energy sat in the wheels.”

In the sprint, I was trying to lead Rus out as he’s done a lot of work for me but I think he got dived bombed. I was waiting for him to come back but I’d opened up a gap through the last corner. Shame he couldn’t get the win after all the work he has done for me.”


Matt Cronshaw of Madison Genesis on the attack trying to repeat the win from last year.


Dale Appleby and Alex Paton lead by a few seconds with a few laps to go


Dan Patten attacks, lap to go.


Rory Towsend (3rd) from Pedal Heaven  with Chris Lawless and Russell Downing. 


Chris Lawless – 1st

Russell Downing – 2nd

Rory Townsend (Pedal Heaven) 3rd

Pro Race Result
1 Christopher Lawless JLT Condor
2 Russell Downing JLT Condor
3 Rory Townsend Pedal Heaven
4 Will Fox Pedal Heaven
5 Tobyn Horton Madison Genesis
6 Dale Appleby NFTO
7 Jack Pullar Pedal Heaven
8 Adrià Moreno Sala Raleigh GAC
9 Gruffudd Lewis Madison Genesis
10 George Pym Raleigh GAC
11 Harry Tanfield Pedal Heaven
12 Ian Bibby NFTO
13 Alex Paton Pedal Heaven
14 Alexandar Richardson Excel Pedal Heaven Academy
15 Zachery May Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
16 Evan Oliphant Raleigh GAC
17 David Lines Wheelbase Altura MGD
18 Graham Briggs JLT Condor
19 Daniel Patten Team Wiggins
20 Dante Carpenter Richardsons-Trek RT
21 Oliver Maxwell Neon-Velo Cycling Team
22 Matt Cronshaw Madison Genesis
23 Dale Appleby NFTO
24 Liam Stones NFTO
25 J Hennessy Spirit Bikes Racing Team
26 Thomas Moses JLT Condor
27 Sebastian Mora Vedri Raleigh GAC
28 Peter Barusevicus Wheelbase Altura MGD
29 Harrison Jones Pedal Heaven
30 Tom Mazzone Excel Pedal Heaven Academy
31 Richard Hepworth Raleigh GAC
32 Bertie Newey Catford CC Equipe/Banks
33 Luke Ryan Richardsons-Trek RT
34 Sam Lowe Team Wiggins
35 Robert Partridge NFTO
36 Dean Shannon Richardsons-Trek RT
37 Jonathan Mould JLT Condor
38 William Harper Excel Pedal Heaven Academy
39 Rhys Lloyd NFTO
40 Adam Kenway Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
41 Matthew Holmes Madison Genesis
42 Elliott Porter Neon-Velo Cycling Team
43 Lloyd Chapman Pedal Heaven
44 Jake Tanner Envelopemaster Giant Sheffield
45 Michael Thompson Team Wiggins
46 Steve Lampier JLT Condor
47 Steven Roach Raleigh GAC
48 Edmund Bradbury NFTO
49 Erick Rowsell Madison Genesis

Support Race
1 Andrew Sheret OVB
2 Stuart Reid Wheelbase Altura MGD
3 Andy Bishop Andy Moore Autocentres Racing
4 Levi Moody Wheelbase Altura MGD
5 Ryan Ashcroft VCUK Champion Systems
6 William Scott Team Corley Cycles
7 Rhodri Owen Ynys Mon Racing Team
8 Elliot Harrison Leisure Lakes
9 James Lambton Oxford University Cycling Club
10 Daniel Posnett Squadra RT
11 Sam Smith Langdale Lightweights Racing Te
12 Ross Fawcett Ipswich Bicycle Club
13 Martyn Ludlam Witham Wheelers Cycling Club
14 William Perrett Heanor Clarion CC
15 Kieran Jarvis St Ives CC
16 Charlie Bratt St Ives CC
17 Cameron Jeffers Team Corley Cycles
18 Andrew Brinkley OVB
19 Freddy Pett Strada-Sport
20 William Bourne Handsling Racing
21 Joseph Perkins Leisure Lakes
22 Christopher Hart CC Luton
23 Simon Bradeley Pro Vision Cycle Clothing
24 Jonathan Hornblow Leisure Lakes
25 Chris McNaughton OVB
26 Jali Packer Strada-Sport
27 Andrew Lowe Team Milton Keynes
28 Jack Burgin St Ives CC
29 Jack Hardwicke Strada-Sport
30 Xavier Scott Andy Moore Autocentres Racing
31 David Reece Private Member
32 Gavin Howell Team Milton Keynes

… continued after advert





Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,