Preview: GS Metro Open Hill Climb

2016 VanillaBikes Banner

GS Metro promote their Open Hill Climb on Sunday on the 2017 National Hill Climb Championship climb, Hedley On The Hill, Northumberland

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Preview: GS Metro Open Hill Climb

GS Metro promote their Open Hill Climb on Sunday 18th September. The hill in question will be the setting for the 2017 National Hill Climb Championships, Hedley On The Hill, Northumberland.

The event, which as usual enjoys the support of the Feathers Inn gives riders a final chance to have a competitive effort over the 1.1 mile ascent which climbs in a series of three ramps touching 14% or so at various points. Thrown in a couple of hairpins and the hill lends itself to a potential amphitheatre which should make for a fine championships in 2017.

A strong field will test themselves with the first man off at 11:04 and the scratchman forty six minutes later. The winner is expected to come from one of the last 10 men on the road.

The contenders?
Matthew Smith (Muckle CC) – Smith has made his competitive debut in the climbs this season. Showing early promise he’s likely to be in the mix.

Colin Atkinson (EMC) – Fresh from a holiday celebrating his 50th Birthday – the ex-top class runner will be hoping that he carries the form from last season’s climbs into this one. Giving away more years to the young bucks than might seem fair, Atkinson will probably be carrying the best suntan up the climb. A victory in itself.

The field contains 6 men whom have won Open Hill climbs:-
Michael Mallen (GS Metro) – now a cagey veteran Mallen has a history of going well in the hill climbs and is a former Divisional Road Race champion. Oft seen climbing bedecked in a Belgian Devil Hat, Mallen would likely position himself as the outsider of the list of hill climb victors on the start sheet.

Ian Taylor ( – another man whom has slipped into veteran status (where does time go?), Taylor’s rangy physique and laid back manner make him a perennial contender

Michael Openshaw (Cestria CC) – whilst relatively new to the sport of cycling, Openshaw has a proven winners mentality and HUGE engine as a top class runner representing GB in major championships. A not so DARK HORSE.

Dominic Munnelly (Parentini Test Team) – The last of the veterans – Munnelly wins bike races. Often. Fresh from taking the win at Hartside last week – perhaps the strongest challenge to the two youngsters will come from Munnelly.

Tim Wilcock (GS Metro) – Tim carries the hopes of the promoting club. He has been in FINE FETTLE climbing this Autumn, undefeated in 3 outings. With one course record to boot under his belt this season he should be in the mix. At just 20 years of age – Wilcock flies up hills.

Ben Davies (Bristol road Club) – Defending champion and course record holder (4’13.7), Davies rightly starts scratch and RED HOT favourite. A classy act and one which all the others will be looking to beat.
… continued after advert


The Participants
4 11:04 Philip Green GS Metro 
5 11:05 Thomas Prentice Breeze Bikes RT 
6 11:06 Thomas Heighton Stockton Wheelers CC 
7 11:07 Chris Annable Allen Valley Velo 
8 11:08 Fran Little One Life Racing 
9 11:09 Jennifer Holland Tyne Tri 
10 11:10 Fiona Burnie Bishop Auckland CC 
11 11:11 Richard Exley Gosforth RC 
12 11:12 Tom Guy Sunderland Clarion 
13 11:13 James Gray South Shields Velo Cycling Club 
14 11:14 Thomas Hooper GS Metro 
15 11:15 Lee Statham Houghton CC 
16 11:16 Christopher Beaty Allen Valley Velo 
17 11:17 Tim Nichol Derwentside CC 
18 11:18 Nicholas Stevenson Blaydon CC 
19 11:19 peter mcglynn Allen Valley Velo 
20 11:20 Jason Robson Derwentside CC 
21 11:21 Paul Hague Gosforth RC 
22 11:22 Dan Meggison Muckle Cycle Club 
23 11:23 James Corfield Gosforth RC 
24 11:24 Micky Mallen GS Metro 
25 11:25 Darren Robson Muckle Cycle Club 
26 11:26 Harry Walker Team Swift 
27 11:27 Craig Deacon South Shields Velo Cycling Club 
28 11:28 Charlie Loizou Muckle Cycle Club 
29 11:29 Lewis McEvoy Sunderland Clarion 
30 11:30 Neil Baxter 
31 11:31 Eoin Gormley Blaydon CC 
32 11:32 Jamie Johnson Barnesbury CC 
33 11:33 Dan Leather NRG/Triscience RT 
34 11:34 Josh Reid Gosforth RC 
35 11:35 Michael Todd Derwentside CC 
36 11:36 Aren Tyr Gosforth RC 
37 11:37 David Ross LFGSS CC 
38 11:38 Lee Ager Blaydon CC 
39 11:39 Zeb Kyffin Gosforth RC 
40 11:40 Nick Badcock Allen Valley Velo 
41 11:41 Charles Bayley Gosforth RC 
42 11:42 Matthew Smith Muckle Cycle Club 
43 11:43 Ian Taylor 
44 11:44 John Bowman Muckle Cycle Club 
45 11:45 Laurie Lambeth Beacon Wheelers CC 
46 11:46 Colin Atkinson EMC 
47 11:47 Michael Openshaw Cestria C.C. 
48 11:48 Dominic Munnelly Parentini Test Team 
49 11:49 Tim Wilcock GS Metro 
50 11:50 Ben Davis Bristol Road Club



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK