Report/Result: GS Metro Hill Climb

2016 VanillaBikes Banner

Tim Wilcock of the host club GS Metro and Fiona Burnie (course record) winners at the GS Metro Hill Climb in Northumberland

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Result: GS Metro Hill Climb


Photo of Mens and Ladies winners (courtesy Adam Robertson and Jack Earl)

An unseasonably warm morning by Northumberland standards greeted the riders with the sun blazing, flags cracking and for once riders not FEARING how cold they might get as they descended from the picturesque village of Hedley on The Hill to the start line.

Conditions could only perhaps have been better had there been a reasonable westerly wind blowing to assist the riders over the final 300m or so of the climb when moving out of the tree lined shelter.

The race itself was hotly contested. First man up the hill was Phil Green of the promoting club who led the procession up the hill but he would not be first to arrive at the timekeeper as young Thomas Prentice (Breeze bikes and a protégé of the promoting clubs hitter Carl Donaldson) composed himself after a car crushed his borrowed wheelset in the HQ car park to ROMP up the hill and set the early standard of 5’04. An exceptional effort for a youngster. Thomas’ effort had him leading the race for 22 mins until he was bettered by Craig Deacon (South Shields Velo CC).

Amidst all this, Fiona Burnie set a new ladies course record of 5’31 to win the ladies category. Burnie made a late fitness call to ride after being STURCK by a car earlier in the week commuting home.

As we moved into the last dozen riders junior Zeb Kyfin (Gosforth Road Club) set the pace at 4’32.8. Matt Smith (Muckle CC) took this to 4’31. The three fancied vets were next up the hill but Atkinson, Openshaw and Munnelly could not better Smith or Kyfin. This left the BIG TWO. Tim Wilcock (GS Metro) was second last to leave the start line and set about making short work of the hill. The home fans were willing him on as he neared the line. Wilcock stopped the clock at 4’24.4 – this was 11 secs slower than the CR set last year by Scratchman Ben Davis – was it fast enough?

Davis pulled his left foot out as he started but recovered instantly and HAMMERED up the first drag. Sadly for Davis but to Wilcock’s delight he could not stop Wilcock taking his third straight win of the HC season. Davis was second in 4’30.1

The standard was excellent this season with 14 sub five minute rides. Next season sees the National championship contested at the same venue. The club wishes to thank The Feathers Inn for continued support of the event, the timekeepers and all who gave up time to help run the event smoothly

1 Tim Wilcock GS Metro 04:24.4
2 Ben Davis Bristol Road Club 04:30.1
3 Matthew Smith Muckle Cycle Club 04:31.0
4 Zeb Kyffin Gosforth RC Junior 04:32.8
5 Dominic Munnelly Parentini Test Team Veteran 04:34.9
6 Michael Openshaw Cestria C.C. Veteran 04:39.0
7 Laurie Lambeth Beacon Wheelers CC 04:40.4
8 David Ross LFGSS CC 04:43.0
9 Ian Taylor Blumilk Veteran 04:45.4
10 Colin Atkinson EMC Veteran 04:47.3
11 Jamie Johnson Barnesbury CC 04:51.9
12 Nick Badcock Allen Valley Velo 04:53.0
13 Craig Deacon South Shields Velo Cycling Club 04:55.7
14 John Bowman Muckle Cycle Club 04:58.8
15 Thomas Prentice Breeze Bikes RT Juvenile 05:04.2
16 Josh Reid Gosforth RC 05:04.4
17 Neil Baxter Blumilk Veteran 05:07.9
18 Eoin Gormley Blaydon CC 05:08.0
19 Aren Tyr Gosforth RC 05:14.1
20 Paul Hague Gosforth RC Veteran 05:14.9
21 Harry Walker Team Swift Veteran 05:18.0
22 Lee Ager Blaydon CC 05:18.9
23 Lewis Mcevoy Sunderland Clarion 05:19.7
24 Nicholas Stevenson Blaydon CC Veteran 05:23.2
25 Michael Todd Derwentside CC 05:23.5
26 Micky Mallen GS Metro Veteran 05:25.0
27 Thomas Hooper GS Metro 05:26.0
28 Dan Leather NRG/Triscience RT 05:29.4
29 Fiona Burnie Bishop Auckland CC Female 05:31.0
30 James Corfield Gosforth RC Junior 05:42.5
31 Chris Annable Allen Valley Velo Veteran 05:42.6
32 Darren Robson Muckle Cycle Club Veteran 05:43.5
33 Christopher Beaty Allen Valley Velo 05:44.1
34 Charlie Loizou Muckle Cycle Club 05:53.4
35 Tim Nichol Derwentside CC 06:14.7
36 Lee Statham Houghton CC Veteran 06:19.8
37 Tom Guy Sunderland Clarion Veteran 06:21.5
38 Peter Mcglynn Allen Valley Velo Veteran 06:26.1
39 Philip Green GS Metro Veteran 07:09.7
40 Fran Little One Life Racing Female Veteran 07:13.1
41 James Gray South Shields Velo Cycling Club 07:26.6
42 Thomas Heighton Stockton Wheelers CC Juvenile 07:27.9
43 Jennifer Holland Tyne Tri Female Veteran 07:33.5
44 Richard Exley Gosforth RC Veteran 07:50.2

… continued after advert





Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,