News: BMC Dominate Eneco Tour Team Time Trial


BMC dominated the Eneco Tour 21 kilometre stage 5 team time trial crossing the line with a six second victory margin putting Rohan Dennis back in the leader’s jersey

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: BMC Dominate Eneco Tour Team Time Trial

Team Press Release

As two-time UCI World Champions in the discipline, BMC Racing Team started the stage as the favorites and put in a performance that sees Rohan Dennis take back the overall lead with two stages remaining.

The time to beat changed throughout the day and out on the course BMC Racing Team, the third-to-last team to roll down the start ramp, was looking to better 23’17”, the time set by Etixx-QuickStep.

In a brilliant show of strength and teamwork BMC Racing Team crossed the line with all eight riders and clocked 23’11” which was more than enough to claim the stage win and reshuffle the General Classification.

Dennis now leads the race by 16 seconds over teammate Taylor Phinney, and 24 seconds over Tony Martin (Etixx-QuickStep). Manuel Quinziato and Greg Van Avermaet sit in seventh and eighth respectively to make it four riders in the top ten for BMC Racing Team.

The team time trial win was also enough to put BMC Racing Team in first position on the team classification, 23 seconds in front of Team LottoNL-Jumbo.


Rohan Dennis: “We finished with 8 riders and we showed that there is a reason why we are the number one team in the world when it comes to the TTT. We weren’t too stressed about performing. It was more about how much time we would take out of Sagan and Tinkoff. I am pretty satisfied with how we did.

It wasn’t perfect today. We still have some stuff to work on and you never win easily so everyone in the team suffered a bit but we worked really well together. I would have been happy to finish the TTT with an advantage of anything over 20 seconds and I was aiming personally for around 30 to 40 so to get 34 seconds in the end and bring me to a 27 second advantage in the GC was good. Although it is by no means a given that we will take the win, it will make it a bit easier.”

“I don’t race in Belgium or Holland that often so I have to look to riders like Greg Van Avermaet, Manuel Quinziato and Daniel Oss for direction and the best thing to do at certain stages at the race. We have Taylor Phinney, Van Avermaet, Quinziato and myself in the top ten so we have a lot of cards to play in that sense and if one of us wins that’s great. If that means the team wins but I lose it doesn’t matter if it is still BMC on the podium.”

Greg Van Avermaet: “It was a great feeling to win with the team. We are World Champions in this discipline so we always have to defend this title every time and we are pretty happy that we did it. We have such a strong team and all eight riders put a real effort into it and that’s what makes us the best team on the day.”

Tony Martin (Etixx Quickstep) “This was one of the nicest team time trial I’ve ever done. The course was beautiful and our team was strong and coherent. Every rider gave it his all and was motivated to work hard for a good result. We missed Tom Boonen, as he is a super strong guy and as the 8th man we could have saved more energy, but we are satisfied with the way we rode.”
… continued after advert2016_ShuttVeloRapideAdvert

Stage Result
1 BMC RACING TEAM 00:23:11
2 ETIXX – QUICK STEP 00:00:06
4 MOVISTAR TEAM 00:00:25
5 IAM CYCLING 00:00:26
6 LOTTO SOUDAL 00:00:29
8 TINKOFF 00:00:34
9 TEAM SKY 00:00:38
10 FDJ 00:00:40
11 TEAM KATUSHA 00:00:41
12 ASTANA PRO TEAM 00:00:41
13 CANNONDALE 00:00:42
14 ORICA-BikeExchange 00:01:11
15 TREK – SEGAFREDO 00:01:12
16 LAMPRE – MERIDA 00:01:21
18 AG2R LA MONDIALE 00:01:30
19 DIMENSION DATA 00:01:36

1 Rohan Dennis BMC RACING TEAM 13:40:47
2 Taylor Phinney BMC RACING TEAM 0:00:16
3 Tony Martin ETIXX – QUICK STEP 0:00:24
4 Peter Sagan TINKOFF 0:00:27
5 Niki Terpstra ETIXX – QUICK STEP 0:00:27
6 Jos Van Emden TEAM LOTTO NL – JUMBO 0:00:28
7 Manuel Quinziato BMC RACING TEAM 0:00:29
8 Greg Van Avermaet BMC RACING TEAM 0:00:33
9 Bob Jungels ETIXX – QUICK STEP 0:00:36
10 Marcel Kittel ETIXX – QUICK STEP 0:00:37
11 Wilco Kelderman TEAM LOTTO NL – JUMBO 0:00:38
12 Primoz Roglic TEAM LOTTO NL – JUMBO 0:00:39
13 Jasha Sütterlin MOVISTAR TEAM 0:00:39
14 Zdenek Stybar ETIXX – QUICK STEP 0:00:40
15 Martin Elmiger IAM CYCLING 0:00:40
16 Matthias Brandle IAM CYCLING 0:00:41
17 Alex Dowsett MOVISTAR TEAM 0:00:43
18 Jon Izaguirre Insausti MOVISTAR TEAM 0:00:44
19 Nelson Filipe Santos Simoes Oliveira MOVISTAR TEAM 0:00:47
20 André Greipel LOTTO SOUDAL 0:00:50



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,