Report/Result: Welsh CA 50 (Welsh championship)


Conrad Moss of Mid Devon fastest with a 1.44 in the Welsh CA 50 mile time trial, Crystal Spearman fastest woman

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Result: Welsh CA 50 (Welsh championship)

A near full field which included a good number of quality riders threatened to become a much more open affair with the late withdrawal of defending Welsh Champion Kieron Davies due to sickness.

Torrential overnight rain dampened the enthusiasm of a fair selection of the dry weather brigade who decided to call it a day on their BBAR campaign for 2016 on the last qualifying weekend.

First man to leave the timekeeper Stuart Jones EC Cycles set out on a mild but overcast day in his first ever 50. He was first to finish the two lap course with a creditable 2:08:23 which suggested that quick times may well be on the cards. Sure enough it was not long before the first sub 2 hr ride was done.

Dean Ware EC Cycles stormed around in 1:58:18 in this his first ever racing season and final counting BAR ride to give him a good chance of gaining the Welsh BAR. The first sub 1:50 ride was done by Jonathan Gates RAF CA who flew around the course in 1:49:56 which eventually gave him a top ten finish. First of the known faster seeded men Victor Chetta Mid Shropshire Wheelers battled around the course with a 1:47:47 giving him a 1:05 improvement just outside a podium place.

There was a sprinkling of a few drops of rain which did not come to much but suggested a change in conditions; a rising wind and a slight shift in direction meant the later starters would be getting a headwind finish for the last 7 miles.

Off no. 100 Conrad Moss fresh from his recent win in the Welsh CA 100 at the beginning of the month was now the hot favourite: he did not disappoint the crowd around the result board with a quality 1:44:29; just 32 seconds off a PB. With the no-show of the last two ten minute marques it was down to Anthony Jones Bynea CC to try to snatch top spot.

With a gutsy ride and an improvement of over two minutes he failed to dislodge Moss but secured the final place on the podium.

The Women’s event was comfortably won by Crystal Spearman Nopinz who sparkled with a time of 2:01:43. Two of her contenders namely Andrea Parish Camel Valley C & TC and Kirsty Smith Team Swift suffered mechanical problems and failed to finish.  … continued after advert


1 Conrad Moss Mid Devon CC 01:44:29
2 David Woodhouse G.S. Henley 01:46:47
3 anthony jones Bynea Cycling Club 01:47:01
4 Victor Chetta Mid Shropshire Wheelers 01:47:47
5 Rich Hunt Severn Valley Cycles 01:48:59
6 Ryan Davies G.S. Henley 01:49:04
7 Tom Ward Team Echelon – Rotor 01:49:25
8 Jonathan Gates Royal Air Force Cycling Association 01:49:56
9 Paul Jones Severn Valley Cycles 01:50:08
10 Oliver Simon Team NBCC 01:50:20
11 Mark Nulty Team Swift 01:50:41
12 Simon Coles Northover VT / Rudy Project 01:51:49
13 Graeme Boswell Cardiff Ajax CC 01:52:49
14 earl smith Severn Valley Cycles 01:54:17
15 Steven Cottington Bath Cycling Club 01:54:46
16 Chris Massey Team Bottrill 01:55:26
17 Emyr Griffiths Bynea Cycling Club 01:55:30
18 Andrew Legge Bristol South Cycling Club 01:55:45
19 Lloyd Morgan Cardiff Ajax CC 01:56:27
20 Nic Cleave Swansea Wheelers/CS Abertawe 01:56:36
20 Eric Grill AeroCoach 01:56:36
22 Neil Reynolds Winchcombe Cycling Club 01:57:14
23 paul russell Springfield Financial 01:57:55
24 Mark Bradley Bristol South Cycling Club 01:58:00
25 Clive Franklin Somerset Road Club 01:58:02
26 dean ware EC Cycles 01:58:18
27 Rob Jones Cardiff Ajax CC 01:58:27
28 Rob Hussey Severn Valley Cycles 01:59:34
28 Chris Fishbourne Abercynon Road Club 01:59:34
30 Daniel Kempe Bristol South Cycling Club 01:59:40
31 Leslie Thomas Tri UK 01:59:42
32 Tom Cox Northover VT / Rudy Project 02:00:15
33 Adam Taylor Royal Dean Forest Cycle Club 02:00:48
34 Richard Chamberlain Coventry Road Club 02:01:02
35 Crystal Spearman NOPINZ 02:01:43 Female
36 Rick Harris Ross on Wye & Dist CC 02:01:50
37 David Evans Team Echelon – Rotor 02:01:59
38 Chris Woolley Acme Whs (Rhondda) CC 02:02:01
39 Niall Foster Cardiff Ajax CC 02:03:00
40 Andy Hazell Mid Shropshire Wheelers 02:03:12
41 Ian Lindsay Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA 02:03:28
42 ray retter North Devon Wheelers 02:04:33
43 Christopher Bailey Lyme Racing Club 02:04:42
44 Paul Stephens Ross on Wye & Dist CC 02:05:17
45 Katie Price Hereford & Dist Whs CC 02:05:28 Female
46 Stuart Jones EC Cycles 02:08:23
47 Paul Winchcombe Chippenham & District Wheelers 02:08:39
48 Mark German 1st Chard Wheelers 02:09:10
49 Robert Jones Cardiff 100 Miles RCC 02:10:44
50 neil downes Forza Cycles 02:11:29
51 dominic norcross Pembrokeshire Velo 02:11:40
52 Martyn Bidwell Cardiff Ajax CC 02:11:55
53 Andrew Curley Warwickshire Road Club 02:11:57
54 Stephen Landeg Ogmore Valley Wheelers CC 02:12:42
55 Steve Evans Bynea Cycling Club 02:12:47
56 Michael Hazlewood Saracen RC 02:13:32
57 Simon Kinsey Acme Whs (Rhondda) CC 02:13:35
58 Vincent Jenkins 02:14:15
59 Michelle Robertson Abercynon Road Club 02:14:48 Female
60 Joanna Knight Bristol South Cycling Club 02:16:18 Female
61 john shehan Bynea Cycling Club 02:16:44
62 Diane Wilson-Evans Bynea Cycling Club 02:17:15 Female
63 Robert Hutchinson Bristol South Cycling Club 02:20:03
64 JOHN MURPHY Gloucester City Cycling Club 02:20:10
65 Michael Williams Hereford & Dist Whs CC 02:24:01
66 Helen Bailey Lyme Racing Club 02:24:05 Female
67 Fenella Brown Warwickshire Road Club 02:24:15 Female
68 Mary-Jane Hutchinson Bristol South Cycling Club 02:24:16 Female
69 John Beaven 1st Chard Wheelers 02:25:11
70 Michael George Pembrokeshire Velo 02:29:21
71 John Howells Corinium Cycle Club 02:35:40



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK