News: Ian Field 14th in SuperPrestige


Win for Tom Pidcock, third for Nikki Brammeier and 14th for Ian Field at the Zonhoven Superprestige cyclo-cross race

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: Ian Field 14th in SuperPrestige

Zonhoven – Hansgrohe Superprestige
It was a great day for the Brits competing in the Zonhoven Superprestige cyclo-cross race on the weekend. As well as the win by Tom Pidcock in the Juniors and then third for Nikki Brammeier in the Women’s race, Ian Field (Hargroves Cycles) also rode a superb race to be 14th in the Elite Mens.


Ian said of his race, “Again, really happy with another top 15 in such company. The race went well for me although I didn’t have the greatest start. I took my time though during the race to use the group I was in to get the best possible result for myself on the day.”

Ian explained just what the SuperPrestige series is about. “The series is the longest standing Cyclocross series and holds great precedence in Belgium and Holland especially. It takes place across iconic Cyclocross courses and all the big names ride the series holding it up there with the World Cup overall standings”.


A photo retweeted by Ian (above), shows visually what a great event this was. Asked about the venue, Ian says “The Zonhoven course is quickly becoming one of the most recognisable courses in the World with the ‘Kruil’- the sand pit that creates a natural amphitheater where the crowd gathers in its thousands to watch the spectacular sand descents”.

“I have ridden well on the course before and I am pretty good when it comes to sand so I knew I could do a good ride before the start. It was really warm, almost hot again for Cross but I don’t find these conditions too bad. However the dry conditions did make the sand deeper and looser than usual which made things tough going”.

British fans can see Ian racing again in the National Trophy next weekend at Abergavenny. “I think I have won there on four or five occasions so I am really looking forward to a course which I really enjoy” Ian said in parting.


1 Mathieu Van der Poel Beobank-Corendon 1:01:15
2 Wout Van Aert Crelan-Vastgoedservice 0:00:00
3 Laurens Sweeck ERA-Circus 0:00:28
4 Lars Van Der Haar Team Giant-Alpecin 0:00:46
5 Klaas Vantornout Marlux-Napoleon Games 0:01:10

14 Ian Field Hargroves Cycles Race Team 0:03:15
1 Sanne Cant IKO Enertherm-Beobank 45:58
2 Jolien Verschueren Telenet Fidea Lions 0:00:21
3 Nikki Brammeier Boels-Dolmans 0:00:38

1 Thomas Pidcock 40:37
2 Thymen Arensman 0:00:13
3 Jelle Camps 0:00:26




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,