Report: King’s Lynn CC RR


Darren Cole broke away at a little over half distance and solo’d to victory in the King’s Lynn CC’s race for 3/4

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: King’s Lynn CC RR

by Fergus Muir

King’s Lynn CC Road Race, Grimston, Norfolk

Constantly active at the front of the race, Darren Cole of Nottingham team RPD broke away at a little over half distance and sustained a lone break to win the King’s Lynn CC’s race for Third and Fourth Cat riders.


Rain cleared just after the start of the 60 mile race, held over four laps of a Grimston-Gayton-Great Massingham circuit on exceptionally quiet roads in north-west Norfolk.

Cole exploited the tight corners at the eastern end of the course – especially where the course looped around the village green and pond in Great Massingham – to choose an escape point where a lone rider or small group would have the advantage. The 34 year-old IT engineer’s first breakaway bid, in company, was brought back, but his lone effort finally stuck

Entering Grimston with two miles to go his lead was 42 seconds. The charging bunch pulled back half of that, but were still out of sight at the chequered flag.


The race passes through  Grimston. 

Owen Geeson (Stowmarket & District) chose the wheel of Steve Konrad (Great Yarmouth CC) to follow round the tight final corner in Grimston – made more difficult by a large puddle. Geeson blasted down the finish straight to take second by a few yards from Simon Hazelby of Norwich Club Iceni Velo, followed by Ivan Carr (VC Norwich) up from seventh in this race last year.

Inches behind was Simon Loombe (Aylsham Road Club) who was best Fourth Cat finisher in this his first ever road race.

Next up were Steve Konrad, just ahead of clubmate Robert Anderson, with ever-present West Suffolk Wheeler Malcolm Borg ending his season on a high note with the eighth place prize


The sprint for second place

1 Darren Cole (RPD Racing)
2 Owen Geeson (Stowmarket & District) @ 22 secs
3 Simon Hazelby (Iceni Velo) @ same time
4 Ivan Carr (VC Norwich)
5 Simon Loombe (Aylsham Road Club)
6 Steve Konrad (Great Yarmouth CC)
7 Robert Anderson (Great Yarmouth CC)
8 Malcolm Borg (West Suffolk Wheelers)
9 Matt Waters (Chatteris CC)
10 Mike Padfield (North Norfolk Whs) – all same time

11 Maciej Malyszka Kings Lynn CC
12 Tom Lawrence VC Norwich
13 Ben Keeley VeloVelocity/Risbygate Solicit…
14 Jonathan Vaughan Iceni Velo
15 Vincent Ellis VC Norwich
16 Steve Sach Southend Wheelers
17 Richard Neil St Ives CC
18 Brian Stacey St Ives CC
19 Gavin Barron Iceni Velo
20 David Wells Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA)
21 Chris Reeson Royal Air Force CA
22 Andrew Gilbert Fenland Clarion CC
23 Ian Sandall Gt Yarmouth CC
24 Graham Denny East Coast Riders
25 Peter Farrell East Coast Riders
26 Lee Woodcock HKR XC Team
27 Duncan Walkey Arrow Cycles
28 David Loynes Velo Club Baracchi
29 Mark Nickerson Gt Yarmouth CC
30 Alec Seaman Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA
31 Steven Neill Kings Lynn CC
32 Lewis Fulljames Kings Lynn CC
33 Paul Dennison Newmarket Cycling&Triathlon Cl.




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,