2016 Welsh Cycling Awards. And the winners are!


Welsh Cycling marked a monumental year of cycling at the 2016 Welsh Cycling Awards held in Cardiff on Saturday 29 October

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

2016 Welsh Cycling Awards. And the winners are!

Welsh Cycling marked a monumental year of cycling at the 2016 Welsh Cycling Awards held in Cardiff on Saturday 29 October. The ceremony celebrated the successes of Welsh cyclists on the world stage, and the achievements and dedication of volunteers, clubs and coaches at home in Wales.

Eight awards were presented at the Mercure Holland House, culminating in a live questions and answer session with friend of Welsh Cycling Richard Parks and elite cyclists Ciara Horne, Scott Davies and Manon Carpenter.

Cardiff’s Alan Davis was honoured with the Lifetime Contribution to Cycling in Wales sponsored by Primal Europe. For twenty years, Alan has been committed to cycling in Wales fulfilling a number of voluntary roles within Maindy Flyers Youth Cycling Club, always focused on the enjoyment of the young riders taking part. He was the first cycling coach to many Commonwealth, World and Olympic Champions including Elinor Barker, Owain Doull and Geraint Thomas MBE.

Alan said: “It’s been an absolute pleasure for every minute of the twenty years, and I’ve had far more back from cycling than I’ve been able to give to it. Giving the young the chance to go out there, try and see what they can achieve is what keeps me doing it.

In particular this year, with Owain [Doull] and Elinor [Barker], they weren’t kids who came along and won every race but they were determined and wanted to keep trying, and are an example to all of us.” Becky James received Elite Performance of the Year sponsored by SD Sealants, following her double Olympic silver medal success in Rio this summer. Her father, David James collected the award during the ceremony.

Volunteer of the Year, sponsored by Berry Smith Lawyers, saw dedicated individuals recognised for their contributions to cycling, from ride leaders to race organisers. Vicky Hinstridge, Nia Richards and Esther Griffiths were given the award for their work as Breeze Champions in partnership with the National Trust. Together, they hold regular Breeze rides at National Trust properties in Wales, giving women more opportunities to cycle.

Nia and Vicky collected the award in Cardiff, “I’m overwhelmed, it’s just amazing! We never expected them to say our names, it’s a fantastic opportunity for Breeze, putting women on the map and encouraging more women to have fun on their bike. And we have more bike rides planned for 2017!” In addition, Chris Landon, Alison Durston, Simon Parkinson, Jackie Harris and Emma Serjeant were all recognised for their volunteer roles and support of cycling in Wales.

With more than 165 cycling clubs now affiliated to Welsh Cycling, Club of the Year sponsored by Kilsby and Williams was an eagerly anticipated category. Bynea Cycling Club, based in Carmarthenshire, were given the honour. Club member Tina Grech accepted the award, “It’s fantastic. It’s an absolute privilege to be part of Bynea Cycling Club and it’s a great pleasure to be here tonight to accept the award.”

The club promote two road races each year, as well as a number of time trials with club members active in Wales’ volunteer workforce as commissaires, CSAS marshals and coaches. Pontyclun Flyers, Caerphilly Cycling Club, VC Melyd and Ystwyth CC were all runners up in this competitive category.

Club Cyclist of the Year sponsored by Nuffield Health Cardiff and Vale was awarded to Chris Corbett, Caerphilly Cycling Club. Chris returned to cycling just over 12 months ago. As well as his cycling goals on the bike, Chris has given back to Caerphilly CC through coaching at Kids Club and leading beginner rides. Jacob Phelps, Torq Performance/Cardiff Ajax CC and Richard Smith, Action Bikes CC were runners up.

The Colin Thornton Memorial Award for Welsh Junior Performance, awarded in memory of the Commonwealth cyclist, was awarded to Jessica Roberts, Liv CC Epic following her successful year on the road and track, winning two bronze medals at the UEC U23 and Junior European Track Championships and silver in the points race at the UCI Junior World Track Championships in Switzerland. Runners up in the category were Rhys Britton, Bush Healthcare CRT and Peter Kibble, Velocity Globalbikes.

Go-Ride Club of the Year recognises cycling clubs with youth riders at the core. 85% of the Great Britain Cycling Team started at a Go-Ride club, and are a great way to begin your cycling journey. Gower Riders, based in Swansea, were given the accolade. Gower Riders supported the Go-Ride Summer of Cycling in Swansea, as well as hosting an I Am Team GB event in August. They have become a part of the community, and support ParkLives with free cycling activities. Abergavenny RC, Maindy Flyers, Hafren CC and The Bike Doctor Club were all runners up in the category.

Coach of the Year was awarded to Paul Llewellyn Crapper, Abergavenny RC. Paul has been instrumental in developing and leading women-only coaching sessions in Abergavenny, in addition to regular adult beginner sessions. He also gives his time to coach young riders every Saturday morning, giving all his energy to cycling. Mike Tong, Jackie Harris, Kevin Rees and Chris Jones were runners up.

Anne Adams-King, Chief Executive Officer at Welsh Cycling said: “We have had a phenomenal year at Welsh Cycling. We had six Welsh riders attend the Rio 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games, bringing back 4 medals. But it’s back here in Wales we have seen an impact.

We have more than 165 cycling clubs, delivering opportunities for people of all ages and abilities to take part in cycling. We are privileged in Wales to have such a vibrant group of people supporting cycling, from ride leaders to coaches, race organiser to marshals. I thank each and every volunteer for helping to inspire Wales to cycle.”


To find out more about getting involved in cycling as a coach, volunteer, coach or cyclist get in touch at welshcycling.co.uk

The winners:

Volunteer of the Year sponsored by Berry Smith Lawyers
Nia Richards (Ceredigion), Esther Griffiths (Gwynedd) and Vicky Hinstridge (Wrexham)

Go Ride Club of the Year
Gower Riders (Swansea)

Club Cyclist of the Year sponsored by Nuffield Health Cardiff and Vale
Chris Corbett (Caerphilly)

Coach of the Year
Paul Llewellyn Crapper (Monmouthshire)

Club of the Year sponsored by Kilsby and Williams
Bynea Cycling Club (Carmarthenshire)

Colin Thornton Memorial Award for Welsh Junior Performance
Jessica Roberts (Carmarthenshire)

Elite Performance of the Year sponsored by SD Sealants
Becky James (Monmouthshire)

Lifetime Contribution to Cycling in Wales sponsored by Primal Europe
Alan Davis (Cardiff)



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK