News: Great Britain Podium Programme Riders


The Great Britain Cycling Team has announced the riders on the podium programme 2016/17 following the annual review earlier this month

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: Great Britain Podium Programme Riders

London 2012 Olympic team pursuit champion Dani King returns to the Great Britain Cycling Team along with fellow road rider Nikki Brammeier who played pivotal supporting roles in this year’s world championships and Olympic Games respectively.

The two riders will continue to ride full time for their trade teams but will receive support from British Cycling in-line with the other members of the Great Britain Cycling Team road squad. Six riders – Alice Barnes (road), Emily Kay (track endurance), Danni Khan (track endurance), Ryan Owens (track sprint), Mark Stewart (track endurance) and Oliver Wood (track endurance) – have graduated from the senior academy programme

Programmes Director Andy Harrison said: “In a year which has seen some fantastic performances from the Great Britain Cycling Team, the bar for programme membership remains high and we have a very strong podium programme squad to lead us into the next Olympic cycle.

“In particular, I’m pleased to see the strength and depth we have within the women’s road squad which has been bolstered by the additions Dani King, Nikki Brammeier and former mountain biker Alice Barnes which paints a very different picture to where we were with this squad a couple of years ago.

“I’m also very happy with the pathway progression of the six academy riders who have stepped up from senior academy level and already we’re seeing great results from the track riders.

“Throughout the pathway system we have some incredibly talented riders and we are confident of continuing our success in the coming years.”

Men’s Road
Mark Cavendish
Steve Cummings
Jon Dibben
Owain Doull
Alex Dowsett
Andrew Fenn
Chris Froome
Luke Rowe
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Simon Yates
Adam Yates
Peter Kennaugh
Geraint Thomas

Women’s Road
Lizzie Deignan
Alice Barnes
Hannah Barnes
Nikki Brammeier
Dani King

Men’s Track Endurance
Steve Burke
Ed Clancy
Kian Emadi
Chris Latham
Mark Stewart
Andy Tennant
Sir Bradley Wiggins
Oliver Wood

Women’s Track Endurance
Katie Archibald
Elinor Barker
Emily Kay
Danni Khan
Joanna Rowsell Shand
Laura Kenny

Men’s Track Sprint
Phil Hindes
Jason Kenny
Ryan Owens
Callum Skinner

Women’s track sprint
Becky James
Katy Marchant
Victoria Williamson
Shanaze Reade

Kyle Evans
Liam Phillips
Tre Whyte

Mountain Bike
Grant Ferguson




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK