Report & Results: Imperial Winter Series Round 4

Arlen Vartazarian, Ieuan Woods, Bob McGlue & Emily Bates winners at round 4 of the Imperial Winter Series (Hillingdon)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results: Imperial Winter Series Round 4
7th January 2017 | thanks Lucy Collins

Normal service resumed after the Christmas break with a much milder day, with the gloom being overcome by the enthusiasm of the 4th cat men and women.

Lillian Choy of London Dynamo kicked things off leading the early laps but it was Judith Burne (GS Henley) who was the most aggressive and subsequently awarded the Look Mum No Hands! combative rider prize. Lillian Choy led again at the bell but in a really close sprint Emily Bates (700cc) narrowly edged her out from Jessica Finney (Portsmouth NE) and Jan Scott (Eton Tri Club) who could not be split by the photo finish. Emily Bates can look forward to hands on from Nicole Oh of Peloton Physio and Queen of the Mountains socks.

The 4th cat race was all action with Mark Aldred leading and riding with intent, leaving a trailing wake of riders hanging on. He continued attacking but the group wouldn’t form and the race ended in a sprint with Bob McGlue (High Wycombe CC) winning from James Ferguson (SD Racing) and Paul Brooks. Five riders shed their 4th cat skin this week Emily Bates (700cc), McGlue , Ferguson, Brooks and Joe Kirton (VC Norwich)all taking well deserved Ryders Eyewear glasses to match their new licences.

In the E123 race the wind played a part with the still conditions encouraging riders to push on, notably Chris Burn (TMG Horizon), Damien Clayton (Mono CC), James McCarthy (Twickenham CC) and Barnabas Purbrook (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT). With 8km to go two riders pressed clear, Ieuan Woods (Catford Banks CC) and Arlen Vartazarian (Regents Park Rouleurs), and although their lead hovered at around 10 seconds they persisted and with a few laps to go the bunch relinquished the chase, only to pick it up on the last lap – but too late! Woods took the win from Vartazarian, each winning their respective categories with series leader Tom Hargreaves (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT) in third.

Round 5 of 9 – 14th January 2017
13:10 4th Cat
13:11 Women 2nd/3rd cats
14:20 E12 cats
14:20 3rd cats
Further Information:

… continued after advert



E 1 2 cat race
1st Arlen Vartazarian Regents Park Rouleurs 2 190
2nd Tom Hargreaves Nuun-Sigma Sport- London RT E 180
3rd Daniel Cooper Regents Park Rouleurs 2 170
4th Jerzy Kuzminski London Bicycle Workshop 2 140
5th Adam Thompson Eden Veranda Racing 2 120
6th Tyler Lemmon Team Bottecchia UK 2 110
7th James McCarthy Twickenham CC 2 100
8th Robert Ormond Morvelo Basso RT 1 70
9th Tristan Grigalis PMR@Toachim House 2 40
10th Hadyn James Reading Cycling Club 2
11th James Gray VC Londres 2
12th Jamie Caldwell Portsmouth North End CC 1
13th Steve James High Wycombe CC 2
14th Jo Skelton Look Mum No Hands! 2
15th Barnabas Purbrook Nuun-Sigma E

3rd cat race
1st Ieuan Woods Catford CC 200
2nd William Raymond VCL 160
3rd Damien Clayton Mono CC 150
4th Kareem Akinnibi VCL 130
5th Michael Pollitt London Dynamo 90
6th Paul Dutton SD Racing 80
7th Ian Tucker Twickenham CC 60
8th Daniel Moll unattached 50
9th James Leach Imperial Racing Team 30
10th Henry Charrington London Dynamo 20
11th Stefan Atanasov VC Colets 10
12th Dylan Hubble Thames Velo
13th Jamie Davies-Evans Adalta CC
14th Jose Soler Handsling Racing
15th Peter Clifton Twickenham CC
16th James Doyle Clarence wheelers
17th Mark Edgley Dulwich Paragon CC
18th Evangelos Christides unattached
19th Malcolm Davies Dulwich Paragon CC
20th Anthony Lazarus Velosport CC
21st Joseph Gillies Twickenham CC
22nd Philip Mosley Thames Velo
23rd James Turner SD Racing
24th Pete Ganderton GS Henley
25th Jonathan Williams Amersham RCC
26th Daren Austin Twickenham CC
27th Mark Hughes G.S.Henley
28th Clemence Copie Les Filles RT
29th Nick Gill Sutton CC
30th Stuart Gillies Twickenham CC
31st Jamie Ford Blazing Saddles
32nd Lee Mead unattached
33rd Steve Dunn Welwyn Wheelers
34th Mario Manelfi blazing saddles
35th Joseph Murray London Dynamo
36th Harvey Weinberger G.S.Henley
37th Eddie Caldas London Dynamo
38th Wayne Thomas North Bucks RC

4th cat race
1st Bob McGlue HWCC
2nd James Ferguson SD Racing
3rd Paul Brooks Unattached
4th Joe Kirton VC Norwich
5th Doug Ferguson Hart Evolution Racing Team
6th Andrew Knott Welwyn Wheelers CC
7th Richard Potts 700cc
8th Rufus Greenway Twickenham CC
9th James McGahern Lovelo Cinnelli RT
10th Max Kingdon unattached
11th Pierre Jackson G.S. Henley
12th James Ackerley GS Henley
13th Charlie Woodall Big Boys Bicycle Club
14th Scott Shellien-Walker SD Racing Team
15th Simon Pearce Berkhamsted CC
16th Ross Greening Velosport CC
17th Edward Simpson unattached
18th Orlando Whitehead University College London Union
19th Alan Nixon Amersham RCC
20th Lloyd Molton Kingston Wheelers
21st Johnathan Sargeant unattached
22nd Philip Bellingham Welwyn Wheelers
23rd Jacek Nowosielski unattached
24th Scott Volker Watford Velo Sport
25th David Clarke London Dynamo
26th James Parkes Army Cycling Union
27th Andrew Milner Noth Cotswold
28th Nathan Bond unattached
29th Darren Marshall Kingston Wheelers
30th Shaun Terry unattached
31st Justin Costley Cycling Club Hackney
32nd Sam Gregson Velosport
33rd Mark Weight Sigma Sport
34th Jos Busby Shutt Velo Rapide
35th Jun Ibarra Macalintal P CC UK
36th Mark Aldred unattached
37th Matthew Stokes Brixton CC
38th Leigh Bastable Outdoor Traders Race Team
39th Andrew Helme unattached
40th Andrew Deans PSM Cycling Club
41st Gregory Woodford Reading Cycling Club
42nd Dan Gates Amersham RCC
43rd Gary Kenny Watford Velo Sport
44th Daniel Goldsmith Twickenham CC

4th cat women race
1st Emily Bates 700CC
2nd Lillian Choy London Dynamo
2nd Jessica Finney Portsmouth North End CC
4th Jan Scott Eton Tri club
5th Harriet Hernando Velo Club Venta
6th Gill Thom Kingston Wheelers
7th Alice Todd Kingston Wheelers
8th Judith Burne G.S.Henley
9th Kristin Stolpe Berkhamsted CC
10th Gemma Hobson Sussex Nomads CC
11th Naomi Griffin 700cc
12th Charlotte Davis LoveloCinelliRT

Overall Series Leader Board (Best of 9 races)
1st Tom Hargreaves Nuun-Sigma Sport- London RT 690
2nd Daniel Cooper Regents Park Rouleurs 650
3rd Kareem Akinnibi VCL 550
4th William Raymond VCL 540
5th Damien Clayton Mono CC 430
6th Ieuan Woods Catford CC 430
7th Tyler Lemmon Team Bottecchia UK 430
8th James Gray VC Londres 380
9th James McCarthy Twickenham CC 380
10th Jerzy Kuzminski London Bicycle Workshop 360
11th Tristan Grigalis PMR@Toachim House 290
12th Adam Thompson Eden Veranda Racing 250
13th Hadyn James Reading Cycling Club 240
14th Jo Skelton Look Mum No Hands! 240
15th Michael Pollitt London Dynamo 240
16th Rory Palmer London Dynamo 200
17th Arlen Vartazarian Regents Park Rouleurs 190
18th Ben McKie VC Londres 190
19th Darryl Lusardi Willesden CC 190
20th John Hale unattached 170



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,