Result: Imperial Winter Series Hillingdon

Tristan Grigalis, Damien Clayton, Rowley Clifford & Helen McKay winners at the Imperial Winter Series at Hillingdon (London) last weekend

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Imperial Winter Series Hillingdon

Next: Round 6 of 9 | | 21st January 2017.

13:10 4th Cat
13:11 Women 4th cats
14:20 E12 cats
14:20 3rd cats

Round 5 Saturday 14th January 2017

Saturday provided the riders with a pretty grim day but at least the rain stopped prior to the start and it didn’t seem to deter the 53 lining up.

The 4th cat start was livened up by Jacob Law-Sales (VC Colets) who pulled hard from the start and was then followed by Sam Hodges (Pearson CC) and James Parkes (Army Cycling Union) but again it seemed no one was capable of breaking clear, although Sam Huckle (Twickenham CC) tried very hard towards the end of the 40 minutes plus 5 lap race.

A crash in the last corner disrupted things 15 minutes from the end of the race, thinning out the field and at the line Rowley Clifford (Brixton C.C.) held off well placed Huckle and Mark Aldred (Kingston Wheelers) for the win.

The Women started off fast for a small field probably because of Emma Lewis’s (Aprire HSS Hire) very early effort and she looked if she would stay away but for an unfortunate puncture. Gem Atkinson (Sigma Sport) followed this up with a number of laps away and consequently won the Look Mum No Hands! Dinner for Two Prime.

Under the pressure three escaped from the main group and were never going to be caught, staying away till the finish with Helen McKay (Les Filles RT) outsprinting her two breakaway companions Helen Ralston (Sigma Sport) and perhaps the strongest of them all Emma Lewis. McKay wins the Peloton Physio prize which will be lovingly administered by her team captain plus a Queen of the Mountains cap. 2nd place Ralston will collect LMNHs yummy burger.

In the Elite Race James Doyle, the son of a famous father Tony, lined up and was riding for his old club, Clarence Wheelers, along with 55 others. Also taking the start was 4th cat winner of rounds 1 and 2 Rupert Graham (Sigma Sport) sporting his new ‘Strider’ Ryder Eyewear.

From the start Charles Page (Cycle Team Onform) and Jon Shillingford (Thames Velo) slipped off the front, causing the main group to string out, until half distance this was the pattern of the race with Tom Hargreaves (Nunn Sigma Sport) and Steve James (High Wycombe CC) continuing to attack off the front.

Finally, James McCarthy (Twickenham CC) and Barnabas Purbrook (Nunn-Sigma Sport) managed to escape from the main bunch opening a gap. Ben McKie (VC Londres) and Tristan Grigalis (PMR Toachin House) saw the opportunity and bridged the gap.

This they did after several laps of hard work and the four then worked well together to the end extending to over a minute the main group seemed to ease off. Arlen Vartazarin (Regents Park Rouleurs) also saw the opportunity to escape and made a determined effort to close to the leading four, but did not quite make it but finished solo in fifth place.

Any one of the leading four could win the sprint, but in the end Grigalis was comfortably ahead of Mackie, McCarthy and Purbrook. Tom Hargreaves led the main field in in 6th place to consolidate his overall points position. James Leach of Imperial RT charted his steady improvement with a 7th place.
… continued after advert


1st Tristan Grigalis PMR@Toachim House 2 200
2nd Ben McKie VC Londres 2 190
3rd James McCarthy Twickenham CC 2 180
4th Barnabas Purbrook Nuun-Sigma E 170
5th Arlen Vartazarian Regents Park Rouleurs 2 160
6th Tom Hargreaves Nuun-Sigma Sport- London RT E 150
7th Jerzy Kuzminski London Bicycle Workshop 2 140
8th Charles Page Cycle Team Onform 2 130
9th Daniel Cooper Regents Park Rouleurs 2 120
10th Robert Ormond Morvelo Basso RT 1 110
11th James Gray VC Londres 2 80
12th Hadyn James Reading Cycling Club 2 50
13th Steve James High Wycombe CC 2 40
14th Tyler Lemmon Team Bottecchia UK 2 10
15th Edmond Irwin SD Racing Team 2
16th Darren Yorston SD Racing 2
17th Jon Shillingford Thames Velo 2
18th Adam Thompson Spokes BPC Racing 2

Womens 2nd/3rd cats
1st Helen McKay Les Filles RT 3
2nd Helen Ralston Sigma Sport 2
3rd Emma Lewis Aprire / HSS Hire 2
4th Gem Atkinson Sigma Sport 2
5th Louise Heywood-Mahé Les Filles 2
6th Olivia Campbell 2
7th Sarah Harrison Islington CC 2
8th Lydia Brookes Sigma Sport 2
9th Lucinda Kerr London Phoenix 2
10th Charlotte Heywood-Mahé Twickenham CC 2
11th Connie Hayes Hub Velo 3
12th Danielle Forshaw WyndyMilla 3
13th Alexandra Hamilton London Dynamo 2

3rd Cats
1st Damien Clayton Mono CC 100
2nd Jose Soler Handsling Racing 90
3rd Michael Pollitt London Dynamo 70
4th Ian Tucker Twickenham CC 60
5th James Doyle Clarence wheelers 30
6th Paul Dutton SD Racing 20
7th James Leach Imperial Racing Team
8th Evangelos Christides unattached
9th Peter Clifton Twickenham CC
10th Daniel Moll unattached
11th Stuart Gillies Twickenham CC
12th Dylan Hubble Thames Velo
13th Lee Mead unattached
14th Christopher Roberts Velosport CC
15th Mark Edgley Dulwich Paragon CC
16th Anthony Lazarus Velosport CC
17th Michael Ing Amersham RCC
18th Daren Austin Twickenham CC
19th Bob McGlue HWCC
20th Steven Heatley WDMBC/Specialized Ruislip
21st Joe Kirton VC Norwich
22nd Max O’Connor unattached
23rd Pete Ganderton GS Henley
24th David Driver Hart Evolution RT
25th Stefan Atanasov VC Colets
26th Rupert Graham Sigma Sport
27th Luke Stratford Farnborough & Camberley CC
28th Jamie Ford Blazing Saddles
29th Malcolm Davies Dulwich Paragon CC
30th Mark Hughes G.S.Henley
31st Seb Ashton Kingston Wheelers
32nd Jacek Reder unattached
33rd Mario Manelfi blazing saddles
34th Paul Bennett unattached
35th Helen Ralston Sigma Sport
36th Eddie Caldas London Dynamo

4th Cats
1st Rowley Clifford Brixton CC
2nd Sam Huckle Twickenham CC
3rd Mark Aldred Kingston Wheelers
4th Sam Hodges Pearson Cycling Club
5th Charlie Woodall Big Boys Bicycle Club
6th Jacek Nowosielski unattached
7th Nathan Bond unattached
8th Iain Campbell VC Londres
9th Ross Greening Velosport CC
10th James Ackerley GS Henley
11th Robert Ross unattached
12th Scott Shellien-Walker SD Racing Team
13th Andrew Knott Welwyn Wheelers CC
14th Rich Mallett unattached
15th Justin Costley Cycling Club Hackney
16th Edward Simpson unattached
17th Edward Flight unattached
18th Dean Kirkwood Kingston Wheelers
19th Johnathan Sargeant unattached
20th Sam Gregson Velosport
21st James Barrell BMRT
22nd Stuart McLay Hart Evolution RT
23rd Paul Scrase 700CC
24th Alastair Blowers VCGH
25th Pierre Jackson G.S. Henley
26th Tom Owen Big Boys Bicycle Club
27th Philip Bellingham Welwyn Wheelers
28th Gianluca Palazzo Kingston Wheelers
29th Craig Lawrence Kingston Wheelers CC
30th Tom Field unattached
31st Doug Ferguson Hart Evolution RT
32nd Billy Flinn Hart Evolution RT
33rd Matthew Stokes Brixton CC
34th Shaun Terry unattached
35th Antonio Silano WyndyMilla
36th Dominic Laval Odiham CC
37th Chappman Sin Chevaliers CC
38th Piotr Wojda unattached
39th Alan Nixon Amersham RCC
40th Alex Randall Twickenham CC
41st James Parkes Army Cycling Union
42nd David Kirke 700CC



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,