Report/Result: Imperial Winter Series (Hillingdon)

Tom Hargreaves, James Locker, Charlie Woodall & Jessica Finney winners at round 8 of the Imperial Winter Series at Hillingdon

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Result: Imperial Winter Series (Hillingdon)

Saturday produced another day of alternative weather, the previous week mild temperatures with warm sunshine added. This promising start quickly faltered with the men’s races peppered with spills, punctures and confusion for the 4th cat women when they were overtaken by their male counterparts, only for the latter to ease up and leave the two groups conjoined. Racing sometimes goes like this despite the organiser’s best efforts and lessons learned will be fed back to BC and the circuit management!

The 4th cat women were keen to start their last race of the series with 15 riders lining up; this race has seen a steady increase in numbers which is an encouraging trend. Jennifer Gunning (Army Cycling RT) and Kristin Stolpe (Berkhamsted CC) were driving on the front together with Kitty Pemberton-Platt (Rapha CC). Most of the riders dropped back after mixing it with the men and in the closing stages Kristin Stolpe slipped away to win on her own with Gunning second and Gemma Hobson (Sussex Nomads) in third. Kristin wins Queen of the Mountains jersey and the Combative – Look Mum No Hands!

In the men’s 4th cat race Alex Randell (Twickenham CC) was very prominent off the front of a very fast moving group, but faded towards the finish. A crash on the bottom of the circuit caused a problem splitting the field in the run in which produced a very tight finish, but at the line Daniel Rootes held off Sam Hodges (Pearson CC) and Ross Greening (Velosport CC) for a fine win.

In the e123 race the early laps were very fast thinning the whole field out with many riders hanging on; there were many attacks throughout the race and after 12 km Robert Ormond (Morvelo Basso RT) went away alone with Hadyn James (Spokes BPC Racing), chasing with the main group in tow.

From this the move which made the race Andy Shackel (Team Wiggle) and Daniel Cooper (Regents Park Rouleurs) who moved away but were soon joined by overall series leader Tom Hargreaves (Nunn-Sigma Sport). They settled down, worked well and drew away from the main group and reached a gap of 65 seconds. Hargreaves was very determined and made sure he hit the front with 100m to go to hold off Andy Shackel with Cooper in third.

Hargreaves takes a 30 point lead over Daniel Cooper into the final round on Saturday.

Ross Greening (Velosport CC) wears Strider Ryder Eyewear now he’s become a 3rd Cat Kristin Stolpe (Berkhampsted CC) Winner of the Ladies 4th race wearing Queen of the Mountains Jersey & Musette Bag Jennifer Gunning (Army Cycling Race Team) wins hot snacks at Look Mum No Hands LMNH for 2nd place in Ladies 4th cat race La ferme des Bélugues

Kristin Stolpe (Berkhampsted CC) Winner of the Ladies 4th race most Combative rider wins Dinner for 2 at Look Mum No Hands LMNH Jan Scott (700cc) wears Sevenths Ryder Eyewear now she’s become a 3rd Cat Sam Hodges(Pearson CC) wears Strider Ryder Eyewear now he’s become a 3rd Cat La ferme des Bélugues


… continued after advert


Round 8 Cats E 1 2
1st Tom Hargreaves Nuun-Sigma Sport- London RT E 200
2nd Andy Shackel Team Wiggle 1 190
3rd Daniel Cooper Regents Park Rouleurs 2 180
4th Hadyn James Spokes BPC Racing 2 170
5th Charles Page Cycle Team Onform 2 160
6th Tyler Lemmon TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT 2 140
7th Jerzy Kuzminski London Bicycle Workshop 2 130
8th James McCarthy Twickenham CC 2 110
9th Robert Ormond Morvelo Basso RT 1 70
10th Jo Skelton Look Mum No Hands! 2 60
11th Edmond Irwin SD Racing Team 2 40
12th Damien Clayton Mono CC 2 10
13th Matt Thompson VC Londres 2
14th Arlen Vartazarian Regents Park Rouleurs 2
15th Robin Basford Wyndymilla 2
16th Jamie Caldwell Portsmouth North End CC 1
17th Jon Shillingford Thames Velo 2
18th Edmund Bishop VC Meudon U23 2
19th Louis Francis Watford Velo Sport 2
20th Kieran Dineen VC Equipe Flix 2
21st Adam Moore Morvelo Basso RT 2
22nd Tristan Grigalis PMR@Toachim House 2 170

Round 8 3rd Cats
1st James Locker Dynamic Rides CC 150
2nd Will Scott unattached 120
3rd Thomas Durkin Lee Valley Youth CC JT 100
4th James Doyle Clarence wheelers 90
5th Ian Tucker Twickenham CC 80
6th Daniel Maynard Welwyn Wheelers 50
7th Steve Dunn Welwyn Wheelers 30
8th Carl Farrell Sussex Revolution Velo Club 20
9th Alex Elferink East London Velo
10th Anthony Lazarus Velosport CC
11th James Mason Dynamic Rides CC
12th Daniel Moll unattached
13th Darryl Lusardi Willesden CC
14th Ed Everett unattached
15th Peter Clifton Twickenham CC
16th Toby Collis CC London
17th Warren Vye Farnborough & Camberley CC
18th Peter Shaw VC Revolution
19th Cameron Fraser Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT
20th Jonathan Williams Amersham RCC
21st James Ferguson SD Racing
22nd Mark Hughes G.S.Henley
23rd Nicole Oh Les Filles RT
24th Pete Ganderton GS Henley
25th John Fisher unattached
26th Kris Collins Team Wiggle
27th Christopher Roberts Velosport CC
28th Stuart Gillies Twickenham CC
29th Jack Flores Twickenham CC
30th Wayne Thomas North Bucks RC

Round 8 4th Cats
1st Charlie Woodall Big Boys Bicycle Club
2nd Alex Randall Twickenham CC
3rd Mark Aldred Kingston Wheelers
4th Dan Adams London Dynamo
5th Lloyd Molton Kingston Wheelers
6th Pierre Jackson G.S. Henley
7th Max Kingdon unattached
8th Rufus Greenway Twickenham CC
9th Dan Ferguson Amersham RCC
10th Scott Shellien-Walker SD Racing Team
11th Chris Brown Kingston Wheelers
12th Nathan Bond unattached
13th Edward Flight unattached
14th Simon Pearce Berkhamsted CC
15th Sam Gregson Velosport
16th James Barrell BMRT
17th Alastair Blowers VCGH
18th Stuart McLay Hart Evolution RT
19th Orlando Whitehead University College London Union
20th Gianluca Palazzo Kingston Wheelers
21st Gregory Woodford Reading Cycling Club
22nd Mark Weight Sigma Sport
23rd Joe Bennion University of Manchester CC
24th Alan Nixon Amersham RCC
25th James Ackerley GS Henley
26th Johnathan Sargeant unattached
27th Robert Broderick Watford Velo Sport
28th Ross Greening Velosport CC
29th Dan Gates Amersham RCC
30th Billy Flinn Hart Evolution RT
31st Iain Campbell VC Londres
32nd Richard Metcalfe Berkhamsted CC
33rd Ed Neaves unattached
34th Andrew Shutler TFC
35th Peter Cornwall unattached

Womens 4th cats
1st Jessica Finney unattached
2nd Naomi Griffin 700cc
2nd Harriet Hernando Velo Club Venta
4th Judith Burne G.S.Henley
5th Jan Scott Eton Tri club
6th Rachel Dunn Welwyn Wheelers
7th Helen Bridgman Kingston Wheelers CC
8th Grace Dent GB Cycles
9th Siobhan Carroll Beckenham Rugby Cyclists
10th Gill Thom Kingston Wheelers
11th Alison Hinds Welwyn Wheelers
12th Natalie Mitchell Boot Out Breast Cancer CC



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,