Next Weekend: 51st Clayton Velo Spring Classic

Startsheet and details for the 51st edition of the North West season opener, the Clayton Velo Spring Classic on Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Next Weekend: 51st Clayton Velo Spring Classic

The 51st Clayton Spring Classic kicks off the North West season with top teams represented in the normal handicap format. With the field size reduced from 80, organisers had the difficult task of reducing 135 entries into a 60 rider field. First group away will be a strong group of GB women representing Team Breeze. They will have bags of experience for company with Veteran men for company including past Soen’s winner Carl Smith (Team Bott).

For the first time ever last year, the race had a junior winner when newly crowned World Junior Cyclo Cross Champion Tom Pidcock (above) held off ‘Superman’ Ian Wilkinson on the line in 3rd. Both are non starters this year but 2nd last year and now in Team Wiggins, first year senior Rob Scott, will start in the scratch group.

Pro teams Bike Channel Canyon, Madison Genisis and Raleigh GAC have riders present and 2013 winner Richard Handley will have new team mate Matt Cronshaw for company. Local TT Champion Ryan Perry (Raleigh GAC) starts along with the five man 100% ME team.

When: Sunday, 26rd Feb
Start: 10-00 am
Headquarters: Eddisford Junior School, Eddisford Road, Clitheroe, Lancashire BB7 2LN

15 LAPS, Start on the unclassified road one mile East of Hodder Bridge, proceed towards Hodder Bridge and left at first cross roads (M) Proceed to junction with B6243 (M) Left on to B6243 direction Clitheroe, turn sharp left 150M from Eddisford Bridge (M) continue towards Bashall to turn left at junction (M) on to the start and finishing straight to complete lap of 3.9 mile, repeat for a further 14 Laps (15 in total) = 58.5 miles.

RACE SERVICE There is no race service
… continued after advert



Group 1 (Women and Vet Men Cat 2/3 )
1 Megan Baker L1 Team Breeze
2 Abigail Dentus L1 Team Breeze
3 Eleanor Dickinson LE Team Breeze
4 Manon Lloyd L1 Team Breeze
5 Melissa Lowther L1 Team Breeze
6 Emily Nelosn LE Team Breeze
7 Annasley Park LE Team Breeze
8 Rebecca Rayburn L1 Team Breeze
9 Lucy Horrocks L J/3 Speedflex RT
10 Sam Dobson V3 Team SB Hub
11 Richard Flynn V3 Team SB Hub
12 Craig Battersby V2 Team Chronomaster
13 Simon Deplitch V2 Team Chronomaster
14 Steve Whiiington V3 ABC Centerville
15 Darran Acton V3 VCUK Velochampion
16 Wayne Greenhalgh V3 VCUK Velochampion
17 Karl Smith V3 Team Bott

Gp 2 Cat 2/3/4/ J cat 1/2 At 4 mins
18 Martin Woffindin 2 Secret Training
19 David Allonby 2 Big Northern Setup
20 Stephen Dent J/1 Spokes RT
21 Ben Barlow J/2 Salt Ayre Cog Set
22 Tom Barras 3 Pivate member
23 Warren Gell 3 Team Cronomaster
24 George Grenhalgh J2 Identity Racing
25 Theo Hartley j2
26 Sam Iddon J2 Identity racing
27 Elliot Reed J2 Identity racing
28 Alex Ridhalgh J2 Spokes RT
29 Brian Rigby 2 VCUK Velochampion
30 Sean McGovern 2
31 Tom Roper J/1 Beacon Wheelers
32 George Nolan Team SB Hub

Scratch Group Pro / Elite team/ Cat 1 At 8 Min
33 Stephen Abbott E Hoppers Rollers
34 Chris Fallon 1 Kuota-Spinergy
35 Ryan Coulton 1 Wheelbase Altura
36 Alex Auty 1 Team SB Hub
37 Hammish Graham 1 Green Jersey RT
38 David Bolland 1 Neon-Velo
39 Michael Cumming 2 Neon-Velo
40 Matt Cronshaw 1 Madison Genesis
41 Richard Handley 1 Madison Genesis
42 Richard Houghton V/E Brother NRG
43 Alex Luhrs E Brother NRG
44 Robert Smail 2 Brother NRG
45 Jimmy Smith 1 VCUK Velochampion
46 Jake Cowan 1 VCUK Velochampion
47 Dillon Byrne 1 VCUK Velochampion
48 Jake Womersley 1 Bike Channel Canyon
49 Matt Nowell E Bike Channel Canyon
50 Fraser Martin E Raleigh Gac
51 Ryan Perry E Raleigh Gac
52 Adam Hartley 1 100% Me
53 Matthew Walls E 100% Me
54 Jacob Hennesey E 100% Me
55 Matthew Bostock E 100% Me
56 Angus Claxton 2 100% Me
57 Rob Scott E Team Wiggins
58 Andrew Disley E racing
59 Cameron Jeffers 1 Team Corley cycles
60 Alex Jones 1 Maxxis 4 racing team

69 Joe Auty 2 Team SB Hub
70 George Wharton J2 Spokes RT
71 Jack Smith J3 Sportcity Velo
72 James Clayden 2 Bill Nickson RT
73 Aaron Tonks V3 Hoppers Rollers
74 Dave Parrington 2 Ribble Valley CRC
75 Oliver Huszar 2 East Lancs RC
76 Nick Cooper 2 DFL In -Gear
77 Ben Trippier 2 East Lancs RC

Former Winners
2016 1. Tom Pidcock VCUK 2.Rob Scott VCUK 3.Ian Wilkinson Pedal Heaven
2015 1. Peter Williams One Pro 2.Sam Williams One Pro 3.Josh Hunt One Pro
2014: 1. Simon Wilson, 2. David McGowan 3. Richard Handley
2013: 1. Richard Handley 2. Ryan Mullen, 3. James Gullen
2012: 1. Richard Hepworth 2. David McGowan 3. Robert Hassan
2011: 1. Dean Downing, 1. Tom Murray (dead heat) 3. Tom Barras
2010: 1. Dan Craven 2. Peter Williams 3. Chris Newton
2009: 1. Rob Hayles 2. Rob Partridge 3. Mark McNally
2008: 1. Chris Newton 2. Dean Downing 3. Graham Briggs
2007: 1. Ian Stannard 2. Alex Dowsett 3. Mark McNally
2006: 1. Chris Newton 2. Kevin Dawson 3. Graham Briggs
2005: 1. Kevin Dawson 2. David McGowan, 3. Ian Wilkinson
2004: 1. Kevin Dawson 2. Jack Hill 3. Philip West
2003: 1. Gary Adamson 2. Kevin Dawson 3. Ian Wilkinson
2002: 1. Bill Nickson 2. Chris Burrows 3. Hamish Haynes
2001: Cancelled
2000: 1. Robin Sharman 2. Ian Cuthbertson 3. Hamish Haynes
1999: 1. Mark Lovatt 2. Alistair Kay 3. Neil Swithenbank



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,