News: Laura Kenny awarded 2016 FT Bidlake Memorial Honour

Muliple Olympic champion Laura Kenny to be awarded prestigious 2016 FT Bidlake Memorial Prize which dates back to 1934

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: Laura Kenny awarded 2016 FT Bidlake Memorial Honour

The 2016 FT Bidlake Memorial Prize has been awarded to Laura Kenny in recognition of her achievements as Britain’s most successful Olympic female competitor in any sport.

“I’m thrilled to have been chosen to receive the Bidlake Memorial Prize,” she said. “To have my name added to the long list of so many respected and successful cyclists that have received the prize over the years is a real honour.”

The Bidlake Memorial Prize is one of the oldest and most prestigious awards in British cycle sport; past winners include Sir Bradley Wiggins, Mark Cavendish and Tom Simpson.

It was devised in memory of Frederick Thomas Bidlake, the man generally considered to be the father of time-trialling. It is awarded annually to the most outstanding performance or contribution to the betterment of cycling in all spheres.
… continued after advert


In 2016, Kenny, née Trott, won gold medals in the team pursuit and omnium at the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, a repeat of her achievements in London four years earlier. The victories made her Britain’s most successful Olympic female competitor. Last year, she also claimed world titles in the omnium and scratch race.

Capping an incredible last twelve months, the 24-year-old married fellow decorated Olympic track rider, Jason Kenny, in September. It was announced last week that the couple are expecting their first child.

She follows cycling broadcaster Phil Liggett as the recipient of the FT Bidlake Memorial Prize.

Former winners (Go to to learn more about them – well worth a read!)

1934. Hubert Opperman (Australia)
1936. Edward Southcott
1937. Syd Ferris.
1938. Frank Urry
1939. Marguerite Wilson.
1940. There was no award.
1941. Arthur Gillott.
In 1942 there was no award.
1943. George Herbert Stancer.
1944. Frank Patterson.
1945. There was no award.
1946. Albert Derbyshire.
1947. When Reg Harris
1948. Gordon Basham of the Wessex RC
1949. Reg Harris was the first person to be given two Bidlake awards.
1950. Eileen Sheridan was the great star of post-war women’s cycling,
1951. Ken Joy
1952. Keith Bentley:
1953. John Arnold.
1954. Cyril Peacock
1955. Norman Sheil.
1956. Ray Booty.
1957. Albert Crimes
1958. Reginald C. Shaw
1959. Beryl Burton
1960. Beryl Burton’s
1961. Eileen Gray
1962. Frank Colden
1963. Leslie C. Carter
1964. Alex Moulton
1965. Tom Simpson
1966. Arthur Metcalfe
1967. Beryl Burton
1968. Hugh Porter
1969. Roy Cromack
1970. Benny Foster
1971. Les West.
1972. Eric Tremaine
1973. William H.Townsend
1974. There was no award.
1975. Phil Griffiths
1976. Ron White
1977. Arthur Campbell
1978. Leslie C.Warner
1979. Paul Carbutt
1980. Tony Doyle
1981. Ian Cammish.
1982. Mandy Jones
1983. Alan Rushton
1984. There was no award.
1985. John Woodburn.
1986. Jeremy Isaacs
1987. There was no award.
1988. Ivy Thorp,
1989. Colin Sturgess
1990. Pete Longbottom
1991. Glenn Longland
1992. Chris Boardman.
1993. Graeme Obree.
1994. Sean Yates
1995. Ron Kitching
1996. Andy Wilkinson
1997. Johnny Helms
1998. David Duffield
1999. Kevin Dawson
2000. Yvonne McGregor
2001. Nicole Cooke.
2002. Keith Butler
2003. There was no award.
2004. Ron Webb (Australian)
2005. Michael Hutchinson
2006. Gethin Butler
2007. Peter King
2008. Dave Brailsford
2009. Julia Shaw
2010. Philip Heaton’s
2011. Mark Cavendish
2012. Bradley Wiggins
2013. Dot Tilbury
2014. Matthew Bottrill
2015 Phil Liggett M.B.E.



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK