Report: Clayton Velo Spring Classic

In one of the most exciting editions ever, the race came together with a mile to go and in the group sprint Jacob Hennessy beat Dillion Byrne and Michael Cuming to the line

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Clayton Velo Spring Classic

In one of the most exciting editions ever, after a long and very strong solo effort by David Allonby, the race came together with a mile to go and in the group sprint Jacob Hennessy beat Dillion Byrne and Michael Cuming to the line.

The race began with three groups of riders starting at various intervals … below is a video of a ‘walk through’ of the start area showing who was on the start in the various groups …

One by the groups started – here’s a video (below) of the first group away …

The front group soon split and a small selection which looked like a veterans dominated group and they held the lead for most of the race leading the scratch group a merry dance

In the scratch group, as per the interviews, it wasn’t all good so Dillion Byrne started a move off the front with a Canyon rider … (Matt Nowell(?)

The peloton in chase mode led by Raleigh GAC rider Fraser Martin and  Mike Cuming.

Not far behind the leaders was a two up led by Tom Barras

David Allonby, rider of the day, started in the second group but crossed to the leaders and went solo for a lot of laps picking up quite a few primes! He’s a 17 minute 10 rider so no surprise he was strong enough in the windy conditions to go close to winning, only caught on the final lap.

Bell Lap – a selection including Mike Cuming (left of pic) behind the solo leader Allonby. Group is led by Fraser Martin of Raleigh GAC and a new name to keep an eye on after a strong ride, David Bolland

Only seconds behind the first chase group is this group led by 100% ME

The two groups only seconds part

The sprint for the victory led here by Dillion Byrne who went early but was pipped on the line by Hennessy

Video Interviews

Winner Jacob Hennessy talks about his race on the podium

Dillon Byrne (2nd)

Mike Cuming (3rd)

Richard Handley (Madison Genesis) – 5th (Pre race chat)

Fraser Martin (Raleigh GAC) – 6th


1 Jacob Hennessy 100% ME 02:24:57 Elite
2 Dillon Byrne VCUK VELOCHAMPION st 1st
3 Michael Cuming Neon-Velo Cycling Team st 2nd
4 Alex Luhrs Brother NRG Driverplan st Elite
5 Richard Handley Madison Genesis st 1st
6 Fraser Martin Raleigh GAC st Elite
7 David Bolland Neon-Velo Cycling Team st 1st
8 Richard Haughton Brother NRG Driverplan st Vet E
9 Angus Claxton 100% ME st 2nd
10 Simon Deplitch Team Chronomaster at 0:06 Vet 2
11 Adam Hartley 100% ME st 1st
12 Theo Hartley Identity Racing at 0:09 J/2
13 George Wharton Spokes Racing Team st 2nd
14 David Allonby Big Northern Setup st 2nd
15 Sean McGovern at 0:36 2nd
16 Cameron Jeffers Team Corley Cycles at 01:16 1st
17 Hamish Graham Green Jersey RT st 1st
18 Matthew Bostock 100% ME st Elite
19 Robert Smail Brother NRG Driverplan st 2nd
20 Alex Auty Team SB Hub at 04:31 1st
21 Tom Barras BC private member at 04:47 3rd
22 Ryan Coulton Wheelbase Altura MGD st 1st
23 Matthew Walls 100% ME st Elite
24 Steve Whittington ABC Centreville st Vet 3
25 Darran Acton VCUK VELOCHAMPION at 04:55 Vet 3
26 Aaron Tonks Hoppers Rollers at 07:32 2nd
27 Elliot Reed Identity Racing at 07:52 J/2
28 George Greenhalgh Identity Racing st J/2
29 Jake Womersley BIKE Channel Canyon at 08:02 1st
30 Nicholas Cooper DFL In-Gear Development st 2nd
31 Annasley Park Team Breeze st Elite
32 Karl Smith Bott Cycle Team st Vet 3
33 Benjamin Barlow Salt Ayre Cog Set at 09:51 J/2
34 Tom Roper Beacon Wheelers L J/1
35 Warren Gell Team Chronomaster L 3rd
36 Martin Woffindin Secret Training L 2nd
37 Wayne Greenhalgh VCUK VELOCHAMPION L Vet 3
38 David Parrington Ribble Valley CRC L 2nd
39 Megan Barker Team Breeze L 1st
40 Lucy Horrocks Speedflex Race Team L J/3
41 Rebecca Raybould Team Breeze L 1st
42 Abigail Dentus Team Breeze L 1st
43 Jack Smith Sportcity Velo L J/3
44 Sam Iddon Identity Racing L J/2

… continued after advert



Group 1 (Women and Vet Men Cat 2/3 )
1 Megan Baker L1 Team Breeze
2 Abigail Dentus L1 Team Breeze
3 Eleanor Dickinson LE Team Breeze
4 Manon Lloyd L1 Team Breeze
5 Melissa Lowther L1 Team Breeze
6 Emily Nelosn LE Team Breeze
7 Annasley Park LE Team Breeze
8 Rebecca Rayburn L1 Team Breeze
9 Lucy Horrocks L J/3 Speedflex RT
10 Sam Dobson V3 Team SB Hub
11 Richard Flynn V3 Team SB Hub
12 Craig Battersby V2 Team Chronomaster
13 Simon Deplitch V2 Team Chronomaster
14 Steve Whiiington V3 ABC Centerville
15 Darran Acton V3 VCUK Velochampion
16 Wayne Greenhalgh V3 VCUK Velochampion
17 Karl Smith V3 Team Bott

Gp 2 Cat 2/3/4/ J cat 1/2 At 4 mins
18 Martin Woffindin 2 Secret Training
19 David Allonby 2 Big Northern Setup
20 Stephen Dent J/1 Spokes RT
21 Ben Barlow J/2 Salt Ayre Cog Set
22 Tom Barras 3 Pivate member
23 Warren Gell 3 Team Cronomaster
24 George Grenhalgh J2 Identity Racing
25 Theo Hartley j2
26 Sam Iddon J2 Identity racing
27 Elliot Reed J2 Identity racing
28 Alex Ridhalgh J2 Spokes RT
29 Brian Rigby 2 VCUK Velochampion
30 Sean McGovern 2
31 Tom Roper J/1 Beacon Wheelers
32 George Nolan Team SB Hub

Scratch Group Pro / Elite team/ Cat 1 At 8 Min
33 Stephen Abbott E Hoppers Rollers
34 Chris Fallon 1 Kuota-Spinergy
35 Ryan Coulton 1 Wheelbase Altura
36 Alex Auty 1 Team SB Hub
37 Hammish Graham 1 Green Jersey RT
38 David Bolland 1 Neon-Velo
39 Michael Cumming 2 Neon-Velo
40 Matt Cronshaw 1 Madison Genesis
41 Richard Handley 1 Madison Genesis
42 Richard Houghton V/E Brother NRG
43 Alex Luhrs E Brother NRG
44 Robert Smail 2 Brother NRG
45 Jimmy Smith 1 VCUK Velochampion
46 Jake Cowan 1 VCUK Velochampion
47 Dillon Byrne 1 VCUK Velochampion
48 Jake Womersley 1 Bike Channel Canyon
49 Matt Nowell E Bike Channel Canyon
50 Fraser Martin E Raleigh Gac
51 Ryan Perry E Raleigh Gac
52 Adam Hartley 1 100% Me
53 Matthew Walls E 100% Me
54 Jacob Hennesey E 100% Me
55 Matthew Bostock E 100% Me
56 Angus Claxton 2 100% Me
57 Rob Scott E Team Wiggins
58 Andrew Disley E racing
59 Cameron Jeffers 1 Team Corley cycles
60 Alex Jones 1 Maxxis 4 racing team

69 Joe Auty 2 Team SB Hub
70 George Wharton J2 Spokes RT
71 Jack Smith J3 Sportcity Velo
72 James Clayden 2 Bill Nickson RT
73 Aaron Tonks V3 Hoppers Rollers
74 Dave Parrington 2 Ribble Valley CRC
75 Oliver Huszar 2 East Lancs RC
76 Nick Cooper 2 DFL In -Gear
77 Ben Trippier 2 East Lancs RC

Former Winners
2016 1. Tom Pidcock VCUK 2.Rob Scott VCUK 3.Ian Wilkinson Pedal Heaven
2015 1. Peter Williams One Pro 2.Sam Williams One Pro 3.Josh Hunt One Pro
2014: 1. Simon Wilson, 2. David McGowan 3. Richard Handley
2013: 1. Richard Handley 2. Ryan Mullen, 3. James Gullen
2012: 1. Richard Hepworth 2. David McGowan 3. Robert Hassan
2011: 1. Dean Downing, 1. Tom Murray (dead heat) 3. Tom Barras
2010: 1. Dan Craven 2. Peter Williams 3. Chris Newton
2009: 1. Rob Hayles 2. Rob Partridge 3. Mark McNally
2008: 1. Chris Newton 2. Dean Downing 3. Graham Briggs
2007: 1. Ian Stannard 2. Alex Dowsett 3. Mark McNally
2006: 1. Chris Newton 2. Kevin Dawson 3. Graham Briggs
2005: 1. Kevin Dawson 2. David McGowan, 3. Ian Wilkinson
2004: 1. Kevin Dawson 2. Jack Hill 3. Philip West
2003: 1. Gary Adamson 2. Kevin Dawson 3. Ian Wilkinson
2002: 1. Bill Nickson 2. Chris Burrows 3. Hamish Haynes
2001: Cancelled
2000: 1. Robin Sharman 2. Ian Cuthbertson 3. Hamish Haynes
1999: 1. Mark Lovatt 2. Alistair Kay 3. Neil Swithenbank



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,