News: Dwars Door West Flanders

Jos van Emden (LottoNL-Jumbo) won the Belgian semi-classic Dwars Door West Flanders on Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: Dwars Door West Flanders

Jos van Emden (LottoNL-Jumbo) won the Belgian semi-classic Dwars Door West Flanders on Sunday. After 203 kilometres, Van Emden out sprinted his breakaway companion Silvain Dillier in a two-up sprint.

“I did not want the group to come back, so I took off,” Van Emden said. “I had Dillier on my wheel and we worked well together until just before the finish. Then I started to play the game. Last Wednesday, I went for the win in Le Samyn, but had to accept defeat in the sprint. I thought, this isn’t going to happen here.”

The race started in harsh conditions. The rain blew sideways through the 5° air. Such harsh conditions helped whittle down the field. After several climbs, a group of about 40 riders formed. In the final, Van Emden and his teammate Castelijns managed to make it into a breakaway of eight riders. When a chasing group neared, Van Emden took control by attacking.
… continued after advert


“I did not want to lead out out the sprint because my first kick is not that fast, but when I stood on the pedals to sprint, I felt strength in my legs and overtook the normally faster Dillier,” he added. “It’s always nice to win this way. It helps if you’ve already ridden some finals as I did last Wednesday in Le Samyn. You learn from it. I am now nine years professional and it’s my third win in a classic. All the other victories, I achieved in time trials.”

Silvan Dillier (BMC): “I felt really strong today, and I really wanted to take my chance. I didn’t hold anything back, and I was able to go with every move in the end. Van Emden and I were riding well together, but in the end, I think I could have played more of the game going into the final sprint.”

“I was already feeling good at Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne so now it is all about keeping this shape through the Classics season, and I am feeling really motivated to do that and do my best for the team.”

1. Jos van Emden, Team LottoNL-Jumbo
2. Silvan Dillier, BMC Racing Team
3. Norman Lasse Hansen, Aqua Blue Sport
4. Jasper de Buyst, Lotto Souda
5. Guillaume van Keirsbulck, Wanty – Groupe Gobert
6. Jesper Asselman, Roompot – Nederlandse Loterij
7. Jens Debusschere, Lotto Soudal
8. Elmar Reinders, Roompot – Nederlandse Loterij
9. Twan Castelijns, Team LottoNL-Jumbo
10. Iljo Keisse Quick-Step Floors



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,