Report: Tour of the Mining Valleys

Second on the Saturday at Aintree, the 2016 Tour Series legend Jon Mould, sprinted to victory in the Tour of the Mining Valleys

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Tour of the Mining Valleys

Jon Mould of JLT Condor sprinted for the win at Ystwyth CC’s early season Tour of the Mining Valleys in Aberystwyth, Ceredigion on Sunday 5th March 2017. The rain kept away for most of the race, but early morning downpours teamed with wind and low temperatures made for a challenging morning on the hills inland of the town.

Mould finished ahead of Issac Mundy of PMR@Toachim House in second, Edward Roberts of Team Elite in third, George Fox of Team Bottrill – HSS Hire in fourth, Daniel Bigham of Brother NRG Driverplan in fifth and Mould’s teammate at JLT Condor, Ed Laverack, securing sixth place, after a breakaway group left the peloton on the second lap.
… continued after advert


The hilly profile of the 75-mile route, with three ascents of the New Cross climb followed by the sting in the tail, the 1 mile ascent of the climb from Pontrhydygroes to Devil’s Bridge, attracted a field of over 60 riders. Mould took the prime prize for the ascent of the ’49er from Pontrhydygroes to Devil’s Bridge, with Edward Roberts securing the first prime on the second lap climb to New Cross and Zach May of Metaltek Kuota taking the second prime on the final ascent of New Cross.

Race winner Mould had already secured second place to teammate Ed Clancy at Saturday’s Eddie Soens Memorial at Aintree.

Ystwyth CC would like to thank all riders and teams who made it to west Wales for the race, as well as Anthony Motors and all those who helped to make the race possible. Thanks are also due to the local supporters on the roadsides.


1 Jon Mould JLT Condor 3hrs 06min
2 Issac Mundy PMR@Toachim House ” ”
3 Edward Roberts Team Elite ” ”
4 George Fox Team Bottrill HSS Hire ” ”
5 Daniel Bigham Brother NRG Driverplan ” ”
6 Ed Laverack JLT Condor + 1min 50sec
7 Oliver Hayward Rhino Velo RT ” ”
8 Liam Holohan Metaltek Kuota ” ”
9 Zach May Metaltek Kuota ” ”
10 Andrew Williams Cwmcarn Paragon CC ” ”
11 Jordan Peacock Wellingborough Cycles RT ” ”
12 Kirk Vickers Rhino Velo RT + 4min 26sec
13 Jacob Tipper Brother NRG Driverplan ” ”
14 Jonathan Fowles Team Chronomaster ” ”
15 Jake Hollins Bath CC ” ”
16 William Roberts County Cycles RT + 5min 50sec
17 Ian Taylor Leicester Forest CC ” ”
18 Daniel Nieto TBW Bottechia Wigmore RT ” ”
19 Oliver Bates Wellingborough Cycles RT + 8min 10sec
20 Daniel Pullen Sunsport Velo + 8min 40sec
21 James Wilkinson Goma Dakwerken vdb Steenhouwerij ” ”
22 P Dable Team Bottrill HSS Hire ” ”
23 Dexter Hurlock Kibosh ” ”
24 Neil Phillips Kibosh + 11min 13sec
25 Edward Evans Jackpot Racing + 11min 30sec
26 Jamie Fletcher Team Elite + 12min 05sec
27 Angus Fisk Oxford University CC + 12min 23sec
28 [no number] + 12min 45sec
29 [no number] ” ”
30 Joshua Rochester Greet Kibosh ” ”
31 Robert Rogers Birkenhead North End CC ” ”
32 [no number] + 16min 50sec
33 Daniel Maclean Howell AIA DMT Cipollini UK + 24min
34 Daniel Minor Lyme RC + 26min 40sec
35 Michael Cripps Banjo Cycles + 28min 02sec
35 Ben Lockett Saints ” ”
37 Huw Owen Energy Cycles Junior Road Team ” ”
38 Ryan Watkins Cardiff Ajax CC + 28min 29sec



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK