Tirreno-Adriatico: Win for Geraint Thomas

Big win on stage 2 of Tirreno-Adriatico in Pomarance for Geraint Thomas will a late solo attack

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tirreno-Adriatico: Win for Geraint Thomas

Team Sky Press Release

Geraint Thomas (team Sky)  sealed a superb late breakaway victory to win stage two of Tirreno-Adriatico in Pomarance.

Thomas broke free of a group containing Nairo Quintana (Movistar), Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors) and Damiano Caruso (BMC Racing) with just over one kilometre to go and was able to hold off the chasing pack to record his first win of 2017. An earlier breakaway of six riders had threatened to take the stage away from the GC contenders, but strong work from Team Sky, in particular a bandaged Gianni Moscon, on the front of the peloton brought the race together with 27km to go.

Vasil Kiryienka then played a vital role, stringing out the bunch ahead of the final ascent with an impressive turn at the head of the peloton which allowed Thomas, Salvatore Puccio, Michal Kwiatkowski and Diego Rosa to make their way to the front of an elite group. Thomas then attacked again to create a smaller break of four, which he left behind with 1.6km to go to round off a superb team performance.
… continued after advert


After the disappointment of the opening stage’s team time trial, Thomas was delighted with the team’s response. He said: “Obviously it wasn’t a good day yesterday but I was feeling good today and we just wanted to attack the stage. We know every day we have the chance to win stages now so we thought let’s just race each day full gas. Thanks to Kwiato, he gave me a bit of freedom at the end and said to have a go if I was feeling good.”

Stage 2
1. Geraint Thomas, Team Sky
2. Tom Dumoulin, Team Sunweb 0:09
3. Peter Sagan, Bora – Hansgrohe
4. Greg Van Avermaet, BMC Racing Team
5. Francesco Gavazzi, Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec
6. Michal Kwiatkowski, Team Sky
7. Adam Yates, ORICA-Scott
8. Rohan Dennis, BMC Racing Team
9. Nairo Quintana, Movistar Team
10. Simon Clarke, Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team

73. Scott Thwaites, Dimension Data
74. Stephen Cummings, Dimension Data
140. Mark Cavendish, Dimension Data 12:42
141. Alex Dowsett, Movistar Team
142. Ryan Mullen, Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team

1. Greg Van Avermaet, BMC Racing Team1
2. Rohan Dennis, BMC Racing Team
3. Tejay van Garderen, BMC Racing Team
4. Damiano Caruso, BMC Racing Team
5. Niki Terpstra, Quick-Step Floors 0:16
6. Bob Jungels, Quick-Step Floor ,,
7. Nairo Quintana, Movistar Team 0:21
8. Daniel Moreno, Movistar Team
9. Sebastien Reichenbach , FDJ
10. Jonathan Castroviejo, Movistar Team

13. Adam Yates, ORICA-Scott 0:24



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK