Result: Wally Gimber Road Race

Edward Clemens wins his second early season classic with victory in the Wally Gimber Road Race on Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Wally Gimber Road Race
(thanks Beth)

The 58th Wally Gimber Trophy 2017

Run on a new circuit this year, the 58th edition of the Dulwich Paragon’s Wally Gimber Trophy saw fast and combative racing resulting in a lone break away win by Edward Clemens of Spirit Tifosi Racing Team, his second of the season.

There were constant attacks over the 7 lap hilly circuit, with Clemens making an early statement of intent with a first solo break. Small breaks driven by Team Wiggins, ONEPro Cycling, Richardsons-Trek RT and BIKE Channel Canyon all came back until the penultimate lap when the definitive break stuck with an active group of 16 riders gaining a minute on the peloton.

Clemens joined the break bridging from a chase group of 6 and launched the winning move with Dillon Byrne (VCUK VELOCHAMPION Racing Team). With 20 minutes to go, Clemens went alone to win, with Byrne in second and Rhys Howells (Team Wiggins) taking third place to round off the podium. The team plan according to Clemens was “to make sure we were in everything, with only 4 riders per team you’re not going to be able to chase much down, so if a move went we needed a rider in that move”.

Matt Winston, Head Sports Director ONEPro Cycling – “The Wally Gimber trophy is a long standing and prestigious event steeped in history. The 2017 race was a perfect environment for the team to prepare for the upcoming elite road series on a challenge course with a quality field. As a team we were pleased that we achieved the outcomes that we set pre-race and will take this forward into our next event. Thank you to the Dulwich Paragon on a quality event that was supported so well by many of their club members.”

The Wally Gimber, currently a National B race, but with aspirations to regain National A status, was established in 1960, making it one of the UK’s oldest, continuously run road races. Run by enthusiastic volunteers from South London’s Dulwich Paragon Cycling Club, the peerless back-up from British Cycling’s South East Region, who provided Accredited Marshals, was crucial in delivering a safe, but highly competitive event. “Support from the racing community was stronger than ever this year, with two applications for every space.” Race Director Patrick Hawkins says.

… continued after advert


1 Edward Clemens Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
2 Dillon Byrne VCUK VELOCHAMPION Racing Team
3 Rhys Howells Team Wiggins
4 Dexter Gardias BIKE Channel Canyon
5 Ashley Cox Nopinz
6 Joshua Hunt One Pro Cycling
7 Joshua Outram Richardsons-Trek RT
8 George Fowler Catford CC Equipe/Banks
9 Will Fox Catford CC Equipe/Banks
10 Etienne Georgi Team Wiggins
11 Matt Nowles BIKE Channel Canyon
12 Thomas Baylis One Pro Cycling
13 George Harper One Pro Cycling
14 Luke Ryan Richardsons-Trek RT
15 Douglas Coleman Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
16 Rob Scott Team Wiggins
17 Alexandar Richardson BIKE Channel Canyon
18 Max Stedman BIKE Channel Canyon
19 Dylan Thomas VC Meudon
20 Samuel Williams One Pro Cycling
21 Ken Buckley Spokes BPC Racing
22 Jake Hales Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
23 Evan Oliphant Wheelbase Altura MGD
24 Matthew Clarke Canyon UK
25 Lloyd Chapman Catford CC Equipe/Banks
26 Tom Neale Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
27 William Bjergfelt Neon-Velo Cycling Team
28 Daniel Nieto TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT
29 Andy Betts Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT
30 Tom Chandler Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
31 Oliver W Bates Wellingborough Cycles Race Team
32 James Rix Loughborough Students CC
33 Joe Evans Madison Genesis
34 Jez McCann Richardsons-Trek RT
35 Matthew Exley Flamme Rouge Cycling Team
36 Robert Ormond Morvelo Basso RT
37 Andrew Critchlow WyndyMilla
38 Simon McNamara Southdowns Bikes – Casco PET
39 Richard Whitehorn Dulwich Paragon CC
40 Vojtech Blazejovsky PMR@Toachim House
41 Thomas Bowering PMR@Toachim House
42 Oliver Maxwell Richardsons-Trek RT
43 David Murrell London Phoenix CC
44 Oliver Cliff TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT
45 Wayne Beba Adalta Race Team
46 Henry Latimer Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT
47 Freddie Philips Hosté TAAP Storck
48 Jonathan Gales Dulwich Paragon CC
49 Robert Orr Brother NRG Driverplan
50 Harry Veale
51 Dominic Schils Velo Schils – Interbike RT
52 Barnabas Purbrook Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT
53 Ian Bray Addiscombe CC



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK