News: Klondike Grand Prix

Great line up for the first Prem of 2017, the Klondike Grand Prix in the North East – tough race expected on April 2nd

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: Klondike Grand Prix

This Sunday sees the first major race of the 2017 season, the East Cleveland  Klondike Grand Prix in the North East, event one of the prems for this season and organised by Velo29.

The race is expected to be held on a tough course and being a new event, all the teams will be finding their feet on the course as well as in their first major British event of the year. Sponsored by ‘Big Local’, a lottery funded scheme aimed at bringing a positive feeling to aid tourism to the area of East Cleveland, the route says Richard is quite a contrast to the  Stockton GP which provided one of the most exciting races of the season in 2017 for the British Road race championship.

“There are no mountains but it is a course for a punchy climber, someone who can get over a 200m 20% climb quickly but keep it going in a cross wind to make the break stick” he explained.

It’s a blend of coastal, rural and suburban backdrops. It’s an event with good commercial backing for a number of years and one we hope could become a classic opener to the Spring Cup” added Richard. So far, there haven’t been any races where the major teams have all competed against each other and for many riders, they will have few races in their legs making such an event all the tougher.

To spice it up, these races carry selection points for the Tour of Britain where, unlike the Tour of Yorkshire where all the British conti teams have been given a chance to compete against world tour teams. It will be a tough battle on these roads!


First, the riders will have the run out from Guisborough to the big circuit (click the map for a bigger version)

Secondly, the riders will do a smaller loop before a run in to the finish where there’ll either be a solo victor or a sprint for the win. (click the map for a bigger version)

08:00 Team area access opens (if parking required Saturday please contact)
09:00 Sign on opens in Sports Centre
10:00 Drivers briefing Police/ NEG/ Officials Drivers (excluding Team Managers)
10:30 Team managers meeting and convoy draw
11:00 Sign on closes
11:00 Any reserves to be present at Sign on desk
11:30 Race convoy assembly in HQ Car Park
11:45 Race assembly on line
12:00 Race start
16:00 Race finish

Provisional Rider List
1 Ryan Ashcroft 365 4 Bikes Academy
2 Morgan Hughes 365 4 Bikes Academy
3 Tim James 365 4 Bikes Academy
4 Alex Littlewood 365 4 Bikes Academy
5 Oliver Peckover 365 4 Bikes Academy

6 Finley Shaw Acre Racing Team

7 Chris Opie BIKE Channel Canyon

8 Daniel Bigham Brother NRG Driverplan
9 William Brown Brother NRG Driverplan
10 Richard Jones Brother NRG Driverplan
11 Jack Rees Brother NRG Driverplan
12 Steven Roach Brother NRG Driverplan
13 Charlie Tanfield Brother NRG Driverplan
14 Jacob Tipper Brother NRG Driverplan

15 Matthew Clarke Canyon UK

16 Lawrence Carpenter Catford CC Equipe/Banks
17 Matthew Clements Catford CC Equipe/Banks
18 Alex Dalton Catford CC Equipe/Banks
19 Callum Ferguson Catford CC Equipe/Banks
20 George Fowler Catford CC Equipe/Banks
21 Will Fox Catford CC Equipe/Banks
22 James Jobber Catford CC Equipe/Banks
23 Matthew Webster Catford CC Equipe/Banks

24 Declan Hudson Clay Cross Road Team
25 Ethan Lee Clay Cross Road Team
26 Fergus Robinson Clay Cross Road Team
27 Liam Bromiley Cycling Sheffield Giant Sheffield
28 Joseph Clark Cycling Sheffield Giant Sheffield
29 Timothy Home Cycling Sheffield Giant Sheffield
30 Charlie Renshaw Cycling Sheffield Giant Sheffield

32 Jake Tanner Cycling Sheffield Giant Sheffield

33 Stuart Neilson Fietsen Tempo
34 Karl Baillie Giant Store Rutland / Wattbike

35 Josh Housley GodfreyBikewear-VisionExpress RT
36 David Ogg GodfreyBikewear-VisionExpress RT
37 George Sewell GodfreyBikewear-VisionExpress RT
38 Sam Smith GodfreyBikewear-VisionExpress RT
39 Pierre Vernie GodfreyBikewear-VisionExpress RT
40 Conor Williams GodfreyBikewear-VisionExpress RT

41 Jack Stanton-Warren Halesowen A & CC
42 Jack Barrett Hennebont Cyclisme

43 Ed Laverack JLT Condor
44 Edward Clancy OBE JLT Condor
45 Matt Gibson  JLT Condor
46 Steve Lampier JLT Condor
47 Robert McCarthy JLT Condor
48 Ian Bibby JLT Condor
49 Jonathan Mould JLT Condor
50 Alistair Slater JLT Condor

51 Kinsey McIlquham KTM Impsport RT

52 Taylor Gunman Madison Genesis
53 Richard Handley Madison Genesis
54 Matthew Holmes Madison Genesis
55 Tobyn Horton Madison Genesis
56 Gruffudd Lewis Madison Genesis
57 Matt Cronshaw Madison Genesis
58 Erick Rowsell Madison Genesis
59 Joe Evans Madison Genesis

60 Joe Harris Maxxis 4 Racing Team
61 Dan Fleeman Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
62 Liam Holohan Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
63 Steven Lawley Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
64 Rhys Lloyd Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
65 Zachery May Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
66 Tom Mazzone Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
67 Tom Neale Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
68 George Pym Metaltek Kuota Racing Team

69 Matthew Kipling MTS-Rapid Engineering NE
70 Chris Sleath MTS-Rapid Engineering NE
71 William Bjergfelt Neon-Velo Cycling Team
72 David Bolland Neon-Velo Cycling Team
73 Michael Cuming Neon-Velo Cycling Team
74 Elliott Porter Neon-Velo Cycling Team
75 Tom Yiangou Neon-Velo Cycling Team

76 Karol Domagalski One Pro Cycling
77 George Harper One Pro Cycling
78 Kristian House One Pro Cycling
79 Joshua Hunt One Pro Cycling
80 Hayden McCormick One Pro Cycling
81 James Oram One Pro Cycling
82 Thomas Stewart One Pro Cycling
83 Peter Williams One Pro Cycling

84 Stephen Collins Pedal Power RT

85 Adam Kenway Raleigh GAC
86 Grant Martin Raleigh GAC
87 Fraser Martin Raleigh GAC
88 Adrià Moreno Sala Raleigh GAC
89 Ryan Perry Raleigh GAC
90 Tristan Robbins Raleigh GAC
91 Yoeri Havik Raleigh GAC
92 Enrique Sanz Raleigh GAC

93 Simon Alexander Richardsons-Trek RT
94 Kieran Brady Richardsons-Trek RT
95 Samuel Henning Richardsons-Trek RT
96 Frank Longstaff Richardsons-Trek RT
97 Oliver Maxwell Richardsons-Trek RT
98 Joshua Outram Richardsons-Trek RT
99 Luke Ryan Richardsons-Trek RT
100 George Wood Richardsons-Trek RT

101 Jake Alderman Saint Piran
102 Alex Fanshawe Saint Piran
103 Duncan Heywood Saint Piran
104 Ben Lockett Saint Piran

105 Oliver Barbieri Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
106 Marcus Burnett Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
107 Douglas Coleman Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
108 Christopher Dredge Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
109 Charlie Passfield Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
110 Thomas Scott-Collins Spirit Tifosi Racing Team

111 Max McMurdo SSLL Racing Team
114 James McKay TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT
115 Daniel Nieto TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT
116 Edward Roberts Team Elite

117 Peter Barusevicus Team KTM
118 Eugene Cross Team KTM
119 Andrew Disley Team KTM
120 Alex Harvey Team KTM
121 Fraser Rounds Team KTM
122 Julian Varley Team KTM

123 Ashley Dennis Team Wiggins
124 Etienne Georgi Team Wiggins
125 Samuel Harrison Team Wiggins
126 Rhys Howells Team Wiggins
127 Dylan Kerfoot-Robson Team Wiggins
128 Christopher Latham Team Wiggins
129 Michael Thompson Team Wiggins

130 David Clarke Velo Schils – Interbike RT
131 Bradley Stokes Velo Schils – Interbike RT
132 Jordan Doig Wheelbase Altura MGD
133 Joel Lewis Wheelbase Altura MGD
134 David Lines Wheelbase Altura MGD
135 Levi Moody Wheelbase Altura MGD
136 Alfie Moses Wheelbase Altura MGD
137 Evan Oliphant Wheelbase Altura MGD
138 Alex Orrell-Turner Wheelbase Altura MGD
139 Ben Rowe Wheelbase Altura MGD

140 Ross Clark
141 Aidan Quinn

Dexter Gardias BIKE Channel Canyon
James Lowsley-Williams BIKE Channel Canyon
Rob Partridge BIKE Channel Canyon
Jack Pullar BIKE Channel Canyon
Max Stedman BIKE Channel Canyon
Harry Tanfield BIKE Channel Canyon




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK