Report: Sam Walton Trophy

Break escapes in Sam Walton Trophy before  Jake Tanner beats Fraser Martin of Raleigh GAC in the sprint for the win.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Sam Walton Trophy
thanks to Paul Lamb, Team Manager, Team KTM (photos here)

The race rolled out of the beautiful Northumberland village of Whalton in glorious sunshine. The course switched from the parcour used for the last running of the event in 2014 to eight laps of the fast rolling Whalton/Ogle/Kirkley/Shillvington 11-mile circuit.

The first laps was marred by several early punctures and despite a long chase back to the bunch, Team Raleigh’GAC’s Ryan Perry, along with Cycling Sheffield Giant Sheffield duo Liam Bromiley and Timothy Hore’s chances of a high finish were gone.

By the time Perry had rejoined the race, the winning break was already established, including Fraser Rounds (Team KTM), Charlie Tanfield (Brother NRG), Fraser Martin (Raleigh GAC), Dillon Byrne (VCUK Velochampion), Jake Tanner (Cycling Sheffield Giant), Freddie Jagger (Cycleways SG Petch), and Ben Harrison and James Falconer (Prima Team Racing).

A twenty second lead on lap three soon increased to over a minute by lap five over a chasing group with the main peloton a further minute behind headed by a very active Harry Tanfield (Bike Channel Canyon).

Chasing the break hard was a group of eight riders representing Catford CC/Banks, Metaltek Kuota, Raleigh GAC and a trio from Brother NRG Driverplan. However, such was the determination of the of the lead group, driven by Rounds, Tanfield and Martin, the catch never materialised, and the gap increased to two minutes.

The final laps saw a number of attacks from the leading group, reducing it to the strongest six, who came into the last kilometre together to contest the sprint. The spring began in earnest from abut 300m out on the slightly uphill finish, and was won by Tanner, perhaps the freshest rider from the break by two bike lengths from Fraser Martin and Dillon Byrne, with Tanfield, Jagger and Rounds just behind.

The second group was brought home by Alex Luhrs, (Brother NRG Driverplan) and Andy Brown (Metaltek Kuota) two minutes later, with the remnants of the peloton a further minute back.

Provisional result:

1. Jake Tanner, Cycling Sheffield
2. Fraser Martin, Raleigh GAC
3.Dillon Byrne,
4.Charlie Tanfield, Brother NRG Driverplan
5.Freddie Jagger  (Cycleways SG Petch),
6.Fraser Rounds(Team KTM),
7.Alex Luhrs (Brother NRG Driverplan)
8. Andy Brown (Metaltek-Kuota)
9. Will Brown
10. William Corbett
11. Liam Bromley
12. Edwards Roberts
13. James Moss
14. James Jobber
15. Janmes Falconar
16. Matthew Kipling
17. Jack Rees
18. Joseph Clark
19. Alex Dalton
20. Keith Greenwood





Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,