Report/Results: Chelmer Road Races

Martin Smith and Ryan Allen were the winners of the Chelmer CC Road Races based at Roxwell near Chelmsford.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Results: Chelmer Road Races

Roxwell near Chelmsford, Essex, April 2nd | from Fergus Muir

Martin Smith and Ryan Allen were the winners of the Chelmer CC Road Races based at Roxwell near Chelmsford. There were 73 and 43 mile races running simultaneously on the 15 mile Roxwell-Leaden Roding-Birds Green circuit that uses, in reverse, some of the route of the 2014 Tour De France.

A bright morning was good for spectators but with little in the way of hills and only a drift of wind, breakaways were hard to sustain and both races were largely intact as they approached the finish. In the 73 mile Regional A race Ross Fawcett and two others made the only substantial break.

At the line Martin (London Phoenix) won (photo above)  from Paul Saunders (API) at the head of a thirty-rider charge. In the 43 mile Challenge race there was a crash as the bunch passed a stationary car with just over a mile to go . At the line Ryan Allen (University of Nottingham) outsprinted Peter Harding (Chelmer CC) (picture below) with a group of six two seconds behind and the rest straggling in.

CHELMER CC REGIONAL A ROAD RACE 73 miles, Roxwell, Essex
1 Martin Smith (London Phoenix CC)
2 Paul Saunders (API-Metrow)
3 Benedict Thompson (CC London)
4 Dale Johnston (VC Norwich)
5 Jamie Hazelton (Colchester Rovers)
6 Vincent Christan (East London Velo)
7 Tom Elwood (CC London)
8 Josh Rock (Finchley RT)
9 Isaac Mundy (PMR @ Toachim House)
10 Michael Bell (Fast Test RT)
11 Daniel Shanney (Redbridge CC)
12 Paul Spiceley (Glendene CC)
13 Jack Burgin (St Ives CC)
14 Benjamin Beynon(Strada-Sport)
15 Charlie Wright (VC Norwich)
16 Daniel Drewery (Fast Test RT)
17 Tim Mason (Eagle RC)
18 Liam Gentry (VC Baracchi)
19 Josh Aiken (Pedal Power Ipswich)
20 Lubomir Belak (St Ives CC)

1 Ryan Allen (University of Nottingham)
2 Peter Harding (Chelmer CC)
3 Andrew Moore (Rapha CC)
4 Chris Dear (Colchester Rovers)
5 David Harding (Chelmer CC)
6 Simon Mitchell (The Cycle Room)
7 James Farren (Maldon & District)
8 Daniel Inniss (ELV)
9 Lee Woodcock (HKR)

… continued after advert





Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,