Report: Chorley GP 2017

Ian Bibby won his second Chorley Grand Prix after an outstanding performance, going solo with 20 mile to go and winning by over two minutes

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Chorley GP 2017

Startsheet here  on VeloUK


On a brutally cold and windy day in Lancashire, Ian Bibby won his second Chorley Grand Prix to keep the tradition of solo winners going, crossing the line over two minutes ahead of the four up sprint for second won by Kamil Gradek who beat Ed Laverack, Dexter Gardias and Richard Handley (Madison Genesis) to the finish.

It didn’t take long for a break to go before they had reached the climb for the first time and soon ten riders were clear: Tom Moses, Rory Townsend, Joe Evans (Madison Genesis),Kamil Gradek, Tristan Robbins (Raleigh GAC), George Fowler, Alex Luhrs (Brother NRG), Tom Neale (Metaltek Kuota), Marc Potts and George Wood.

First to the top of the Rivington climb on lap 1 was Rory Townsend who made the King of the mountains competition his own during the race.

Third time up the Rivington KOM saw the break lose six of the riders as Rory Townsend, Tom Moses, Kamil Gradek and Tristan Robbins led the race as the rest (below) were caught by a small chase group.

Behind the break on lap 3 and the peloton were split all over the climb of Rivington but there was a regrouping for many of the riders as they descended the climb.

And then there was three  – Lap 4 and Tristan Robbins lost contact with the leaders on the climb as Matt Holmes (Madison Genesis) crossed solo to the front.

Video of the race splitting on the climb

Above: Matt Holmes of Madison Genesis crossing to the break on lap 4

The leading goup with a lap to go after first Steve Lampier and Dan Fleeman (Metaltek Kuota)  joined the quartet at the front of the race (Townsend, Holmes, Moses and Gradek.

They weren’t the last to get across either as Ed Laverack (leading above), Dexter Gardias and Charlie Tanfield (Brother NRG Driverplan) managed to make the junction but the gap was only 30 seconds on a very strong chase group including Ian Bibby.

Above: A lap to go and Ian Bibby’s group are closing in on the leaders.

Last time up Rivington and Bibby made his move and led Richard Handley (Madison Genesis) and an ever shrinking chase group which split and in the end, just four riders were left chasing Bibby who won alone by over two minutes before Kamil Gradek won the sprint for second ahead of Edward Laverack and Dexter Gardias. Matt Holmes was fifth.

Ian Bibby wins his second Chorley GP

Gradek wins the sprint for second ahead of Laverack and Gardias

Rory Townsend is first Under 23 in 6th place

Enrique Sanz of Raleigh GAC is 11th and keeps his lead in the series

Richard Handley of Madison Genesis, 5th

Tristan Robbins of Raleigh GAC is the Sprints winner in the race 

Post race interviews

Ian Bibby – winner

Rory Townsend – KoM Winner

Tristan Robbins (Raleigh GAC) Winner of the Sprints Comp

5th Placed Richard Handley (Madison Genesis)

Mike Northey (Madison Genesis DS) on the teams performance

Enrique Sanz (Raleigh GAC)

1 Ian Bibby JLT Condor
2 Kamil Gradek One Pro Cycling
3 Edward Laverack JLT Condor
4 Dexter Gardias BIKE Channel Canyon
5 Richard Handley Madison Genesis
6 Rory Townsend (u23) BIKE Channel Canyon
7 Robert Partridge BIKE Channel Canyon
8 Jonathan Mould JLT Condor
9 Connor Swift (u23) Madison Genesis
10 Joshua Outram (u23) Richardsons-Trek RT
11 Enrique Sanz Raleigh GAC
12 Charlie Tanfield (u23) Brother NRG Driverplan
13 Etienne Georgi (u23) Team Wiggins
14 Liam Holohan Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
15 Max Stedman (u23) BIKE Channel Canyon
16 Matthew Nowell (u23) BIKE Channel Canyon
17 George Pym Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
18 Thomas Stewart One Pro Cycling
19 Dan Fleeman Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
20 Adrià Moreno Sala Raleigh GAC
21 Adam Kenway Raleigh GAC
22 Oliver Maxwell (u23) Richardsons-Trek RT
23 Zachery May (u23) Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
24 Michael Cuming Neon-Velo Cycling Team
25 Joseph Clark Cycling Sheffield Giant Sheffie
26 Ryan Perry Raleigh GAC
27 James Lowsley-Williams BIKE Channel Canyon
28 Julian Varley (u23) Team KTM
29 Joshua Hunt One Pro Cycling
30 Jack Pullar BIKE Channel Canyon
31 Peter Williams One Pro Cycling
32 James Gullen JLT Condor
33 Thomas Moses JLT Condor
34 Alex Orrell-Turner (u23) Wheelbase Altura MGD
35 Christopher Dredge Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
36 Jeremy Durrin Neon-Velo Cycling Team
37 Elliott Porter Neon-Velo Cycling Team
38 Fraser Rounds Team KTM
39 Liam Bromiley Cycling Sheffield Giant Sheffie
40 Rhys Lloyd Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
41 William Harper One Pro Cycling
42 Evan Oliphant Wheelbase Altura MGD
43 Kieran Savage (u23) Team B38 / Underpin Racing
44 Peter Barusevicus Team KTM
45 Luke Ryan Richardsons-Trek RT
46 Douglas Coleman Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
47 Tristan Robbins (u23) Raleigh GAC
48 Kristian House One Pro Cycling
49 Fraser Martin (u23) Raleigh GAC
50 Andrew Nichols Team B38 / Underpin Racing

… continued after advert





Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,