Result: Fakenham Circuit Races (Norfolk)

Mike Padfield, Buauna Ball and Sian Botteley winners at the Fakenham Circuit Races (Norfolk) on Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Fakenham Circuit Races (Norfolk)
Thanks Ken Jolliffe – Norfolk Cycle Race Judging  (A not for profit group help raise the standard of race judging)

Report & pics by Fergus Muir

Buauna Ball (Catford CC/Banks) scored a lone win in the E/1/2/3 Cat race after breaking away from leading group at about half distance. Thirty-five seconds after Ball crossed the line, Dougal Toms (Pedal Power Ipswich) won the sprint for second, the Norwich sixth-former being followed by Charlie Wright (VC Norwich) and Liam Davies (Catford CC/Banks).

First to attack on a drizzly afternoon was Matthew Webster of the Catford, who had earlier in the day taken sixth place in the Simon Hook Road Race in Essex. However a group of eleven soon established a lead of between 30 and 60 seconds with George Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers), Dougal Toms and four Catford riders especially active. Considering the wet Tarmac and cobbles, crashes were remarkably few and although Liam Manser (Pedal Power, Ipswich) came down at the Oak Street hairpin he got back on again quickly enough to take eleventh place. This was still in front of the foursome that had chased all race and was eventually led in by Great Yarmouth rider Harley Matthews (Dap CC)

In the Womens race Sian Botteley (Team On Form) won alone, 57 seconds ahead of teammates Holly Hoy and Jess Woodworths and Sarah Walker of EDCO Continental. These were the survivors of a leading break of six from which Botteley escaped alone with 20 minutes to go. The race for fourth category riders provided an interesting introduction to road racing for a full field of 44 riders who coped well with the wet roads and varied corners.

Graham Denny of the promoting East Coast Riders club made an early attack but soon two riders took command – John O’Neill also of East Coast Riders and Gavin Barron of Iceni Velo. These seemed set to settle the win between them until Mike Padfield of North Norfolk Wheelers emerged from a chasing group and gradually bridged to the leaders. He made it with three laps to go. On the penultimate lap O’Neill overcooked it turning into Norwich Street and at the line Padfield won by a few yards from Barron with O’Neill third.

Sunday, 16th April

1 Buauna Ball Catford CC
2 Dougal Toms Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
3 Charlie Wright VC Norwich
4 Liam Davies Catford CC Equipe/Banks
5 Peter Banham DMW – BRIDGTOWN
6 Matthew Webster Catford CC Equipe/Banks
7 George Thompson Sleaford Whls CC
8 Benjamin Beynon Strada-Sport
9 Laurence Kirby Catford CC Equipe/Banks
10 Gareth Turner Latchem Sunwise Race Team
11 Liam Manser Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
12 Harley Matthews DAP Cycling Club
13 Kieran Jarvis Strada-Sport
14 Finley Shaw Acre Racing Team
15 Matthew Ellis Steve Poole Plant Hire / Raleigh
16 Matthew Exley Flamme Rouge Cycling Team
17 Tobias Bartlett Acre Racing Team
18 Ross Tricker ViCiOUS VELO
19 David Earth Steve Poole Plant Hire / Raleigh
DNF Tom Rowson Velo Schils – Interbike RT
21 Gary Freeman Fast Test Racing Team
22 Jali Packer Strada-Sport
23 John Swindells Iceni Velo
24 Steve Konrad DAP Cycling Club
25 Ben Keeley VeloVelocity/Risbygate Solicitors
26 Stephen Grant Strada-Sport
27 Connor Rumbles East Coast Riders
28 Chris Thornton DAP Cycling Club
29 Ian Newby Diss & District CC
30 Edward Tricker Team LCUK

1 Sian Botteley Cycle Team OnForm
2 Holly Hoy Cycle Team OnForm
3 Jess Woodworths Team on Form
4 Sarah Walker EDCO Continental
5 Neve Upton Cycle Team OnForm
6 Holly McMahon WXC World Racing
7 Georgia Bullard Team Jordan
8 Katie Scotter Iceni Velo
9 Isla Rush Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
10 Gemma Melton Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
11 Catherine Pearce Iceni Velo
12 Katherine Kimber Velo Schils Interbike Race Team
13 Sarah Palmer UEA – Streetlife Cycles
14 Sophie Lankford Aprire Bicycles/HSS Hire
15 Nicola Soden Velo Schils – Interbike RT
16 Sandra Mackay Velo Schils – Interbike RT
17 Elanor Cadzow Kinetic Cycles / Welwyn Racing
18 Amy Johnson Velosport Cycling Club
19 Flo Thatcher Kings Lynn CC


Cat 4
1 Mike Padfield North Norfolk Wheelers CC
2 Gavin Barron Iceni Velo
3 John O’Neill North Norfolk Wheelers CC
4 Graham Denny East Coast Riders
5 Simon Light Kings Lynn CC
6 Rob Kitchen East Coast Riders
7 Peter Fuller VC Norwich
8 David Loynes DAP Cycling Club
9 Jonathan Adams VC Norwich
10 Lewis Good Team LCUK
11 Joseph Kaye West Suffolk Wheelers
12 Stephen Campbell West Suffolk Wheelers
13 Stuart French DAP Cycling Club
14 Robert Ross Ipswich Velo
15 Robert Anderson DAP Cycling Club
16 Andrew Davison Team LCUK
17 Simon Loombe Aylsham Road Club
18 Clive Bond DAP Cycling Club
19 Rory King Sleaford Whls CC
20 Matt Elworthy Velo-One Cycling Team
21 Jack Bacon Aylsham Road Club
22 Scott Williams West Suffolk Wheelers
23 Giles Prime West Suffolk Wheelers
24 Luke Rowell Bath Cycling Club
25 Myles Higby Loughborough Students CC
26 Peter Farrell East Coast Riders
27 Ben Johnson East Coast Riders
28 Justin Deegan Gorilla Firm Racing
29 Stefan Smith Royal Air Force CA
30 James Fletcher Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
31 Alastair Harrison East Coast Riders
32 Simon Molloy Histon & Impington
33 David Webster Kings Lynn MTB
34 Nicholas Thurgill East Coast Riders
35 Leigh Davies East Coast Riders
36 Tom Moore Gt Yarmouth CC
37 Matthew Baker VC Norwich
38 Jeremy Bishop VC Equipe – Flix
39 Seb Herrod Strada-Sport

Category A
1 Samuel Asker VC Londres
2 Freddie Grover Fast Test Racing Team A
3 Thomas Pask Iceni Velo A
4 Liam Hanks Barking & Dagenham CC A
5 Harrison Mayo Barking & Dagenham CC A
6 Thomas Wright Spalding Cycling Club A
7 Jordan Rumbles East Coast Riders A
8 Chris Springall A
9 Joshua Sykes Norwich Amateur BC A
10 Nathan Gibson St Ives CC A

Category B
1 Jack Coates Strada-Sport B
2 Alex Dale Otley CC B
4 Callum Laborde Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club B
6 Callum Molloy Iceni Velo B
5 Joseph Smith Cambridge Junior Cycling Club B
7 Tristan Swindells Iceni Velo B
3 Adam Allen Iceni Velo B

Category A Girls
1 Alice Standish Team Empella Cyclo-Cross.Com AG
2 Lauren Higham Welwyn Wheelers CC AG
3 Toni Wilkes Kent Velo Race Team AG
4 Harley Pell Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA) AG
5 Megan MacMahon WXC World Racing AG
6 Molly Cutmore TPH Racing AG

Category B Girls
1 Charlotte-Louise McGreevy WXC World Racing BG
2 Abbey Mae BG
3 Molly Peel Bourne Whls CC BG



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK