Report: Bouhanni sprints to victory in Yorkshire

Bouhanni sprint to victory on Stage Two , Caleb Ewan now leads overall whilst podium for Tanfield as he gets Combativity Award

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Bouhanni sprints to victory in Yorkshire

Crowds on a par with those of the 2014 Tour de France Grand Départ turned out to watch a pulsating sprint finish in Harrogate which saw Nacer Bouhanni emerge triumphant on stage two.

The peloton was treated to an equally warm welcome at the start line in Tadcaster – just as the world’s best female riders had been at the Asda Women’s Tour de Yorkshire earlier in the day – with 405 schoolchildren lining Tadcaster Bridge to signify the number of days they had been without it following the tragic floods of 2015. The Yorkshire Regiment Drums Platoon were also on hand to provide a rousing reception before the riders went on their way.

Once again the weather proved favourable and all the towns and villages along the 122.5km route did the county proud by celebrating the race in a whole host of imaginative ways as it passed by.

That must have spurred Yorkshiremen Connor Swift (Madison Genesis), James Gullen (JLT Condor) and Harry Tanfield (Bike Channel Canyon) on as they all featured in a four-man breakaway that enlivened proceedings early in the stage.

Tanfield’s efforts in the day’s two intermediate sprints saw fans on Twitter vote him into Dimension Data’s Most Active Rider jersey, but all four escapees were caught before a fast finish ensued in Harrogate.

As the sprint specialists raced towards the line Bouhanni latched onto Hivert’s wheel, but as his compatriot faded Bounhanni pressed on to seal his fourth win of the season.

Ewan’s disappointment at a successive second-placed finish was tempered by the fact that he moved into the Welcome to Yorkshire blue leader’s jersey and opened up a two-second lead over Bouhanni and Friday’s victor Dylan Groenewegen (LottNL-Jumbo).

Ewan’s consistent form also means he tops the Yorkshire Bank Points Classification while Etienne Van Empel (Roompot Nederlandse Loterij) defended his place at the top of the Virgin Trains King of the Mountain Classification. Team Dimension Data lead the Team Classification sponsored by Doncaster Sheffield Airport and FlyBe.

Post Race Videos

Connor Swift (Madison Genesis) – part of the break

James Gullen, also part of the break on stage 2

Tim Elverson, DS for Bike Channel Canyon

Harry Tanfield (Combativity Award)

Stage 2
1 Nacer Bouhanni Cofidis, Solutions Crédits
2 Caleb Ewan ORICA-Scott
3 Jonathan Hivert Direct Energie
4 Dylan Groenewegen Team LottoNL-Jumbo
5 Christopher Lawless Great Britain
6 Kristian Sbaragli Dimension Data
7 Søren Kragh Andersen Team Sunweb
8 Tony Hurel Direct Energie
9 Matthew Holmes Madison Genesis
10 Adam Blythe Aqua Blue Sport

12 Steele Von Hoff One Pro Cycling
13 Jonathan Mcevoy Madison Genesis
14 Chris Opie BIKE Channel Canyon
15 Enrique Sanz Team Raleigh GAC
16 Brenton Jones JLT Condor
20 Andrew Fenn Aqua Blue Sport
25 Tao Geoghegan Hart Team Sky
27 Jonathan Dibben Team Sky
29 Jacob Hennesy Great Britain
30 Thomas Stewart One Pro Cycling
32 Ethan Hayter Great Britain
37 Mark Christian Aqua Blue Sport
38 Ryan Perry Team Raleigh GAC
45 Luke Rowe Team Sky
46 Ian Bibby JLT Condor
48 Alex Frame JLT Condor
49 Richard Handley Madison Genesis
55 Max Stedman BIKE Channel Canyon
56 Peter Williams One Pro Cycling
58 Adam Kenway Team Raleigh GAC
60 Daniel Pearson Aqua Blue Sport
62 James Knox Great Britain
64 Adria Moreno Team Raleigh GAC
67 Rob Partridge BIKE Channel Canyon
71 Joshua Hunt One Pro Cycling
72 Dexter Gardias BIKE Channel Canyon
73 Adam Hartley Great Britain
81 Karol Domagalski One Pro Cycling
82 Jack Pullar BIKE Channel Canyon 0:15
86 Scott Thwaites Dimension Data 0:34
89 Thomas Moses JLT Condor 0:51
90 James Lowsley Williams BIKE Channel Canyon
91 Joey Walker Great Britain 0:53
94 Taylor Gunman Madison Genesis
99 Steven Lampier JLT Condor 1:11
100 Conor Dunne Aqua Blue Sport
103 Mark Mcnally Great Britain
104 Ian Stannard Team Sky
105 Erick Rowsell Madison Genesis 1:23
106 Alistair Slater JLT Condor
112 Connor Swift Madison Genesis 4:30
113 James Gullen JLT Condor
114 Rory Townsend BIKE Channel Canyon
115 Tobyn Horton Madison Genesis
116 Harry Tanfield BIKE Channel Canyon 4:34
117 Fraser Martin Team Raleigh GAC 8:45
118 Mathew Cronshaw Madison Genesis
119 Tristan Robbins Team Raleigh GAC
122 Matthew Bostock Great Britain
123 Matthew Brammeier Aqua Blue Sport
126 Sebastián Mora Team Raleigh GAC

1 Caleb Ewan ORICA-Scott 6:55:17
2 Nacer Bouhanni Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 0:02
3 Dylan Groenewegen Team LottoNL-Jumbo
4 Chris Opie BIKE Channel Canyon 0:08
5 Jonathan Hivert Direct Energie
6 Ángel Madrazo Delko Marseille Provence KTM 0:10
7 Kristian Sbaragli Dimension Data 0:12
8 Steele Von Hoff One Pro Cycling
9 Adam Blythe Aqua Blue Sport
10 Søren Andersen KraghTeam Sunweb
11 Tony Hurel Direct Energie
12 Brent Bookwalter BMC Racing Team
13 Enrique Sanz Team Raleigh GAC
14 Andre Looij Roompot – Nederlandse Loterij
15 Jonathan Mcevoy Madison Genesis
16 Floris Gerts BMC Racing Team
17 Jacob Hennesy Great Britain
18 Tiago Machado Team Katusha – Alpecin
19 Jonas van Genechten Cofidis, Solutions Crédits
20 Omar Fraile Dimension Data




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,