Report: Brooks Cycles Track League

There were sunny skies at the Brooks Cycles Track held at the Lyme Valley Velodrome in Staffordshire on Thursday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Brooks Cycles Track League

There were sunny skies at the Brooks Cycles Track , Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme and the night finished with a beautiful sunset as the nights racing came to a close.

The night started with the Freewheelers League with the numbers down a little on previous weeks however the riders who turned up put on a great show of racing. The top points scores across the three groups were as follows;

Group 1 Josh Marsden Lyme RC 9 Points
Group 2 Liam Campbell Lyme RC 8 Points
Group 3 Max Mckenzie Lyme RC 9 Points
Harley Johns Newcastle Rc 2001 9 Points

The main league started with the second round of the 500m Handicap League. There was a blanket finish with a wheel separating the first three of Chris Pyatt ( Brooks Cycles ) from his team mates Caleb Hill and George Hancock. In the other Sprinters League events the team sprint went to Caleb Hill, Chris Pyatt and Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles ).

The sprint final saw national Squad rider Caleb Hill show an impressive turn of speed to win in fine style from his team mate Josh Spendelow and Barney Swinnerton ( Swinnerton Cycles ).

In the A Class Endurance events Josh Wilkes had good night as he won the 10 lap scratch and the win and out . Farley Barber won the devil and Barney Swinnerton won the 40 lap scratch.

The B Class races saw a good field compete with james Brayford taking the opening 10 lap scratch and then Steve Hall ( Lyme RC ) winning the win and out. Youth rider Harry Ledingham- Horn took the devil and then fellow youth rider Joel Ackers ( Innovation Race Team ) took the 40 lap scratch.

The C Clas league started this week and Jon Sparks ( Velo-M ) won the 8 lap scratch, devil and 40 lap scratch to take an early overall lead. Richard Longstaff ( Newcastle RC 2001) won the win and out race.

The youth events saw first time rider at the league Thomas Bullock ( Newport CC) win the opening handicap race with harry Jordan ( Eastlands Velo ) taking the devil and 6 lap scratch . The team sprint went to Douglas Main ( Derby Mercury ), Thomas Wheaver ( lyme RC) and Thomas Bullock .


Group 1
Race 1
1st Josh Marsden Lyme RC
2nd Thomas Mould Lyme RC
3rd Seth Ireland Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Ruby Jennings Lyme RC
2nd Evie Davis Lyme RC
3rd Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Josh Marsden
2nd Thomas Wheaver
3rd Seth Ireland

Race 4
1st Evie Davis
2nd Ruby Jennings
3rd Minnie McKenzie

Race 5
1st Thomas Whaever
2nd Josh Marsden
3rd Harry Brayford Lyme RC

Group 2
Race 1
1st Liam Campbell Lyme RC
2nd Olly Davis Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Liam Campbell Lyme RC
2nd` Olly Davis

Race 3
1st Olly Davis
2nd Liam Campbell

Race 4
1st Liam Campbell
2nd Olly Davis

Group 3
Race 1
1st Harley Johns Newcastle RC 2001
2nd Max McKenzie Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Max McKenzie
2nd Harley Johns

Race 3
1st Max McKenzie
2nd Harley Johns

Race 4
1st Harley Johns
2nd Max McKenzie
… continued after advert


500m Handicap League
1st Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles
2nd Caleb Hill Brooks Cycles
3rd George Hancock Brooks Cycles
4th Josh Spendelow Brooks Cycles
5th Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles
6th Tony Brooks Brooks Cycles

Youth Handicap
1st Thomas Bullock Newport CC
2nd Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC
3rd Harry Ledingham-Horn Lyme RC
A Endurance 10 lap scratch
1st Joshua Wilkes U/A
2nd Farley Barber Pro Vision
3rd Mike Perry Pto Vision

B Class 10 lap Scratch
1st James Brayford Lyme RC
2nd Steve Hall Lyme RC
3rd Joel Ackers Innovation Race Team

C Class 8 lap Scratch
1st Jon Sparks Velo-M
2nd Richard Longstaff Newcastle RC 2001
3rd Sallie Birchall Lyme RC

Sprinters League Team Sprint
1st Caleb Hill
Chris Pyatt
Josh Spendelow

2nd Tony Brooks Brooks Cycles
George Hancock Brooks Cycles
Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles

3rd Paige Nutton Swinnerton Cycles
Steve Cronshaw
Farley Barber

Youth Team sprint
1st Douglas Main Derby Mercury
Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC
Thomas Bullock

A Class win and Out
1st Joshua Wilkes
2nd Mike Perry
3rd Farley Barber

B Class Win and Out
1st Steve Hall Lyme RC
2nd Nick Moore Newcastle RC 2001
3rd Thomas Hughes Lyme RC

C Class Win and Out
1st Richard Longstaff
2nd Jon Sparks
3rd Darren Hughes

Youth Devil
1st Harry Jordan Eastlands Velo
2nd Jack Emmerson Newport CC
3rd Thomas Bullock

A Class Endurance Devil
1st Farley Barber
2nd Mike Perry
3rd Joshua Wilkes

B Class Devil
1st Harry Ledingham -Horn
2nd Steve Hall
3rd James Brayford

C Class devil
1st Jon Sparks
2nd Paige Nutton
3rd Sallie Birchall

Sprint Final
1st Caleb Hill
2nd Josh Spendelow
3rd Barney Swinnerton

Youth Scratch
1st Harry Jordan
2nd Jack Emmerson
3rd Thomas Bullock

40 lap Scratch A
1st Barney Swinnerton
2nd George Hancock
3rd Joshua Wilkes

1st Joel Ackers
2nd Mike Boston Uttoxeter CC
3rd Thomas Hughes

1st Jon Sparks
2nd Darren Hughes
3rd Duncan Mould



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,