Report: Velo Club Venta Summer Critérium 1

Andy Shackel, James Bark & Olivier Winwood winners at week 1 of the Velo Club Venta Summer Critérium

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Velo Club Venta Summer Critérium 1

From Graham Robins | Sunday 21st May

Andy Shackel (Team Wiggle) 21 from Portsmouth came up with the legs to win a two up sprint after an hour’s racing around the South Winchester Park and Ride.

The 21 year old rider from Portsmouth along with Cameron Foster (Team MK) made a break just over the half distance and the two maintained a lead over a group of eleven chasers. The lead duo held a slender 8secs lead for ten minutes and then extended it by a further four secs right up to the bell when their gap went out to 32secs to the chasers.

As the two climbed away from the bottom bend it was difficult to decide between them but Shackel had something in his legs and pulled away with meters to go. It was Jason White (Bristol RC) who won the sprint for the final podium position.

In the fourth cat race there was a break by Danny Tonkin (Racing Club Ravenna) straight away and he quickly built a handy lead of 10secs which he held for about eight minutes of the 35mins and five lap race. The chasing group took a while to organise things but worked it out to reel Tonkin in. After 24mins a group of eight riders finally got away for the remainder of the entry and this group rode to the bell before it was James Bark (Islington CC) who took the bunch sprint.

The 3rd cat race was very fast but this meant there weren’t too many chances for riders to escape. With 40mins gone of the 50min race a group of fourteen riders very all together and it remained like this right up to the bell and this was another gallop for the line. This time it was the promoting clubs Olivier Winwood Brat who had enough at the end to take the win. Jen Forrester ( won the women’s race which was held within the 3rd cat race due to a limited entry.


U8 Boys
1 Harrison Hendy Bike Jockey CC
2 William Holland-Leader VC Londres
3 Jack Gillard
4 Thomas Wilks Sotonia CC
5 Myles Bradley Bike Jockey CC
6 Lucas Mills Sotonia CC

U8 Girls
1 Toulla Cousins Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
2 Grace Hughes Velo Club Venta
3 Skye Martingale Sotonia CC
4 Ella Ridgment Sotonia CC
5 Jaya Martingale Sotonia CC
6 Marit Davidse Sotonia CC
7 Matilda Wilks Sotonia CC

U10 Boys
1 Finlay Cousins Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
2 Luke Davison
3 Samuel Ridgment Sotonia CC
4 Samuel Hughes Velo Club Venta

U10 Girls
1 Rebecca Carter Palmer Park Velo RT
2 Lauren Charles Charlotteville CC
3 Chloe Carter Palmer Park Velo RT
4 Olivia Allman Velo Club Venta
5 Isabella Hall Sotonia CC
6 Daisy Edmondson

U12 Boys
1 Matthew Gilmour Velo Club Venta
2 Ollie Boarer I-Team Cyclists’ Club
3 Judah Hurr Portsmouth North End CC
4 Peter Drabble VC Meudon
5 Dylan Davison Solent Pirates
6 Owain Williams Kingston Junior Cycle Club
7 Bobby Buenfeld Velo Club Venta
8 Alexander Murphy Velo Club Venta
9 Christian Thomarel BournemouthArrow/HotelCollingw…

U12 Girls
1 Ellen Phillips Cotswold Veldrijden
2 Rose-Marie Moncrieffe VC Londres
3 Electra Morris Charlotteville CC
4 Molly Edmondson

U14 Boys
1 Nathaniel Brookes Gillingham and District Wheele…
2 Matthew Hickman Portsmouth North End CC
3 Jacob Schnabel Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
4 Jamie Gostick Palmer Park Velo RT
5 Finn Dunton Thanet RC
6 Adam Potter I-Team Cyclists’ Club
7 Alexander Uphill Hillingdon Slipstreamers
8 Benjamin Tuchner VC Londres
9 Elliot Tappin

U14 Girls
1 Izzy Brickell Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
2 Aoife O’Neill Chippenham & Dist Whls

U16 Boys
1 Angus Hawkins Palmer Park Velo RT
2 Archie Peet Welwyn Wheelers CC
3 Harvey McLean Behind The Bikeshed
4 Vaughan Marris Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
5 Freddie Horner Behind The Bikeshed
6 George Pittock Thanet RC
7 Alexander Bosley Zappi Racing Team
8 Arthur Boulton Palmer Park Velo RT
9 Danny Havey Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
10 Kartik Thite Zappi Racing Team
11 Daniel Banks Solent Pirates

U16 Girls
1 Tilly Malbon Barking & Dagenham CC

4th Cat only
1 James Bark Islington Cycling Club
2 Danny Tonkin Racing Club Ravenna
3 Harri James Didcot Phoenix CC
4 James Veal West Wight Wheelers
5 Sam Walters Paceline RT
6 Owen Lewis Velo Club Venta
7 Stuart McLay Hart Evolution Racing Team
8 Justin Menhenett Sotonia CC
9 Fletcher Adams Hargroves-Ridley-Montezuma’s
10 Emyr Griffiths Racing Club Ravenna
11 Lyndon Thompson New Forest CC
12 Luke Monahan UK-Biking/Bmth Cycleworks/Trek
13 Matthew Galante Velo Club Venta
14 Jared Jedynowicz Didcot Phoenix CC
15 Haydn Springett
16 Christopher Palliser

1 Jennifer Forrester RT – Lazer helm…

3rd Cat only
1 Oliver Winwood Bratchell Velo Club Venta
2 Dexter Fox Army Cycling Race Team (ACRT)
3 Ellis Pullinger Southampton University Road Cl…
4 Sam Stewart Southdown Velo
5 James Brickell Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
6 Adam Littlechild Racing Club Ravenna
7 Jack Hardwicke Strada-Sport
8 Oliver Scott Dulwich Paragon CC
9 Tom Budden Sotonia CC
10 Gavin Ash Worthing Excelsior CC
11 Martin Stanley Didcot Phoenix CC
12 Kris Collins Team Wiggle
13 Michael Greenshields University Of Portsmouth CC
14 Russell Speight Sotonia CC
15 Callum Dunford Sarum Velo
16 Benjamin Hames Sotonia CC
17 Callum Middleton Lewes Wanderers CC
18 Tim Blackmore Southdown Velo
19 Matt Alderson The Cycle Room
20 Luis Coutinho Southdown Velo
21 George Creasey UK-Biking/Bmth Cycleworks/Trek

1 Andy Shackel Team Wiggle
2 Cameron Foster Team Milton Keynes
3 Jason White Bristol RC
4 Dylan Thomas VC Meudon
5 Mike Smith Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT
6 Lewis Martin Spokes BPC Racing
7 James Franklin Velo Club Venta
8 Patryk Rucki Skinline Race Club
9 Harry Veale
10 Peter Banham DMW – BRIDGTOWN
11 Rob Hardyman The Cycle Room
12 James Norris SD Racing Team



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,