Report: Portsmouth NE Summer RR

In a two up breakaway with just over half a lap to go John Hale got the better of Matthew Downie (Primera-TeamJobs) after seven laps of the Owslebury course near Winchester.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Portsmouth NE Summer RR

Saturday 3rd June | by Graham Robins

In a two up breakaway with just over half a lap to go John Hale (Pearson CC) got the better of Matthew Downie (Primera-TeamJobs) after seven laps of the Owslebury course near Winchester. The race was promoted by the Portsmouth North End CC with generous support from Benchmarx Kitchens.

On a warm sunny morning the 64 riders rolled from the HQ through the village and onto the course before the flag was dropped and racing got underway for real. The course rolls around before the bunch got the first look at the finish line on the start of seven gruelling laps.

Once racing got underway five riders clipped of the front and they quickly built a 45secs lead. The five were John Hale, Alexandre Touche (Pro Vision RT), Charlie Beake (Tri UK), Tom Morris (PNECC) and Junior Alexander Cross (Team Vision Innovative Leisure). The five managed to work well together before Touche found the going tough and slipped back only to be collected by the bunch. In-between the leaders and the bunch two riders were trying to jump across but the two were unable to make the junction and gave up as the bunch closed them down.

The group of four continued to hold a lead despite the gap coming down to 35secs, whilst behind the small chasing group was absorbed by the bunch. While the chasers tried to reorganise themselves the leaders managed to find a handful of seconds to extend their lead back to just under a minute.
… continued after advert


With two laps to go the leaders were 52secs up the road with three riders quickly closing them down leaving the bunch over a minute adrift. Mid way around the fifth lap the chasing group made the junction across and the bunch were now slipping further backwards. The only change on the lap saw young Alexander Cross running on a junior gearing finding he could not spin his legs quick enough and he soon slipped back.

At the bell we had a break of six riders John Hale, Charlie Beake, Tom Morris, James Peckham (Sotonia CC), Matthew Downie and Timothy Allen (Team Vision Innovative Leisure) but in between the leaders and the bunch were pairs of riders and the bunch was over two minutes adrift.

As the race was coming to its conclusion young Matt Downie now an ‘expert’ on this Owslebury course picked his time to attack but he hadn’t planned for Hale to jump across with him. The two turned in Salt Lane with a small lead of 20secs which they maintained all the way to the line, where Hale had just enough to jump and pull clear. With Downie clear in second closing out the podium was James Peckham albeit 24secs down.

1. John Hale – Pearson Cycling Club
2. Matthew Downie – Primera-TeamJobs
3. James Peckham – Sotonia CC
4. Timothy Allen – Team Vision Innovative Leisure
5. Charlie Beake – Tri UK
6. Tom Morris – Portsmouth North End CC
7. Alexander Cross – Team Vision Innovative Leisure
8. Frazier Carr – Team Vision Innovative Leisure
9. Patryk Rucki – Skinline Race Club
10. Simon McNamara – Southdowns Bikes – Casco PET
11. David Billings – Radeon-Bike Science RT
12. George Skinner – Norwood Paragon CC
13. Andrew Carter –
14. Adam Moore – Morvelo Basso RT
15. Ben Scott-Munden – Sotonia CC
16. Ashley Hutchison – VC St Raphael
17. Jack Freeman – VC Meudon
18. Duncan Clark – Reading CC
19. Tom Sefton – Team Vision Innovative Leisure
20. Warren Jesse – Excel Pedal Heaven Academy
21. Michael Guilford – VC Meudon
22. David Barnes – University Of Portsmouth CC
23. Dean Corney – VC Meudon
24. Oliver Scott – Dulwich Paragon CC
25. Mark Greenwood – Army Cycling Race Team (ACRT)
26. Brook Elgie – Sotonia CC
27. Paul Barnard – Southdowns Bikes – Casco PET
28. Ryan Smith – Morvelo Basso RT
29. Jason Ormston – Team Quest – The Bike Shop
30. Matthew Franklin – Bristol RC
31. Stephen Cavey – Southdowns Bikes – Casco PET
32. Joseph Clark – I-Team Cyclists Club
33. Giles Greening – Tri UK
34. James Hywel-Davies – Latchem Sunwise Race Team
35. Grant Bayton – Ride 24/7
36. Lawrence Symes – TPH Racing
37. Alexandre Touche – Pro Vision Race Team
38. James Brickell – Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
39. Luke Barfoot – Tri UK
40. Colin Roshier – Team Quest – The Bike Shop



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,