Result: Winchcombe Kermesse

James Chapman (Kenilworth Wheelers CC) out-sprinted his breakaway companions to take the 5th Winchcombe Kermesse

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Winchcombe Kermesse

Winchcombe Kermesse 2/3/4 (Cotswold League)

James Chapman (Kenilworth Wheelers CC) out-sprinted his breakaway companions to take the 5th Winchcombe Kermesse in blustery but dry conditions.

After a fast start and numerous attacks four riders eventually went clear. Along with Chapman were Ben Luckwell (Ride 24/7), Thomas Grigson (Radeon-Bike Science RT) and Oliver Hayward (Rhino Velo RT). They soon built a minute advantage and maintained this for the rest of the race with it stretching out to almost 2 minutes entering the final lap.

Grigson lost contact as they heard the bell and it was then that a small chase group formed hungry to avoid a bunch sprint. This group caught and passed Grigson but their chase was too late to catch the break.

The three leaders came into the last kilometre together knowing the tough drag to the finish would be decisive. Chapman jumped from 200m and got a small gap which he maintained to the finish whilst Luckwell edged out Hayward behind.

Alexandre Touche led in the chase group whilst Ben Strain won the bunch sprint almost catching Grigson on the line.

Results: (provisional)

1 James Chapman Kenilworth Wheelers CC
2 Benjamin Luckwell Ride 24/7
3 Oliver Hayward Rhino Velo Race Team
4 Alexandre Touche Pro Vision Race Team
5 Ryan Brain Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club
6 Matthew Franklin Bristol RC
7 Thomas Grigson Radeon-Bike Science RT
8 Ben Strain Radeon-Bike Science RT
9 Colin Parry Ride 24/7
10 Robert Telford Veloton Team
11 Jamie Wilkins Veloton Team
12 Matthew Clarke Halesowen A &CC
13 Robin Burrow Team Bottrill – HSS Hire
14 Dave Tilling Ride 24/7
15 Tom Sharp Bristol RC
16 Ross Phelps Bristol RC
17 Jamie Penton Radeon-Bike Science RT
18 Mark Perry Ride 24/7
19 Nick Rayman
20 Christopher Hill Bristol RC
21 Lewis Braithwaite Ride 24/7
22 Matthew Lelliott Severn RC
23 Samuel Westlake Bristol RC
24 Matthew Griffin Radeon-Bike Science RT
25 Ben Stockdale Cotswold Cycles-TREK
26 Adam Henley Cheltenham & County CC
27 Matt Hann Radeon-Bike Science RT
28 Alastair Kay VeloVitesse
29 Andre Mouton Bath Cycling Club
30 James Cook
31 David Mixell Ely Race Club
32 Ethan Lee Clay Cross Road Team
33 Deacon Cutterham CGC Army Cycling Union
34 Richard Cleaver Velo Club Montpellier
35 Rob Yeatman Cotswold Cycles-TREK




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,