Result: Stockton Grand Prix

After an 11 man break kept the spotlight at the front for most of the day, the Stockton GP road race was decided in a bunch sprint with Brenton Jones winning in a photo finish from Chris Latham and Chris Opie

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Stockton Grand Prix

After almost four hours of racing, this was how the race was decided, a bunch kick with Brenton Jones (right) getting the verdict from Chris Latham and Chris Opie

All smiles after the battle of the bunch kick… L-R: Chris Latham, Brenton Jones and Chris Opie

Back to lap 1 of the big circuit and Rory Townsend leads the break of 11 riders. These included George Wood, Ali Slater, Sam Williams, Rhys Howells, two from Catford CC, Rory Townsend and others … (riders to be confirmed)

The first reaction from the bunch was to sit up and then after a few laps, the chase got serious.

The dominant team at the front of the peloton was JLT Condor

Two laps to go of the big circuit and JLT Condor are in serious chase mode and the gap to the break falls from 3 minutes to under a minute as they head to the finishing circuit.

Then Rhys Howells made his move and spent many a lap off the front before being reeled in

He was chased by Sam Williams but he too could not escape the peloton in full cry now.

A very fast TT man, Dan Bigham also had a dig but even he could not out ride a peloton preparing for the sprint

JLT Condor had control for much of the finishing circuits …

But the bell lap saw Bike Channel Canyon setting it up for Chris Opie

Madison Genesis were next in the string for their man Jonny McEvoy

The break that spent most of the race off the front at Stockton


Brenton Jones (winner)

Chris Latham, second

Chris Opie (3rd, former winner)

Jonny McEvoy, 4th, Series leader

Rory Townsend on the days break


1 Brenton Jones JLT Condor 3:56:54
2 Christopher Latham Team Wiggins st
3 Chris Opie BIKE Channel Canyon st
4 Jonathan McEvoy Madison Genesis st
5 Will Fox Catford CC Equipe/Banks st
6 Alex Frame JLT Condor st
7 Joshua Hunt One Pro Cycling st
8 Graham Briggs JLT Condor st
9 Tom Mazzone Metaltek Kuota Racing Team st
10 George Wood (u23) Richardsons-Trek RT st
11 Steele Von Hoff One Pro Cycling st
12 George Pym Metaltek Kuota Racing Team st
13 Reece Wood (u23) 100% ME st
14 Thomas Moses JLT Condor st
15 David Lines Wheelbase Altura MGD st
16 Harry Tanfield BIKE Channel Canyon st
17 Fraser Martin (u23) Raleigh GAC st
18 Jordan Doig (u23) Wheelbase Altura MGD st
19 Jake Tanner Cycling Sheffield Giant Sheffie st
20 Oliver Maxwell (u23) Richardsons-Trek RT st
21 Dillon Byrne VCUK VELOCHAMPION Racing Team st
22 Jacob Tipper Brother NRG st
23 Peter Williams One Pro Cycling st
24 Lloyd Chapman Catford CC Equipe/Banks st
25 Robert Scott (u23) Team Wiggins st
26 Jez McCann (u23) Richardsons-Trek RT st
27 Liam Holohan Metaltek Kuota Racing Team st
28 Andrew Tennant Team Wiggins st
29 Enrique Sanz Raleigh GAC st
30 Sam Lowe BIKE Channel Canyon st
31 Dylan Kerfoot-Robson (u23) Team Wiggins st
32 Nathan Draper (u23) Team Wiggins st
33 Connor Swift (u23) Madison Genesis st
34 Sebastian Mora Vedri Raleigh GAC st
35 Conn McDunphy (u23) Raleigh GAC st
36 John Archibald Pro Vision Scotland st
37 Adam Hartley (u23) 100% ME st
38 Taylor Gunman Madison Genesis st
39 Joey Walker (u23) Team Wiggins st
40 George Harper One Pro Cycling st
41 Alex Blain Madison Genesis st
42 Jack Pullar BIKE Channel Canyon +6
43 Luke Ryan Richardsons-Trek RT +11
44 William Bjergfelt Neon-Velo Cycling Team st
45 Evan Oliphant Wheelbase Altura MGD st
46 Andrew Hawdon Wheelbase Altura MGD +24
47 Oliver Peckover (u23) 365 4 Bikes Academy +31
48 Andrew Disley Team KTM st
49 Charlie Passfield (u23) Spirit Tifosi Racing Team st
50 Matt Langworthy (u23) Saint Piran st
51 David Hewett TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT +34
52 William Brown Brother NRG +39
53 Laurence Kirby (u23) Catford CC Equipe/Banks +45
54 Adam Kenway Raleigh GAC +54
55 Marcus Burnett (u23) Spirit Tifosi Racing Team st
56 Chris Sleath MTS-Rapid Engineering NE +58
57 Stanley Kennett (u23) Spirit Tifosi Racing Team +1:09
58 Joseph Clark Cycling Sheffield Giant Sheffie st
59 Liam Bromiley Cycling Sheffield Giant Sheffie st
60 Simon Alexander Richardsons-Trek RT +1:11
61 Matthew Kipling MTS-Rapid Engineering NE st
62 Jeremy Durrin Neon-Velo Cycling Team st
63 Tim James (u23) 365 4 Bikes Academy +1:13
64 Adrià Moreno Sala Raleigh GAC +1:26
65 Rory Townsend (u23) BIKE Channel Canyon +1:38
66 Matthew Nowell (u23) BIKE Channel Canyon st
67 Gruffudd Lewis Madison Genesis +1:44
68 Ashley Cox Nopinz +1:45
69 Corentin Ermentall (u23) Team Wiggins st
70 Duncan Heywood (u23) Saint Piran +1:47
71 George Atkins BIKE Channel Canyon +1:50
72 Richard Handley Madison Genesis +1:53
73 Daniel Bigham Brother NRG +1:56
74 Thomas Baylis (u23) One Pro Cycling +2:00
75 Alistair Slater JLT Condor +2:09
76 Dexter Gardias BIKE Channel Canyon st
77 Jonathan Mould JLT Condor st
78 Simon Wilson Brother NRG +2:13
79 Tristan Robbins (u23) Raleigh GAC +2:15
80 Jack Rees Brother NRG +2:26
81 Matt Cronshaw Madison Genesis +2:45
82 Anthony Moye Spirit Tifosi Racing Team +2:47
83 Michael Cuming Neon-Velo Cycling Team +3:00
84 Robert Gray (u23) Wheelbase Altura MGD +3:30
85 Callum Ferguson (u23) Catford CC Equipe/Banks +3:33
86 Daniel Mcquillan Tri UK +3:36
87 Peter Barusevicus Team KTM +3:52
88 Timothy Home (u23) Cycling Sheffield Giant Sheffie +4:14
89 Rhys Howells Team Wiggins +5:52
90 Samuel Henning (u23) Richardsons-Trek RT +7:34
91 Andy Brown (u23) Metaltek Kuota Racing Team OTL
92 Tom Yiangou (u23) Neon-Velo Cycling Team OTL
93 Alex Auty Team KTM OTL
94 Adam Robinson Team KTM OTL
95 Alex Fanshawe (u23) Saint Piran OTL
96 Joshua Outram (u23) Richardsons-Trek RT OTL

“Altura” Sprint
1 Rory Townsend (u23) BIKE Channel Canyon 17
2 George Wood (u23) Richardsons-Trek RT 11
3 Rhys Howells Team Wiggins 8
4 Daniel Bigham Brother NRG 5
5 Alistair Slater JLT Condor 3
6 Jonathan Mould JLT Condor 2

Local Rider
1 Harry Tanfield BIKE Channel Canyon

… continued after advert





Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,