Result: Jef Schils Memorial

Dominic Schils keeps it in the family as he wins the Jef Schils Memorial National B road race in Essex

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Jef Schils Memorial

The 2017 Jef Schils Memorial Road race started promptly at 2pm at The Marks Tey Hotel.

Once the race was deneutralised, one attack was followed by another with many riders eager to score points for the Hot Spot Sprints of which the first one was won by Jezz McCann.

After the three initial 11km laps around Birch, the riders moved on to the bigger 20km circuit where on the falseflat to Abberton a break of 12 riders established and soon gained a 1 minute lead. On the following lap, the breakaway got reduced to nine riders Matthew Clements, Mark Richards, Tom Fitzpatrick, James Jenkins, Jake Hales, Thomas Power and Dominic Schils but after 90km, when turning onto the clockwise finishing circuits, the gap was reduced to 40 seconds to a group of 15 riders, who on the final lap bridged across.

Douglas Coleman from Spirit Bikes seized the opportunity and jumped away up the penultimate climb to Layer Breton, taking a 25 second lead. Richardsons-Trek, who had a large presence in the lead group, closed the gap in the last kilometre.

Marks Tey based Velo Schils Interbike rider Dominic Schils, in the memorial of his Grandfather Jef Schils, launched a final attack over the top of Layer Breton Hill and soloed to victory. Jake Hales from Spirit Bikes won the sprint for 2nd, and James Rix from Hoste TAAP was 3rd.

It was a fantastic, emotional day for all involved and great to see so many people outside of the cycling community enjoying the festivities and supporting the race at The Hare and Hounds Pub in Layer Breton where there were refreshments, music and commentary.



1 Dominic Schils Velo Schils – Interbike RT
2 Jake Hales Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
3 James Rix Hosté TAAP Storck
4 Oliver Maxwell Richardsons-Trek RT
5 Thomas Power Strada-Sport
6 James Jenkins Richardsons-Trek RT
7 David Hewett TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT
8 Matthew Clements Catford CC Equipe/Banks
9 Jack Waller Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
10 George Wood Richardsons-Trek RT
11 Joshua Haasz Catford CC Equipe/Banks
12 Samuel Woodfield Peterborough Cycling Club
13 Karl Baillie Giant Store Rutland / Wattbike
14 William Harper One Pro Cycling
15 Hamish Graham Green Jersey RT
16 Cameron Woolsey Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
17 Harry Veale
18 Tom Fitzpatrick Private Member
19 Simon Alexander Richardsons-Trek RT
20 Mark Baines Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
21 Mark Richards DAP Cycling Club
22 Douglas Coleman Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
23 Dante Carpenter Hosté TAAP Storck
24 Oliver W Bates Wellingborough Cycles Race Team
25 Toby Parnell Cambridge CC
26 Dougal Toms Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
27 Matthew Webster Catford CC Equipe/Banks
28 Kieran Brady Richardsons-Trek RT
29 Oliver Barbieri Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
30 Laurence Kirby Catford CC Equipe/Banks
31 Jez McCann Richardsons-Trek RT
32 Oliver Cliff TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT
33 Michael Burke Welland Valley CC
34 Andy Lyons Richardsons-Trek RT
35 Harry Ribbons TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT
36 Robert Ormond Morvelo Basso RT
37 Adam Colvin Army Cycling Race Team (ACRT)
38 Gary Freeman Fast Test Racing Team
39 Mark Barningham ViCiOUS VELO
40 Vojtech Blazejovsky PMR@Toachim House
41 Dale Johnston VC Norwich
43 Jeremy Perks Rapha Cycling Club
44 Sam Toy Velo Schils – Interbike RT
45 David Clarke Velo Schils – Interbike RT
46 Rhys Clegg PMR@Toachim House
47 Harley Matthews DAP Cycling Club
48 Paul Miller Maldon & District CC
49 Joe Harris Maxxis 4 Racing Team
50 Jack Kirk Private Member
51 Joshua Aiken Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
52 Frank Longstaff Richardsons-Trek RT
53 Frank Kilsby VC St Raphael
54 Paul Roberts Lea Valley CC
55 Matthew Clarke Canyon UK
56 Matthew Carter Velo Schils – Interbike RT
57 Ross Fawcett Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich
58 Daniel Mcquillan Tri UK
59 Ian Perry Velo Schils – Interbike RT
60 Gavin Moore Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
61 Gareth Turner Latchem Sunwise Race Team
62 Christopher Smith Southend Wheelers




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK