Results: TLI Cycling National RR Championships

Will Corden, Kristian Zentek & Andrew Turner race winners at the TLI Cycling National Road Race Championships on Sunday at Siddington

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Results: TLI Cycling National RR Championships

J(male)/S/M/A/B Categories incorporating the Parkinson Memorial Road Race
Organiser: Jill Wesley – Macclesfield Wheelers Cycling Club
Organising Club/Organisation: Macclesfield Wheelers

Sunday saw VeloUK at the TLI Cycling championships for various age groups on the Siddington circuit near Holmes Chapel in the North West. As with a race under any other governing body, the headquarters had the usual of lead cars, signing on desk, numbers to pin on and bike marshals to escort the riders as well as static marshals from the Macclesfield Wheelers.

There certainly wasn’t the ‘stress’ and challenges I’ve had at other championship events so whilst the racing was as hard as any other event, there was more of a social atmosphere as riders chatted and rode out to the circuit.

Once out at the circuit, the riders lined up on a quiet lane and were put into three groups. The event, like many these days, had been over subscribed so there were some disappointed riders not able to compete showing how popular TLI Cycling races are becoming and the need for more volunteers and organisers is becoming.

Each of the three groups were divided into age related mini pelotons and set off at various intervals and the races run over a distance of 55 miles. Each of the races had their own stories, from solo efforts off the front staying away to breaks getting clear for a long time before being reeled in and the races decided in bunch kicks.

One of the riders explained how it had been as hard or harder than some BC races he had done recently and how tactical it had become before exploding into full on hammer down racing on the rolling roads. With costs rising at BC races, and riders looking for races to enjoy, TLI Cycling is certainly meeting their remit of providing affordable age related races where there is no racing for points but purely for the fun of winning or beating a mate or rival.

My thanks to Jill the organiser and TLI Cycling for a morning of stress free racing!
… continued after advert


Photos (more coming soon on VeloUK’s faceboon page)

… continued after advert


Race 1
1 Will Corden Mammoth Lifestyle Racing Team S
2 Thomas Mazzone Manx Road Club Team Manx Telecom S
3 Steven Fidler Crewe Clarion Wheelers M
4 Chris Siepen Seamons Cycling Club M
4 Daniel Glyn Roberts Ynys Mon Racing Team M
6 Hugh English Manchester Wheelers M
7 Sean Boswell LJMU Cycling Team S
8 Huw Owen Energy Cycling Club/Clwb Beicio Egni J
9 Charlie Critchley High On Bikes S
10 Jon White Pro Vision Clothing RC M
11 Jamie Fletcher Ellan Vannin CC/Appleby S
12 Harry Cain Equiom IOM Junior Cycling Team J
13 Jonathan Carnall Macclesfield Wheelers Cycling Club M
14 Ryan Pike Onimpex Bioracer Racing Team S
15 Chris Humphries St Helens Cycle Racing Club M
16 Daniel Brough Audlem Cycling Club S
17 Sam Beeston Pro Vision Race Team J
18 Nikolas James Pro Vision Clothing RC J
19 Declan Hudson Liverpool Century Road Club S
20 Matthew Lunt Surface Design Racing S
21 David Murphy Liverpool Mercury (Dolan) CC S
22 Mitch Russell Energy Cycling Club/Clwb Beicio Egni M
23 Matt Lawton Macclesfield Wheelers Cycling Club M
24 Andrew Smith Seamons Cycling Club S
25 Ben Trotter Macclesfield Wheelers Cycling Club M
26 Darren Bohana Energy Cycling Club/Clwb Beicio Egni M

Race 2
1 Kristian Zentek Team Chronomaster A
2 Tony Greenhalgh Onimpex Bio Racer Racing Team A
3 Andrew Martin VCUK Champion System Racing Team A
4 Keith Jones Bikmo Cycle Insurance A
5 Lee Steele Liverpool Braveheart Bicycle Club A
6 Dave Williams Energy Cycling Club/Clwb Beicio Egni A
7 Tim Worthington Horwich Cycling Club A
8 Paul Gibson Warrington Road Club A
9 Mark Dix Stone Wheelers Cycling Club A
10 Lee Crossthwaite Macclesfield Wheelers Cycling Club A
11 Dan Walker Clayton Velo Cycling Team A
12 Simon Mulholland Hoppers Rollers A
13 Jason Dobson Manchester Wheelers A
14.  Paul Griffith   Energy Cycling Club/Clwb Beicio Egni A

Race 3
1 Andrew Turner Element Cycling Team B
2 John Fiddies Team Lusso B
3 Chris Spencer Onimpex Bioracer Racing Team B
4 Kevin Chadwick Lakes Road Club B
5 Robert Fowler Rutland Cycling Club B
6 Darran Acton VCUK VeloChampion Racing Team B
7 Richard Allcock Team Jewson MI Racing B
8 Andrew Wright Bott Cycle Team B
9 Aaron Tonks Hoppers Rollers B
10 Carl Potter Lancashire Road Club B
11 Ian Holbrook Stone Wheelers Cycling Club B
12 Gareth McGuiness Energy Cycling Club/Clwb Beicio Egni B
13 Simon Bridge Manchester Bicycle Club B
14 Andrew Prince Stafford Road Club B
16 Richard Barnett Pro Vision Clothing RC B
17 John Hines Audlem Cycling Club B
18 Stephen Talbot Pro Vision Clothing RC B
19 Anthony Blair Manchester Bicycle Club B
20 Dave Pargeter Stretford Wheelers Cycling Club B
21 Mark Wood Pro Vision Clothing RC B
22 Ron Plumbley Liverpool Mercury (Dolan) CC B
23 Terry Glynn Graham Weigh RT/Deeside Olympic B

Age Category Winners
J Huw Owen Energy Cycling Club/Clwb Beicio Egni
S Will Corden Mammoth Lifestyle Racing Team
M Steven Fidler Crewe Clarion Wheelers
A Kristian Zentek Team Chronomaster
B Andrew Turner Element Cycling Team



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,