News: GB for Road Worlds

The Great Britain Cycling Team has confirmed the team and their events for the Road Worlds in Bergen, Norway, from 17 – 24 September.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: GB for Road Worlds

The Great Britain Cycling Team has confirmed the team and their events for the Road Worlds in Bergen, Norway, from 17 – 24 September.

Pic: Photosport International

Chris Froome, who became the first British rider to win the Vuelta a Espana on Sunday and only the third person in history to win both the Tour de France and the Vuelta in the same year, will represent the country in the time trial event and will be looking to round off what has been an outstanding season for the Briton. Reigning national time trial champion Steve Cummings will also take to the time trial start line.

In the road race, nine riders will represent Great Britain including Olympic gold medallists on the track Owain Doull and Pete Kennaugh. Adam Blythe, Mark Christian, Jon Dibben, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Ian Stannard, Ben Swift and Scott Thwaites complete the line-up.

Reigning national road race champion Lizzie Deignan, who won the world title in 2015, has recovered from an appendectomy in time to contest the road race and will be supported by a full team of riders including Alice Barnes who won the bronze medal in the under 23 race at the UEC European Road Championships earlier this year. Barnes’ sister Hannah has made selection, as have Olympic gold medallists on the track Elinor Barker and Dani King. Senior academy rider and under-23 national road race champion Mel Lowther along with Hayley Simmonds complete the team.

Hannah Barnes and Elinor Barker will compete in the elite women’s time trial, with Barker a junior silver medallist in the 2011 event.

Current national under-23 road race champion Chris Lawless, who took a stage win at the prestigious Tour de l’Avenir earlier this year, will represent Great Britain in the under-23 road race and time trial events along with national under-23 time trial champion Scott Davies. Ethan Hayter, Mark Stewart and Ollie Wood have all made selection for the squad as has James Knox.
… continued after advert


Elite men – time trial
Steve Cummings
Chris Froome

Elite men – road race
Adam Blythe
Mark Christian
Jon Dibben
Owain Doull
Tao Geoghegan Hart
Pete Kennaugh
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Scott Thwaites

Elite women – time trial
Elinor Barker
Hannah Barnes

Elite women – road race
Elinor Barker
Alice Barnes
Hannah Barnes
Lizzie Deignan
Dani King
Mel Lowther
Hayley Simmonds

Under-23 men – time trial
Scott Davies
Chris Lawless

Under-23 men – road race
Scott Davies
Ethan Hayter
James Knox
Chris Lawless
Mark Stewart
Ollie Wood

Junior men – time trial
Tom Pidcock
Fred Wright

Junior men – road race
Mark Donovan
Tom Pidcock
Jake Stewart
Jacob Vaughan
Fred Wright

Junior women – time trial
Lauren Dolan
Pfeifer Georgi

Junior women – road race
Rhona Callender
Lauren Dolan
Pfeifer Georgi
Jessica Roberts
Sophie Wright2016_ShuttVeloRapideAdvert



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK