Report: Wessex CX League Round 1 2017-18

Alex Forrester and Sarah Barber two of the winners at round 1 of the 2017/18 Wessex Cyclo-Cross League

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Wessex CX League Round 1 2017-18

Sunday 17th September | by Graham Robins 

Alex Forrester (Zapnet) got the new season underway finally getting the better of team mates Adrian Lansley and Sam Allen from PedalOn after an hour’s racing could not separate them. The thirty eight year old rider from Southampton took full advantage of first Lansley and then Allen parting with their bikes on the last lap as the rode over the rutted surface mid lap.

The new season got underway at a new venue for the league as a co promoted event between Newbury RC and Palmer Park Velo used the excellent facility at Newbury College just off the M4. The course was laid out on the college fields; it was mainly flat and rode really quickly.

On the opening lap Allen (PedalOn) led the lap into the infield followed by Forrester and Lansley. There was another large entry and it took a while for all the riders to file through as they headed out onto the second lap. As the lead riders came back into view the three leaders already had managed to pull out a lead and then gaps started to appear behind them.
… continued after advert


Once the race settled down Forrester and Lansley began to ease away from Allen by a few seconds. Up next was Tom Budden (Sotonia CC), Jamie Norfolk (PedalOn) and Joe Hickerton (Spokes BPC). At the mid way point our two leaders had a 10secs gap over Allen with Norfolk at 57secs and Hickerton and Budden at 57secs. Topping out the next few places were Dave Spencer (VC Venta) and Tom Sewell (Cotswold Veldrijden).

As we ticked away the laps Allen made the connection to our leaders and the three had over a minute to fourth place Norfolk who was on his own. The three leaders were inseparable at the bell but there were to be a sting in the tail as the three exited the infield to start the long trawl around the large play area. There were a couple of small climbs to overcome and this is where the race was decided. Lansley was the first to attack but clipping a rut he parted company with his bike. Taking advantage Forrester attacked only then to see Allen do the same thing. Forrester was now clear and won by a clear 9secs, Allen then came in a further 3secs later.

Earlier in the day’s proceedings there were wins in the vet 40+ for unattached rider Paul Lloyd who finally got away from the close attentions of Dan Guest (Cotswold Veldrijden) and Lewis King (Beeline Cycles). Callum Macleod (PedalOn) won the junior race from Will Cooper (Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s) and Barney Clacy (Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s).

The vet 50+ race looked like it was going all the way to the line as leaders Dave McMullen (Cotswold Veldrijden) ,Gary Barlow (Reading CC), Mike Williams (Fareham Wheelers) and Kevin Holloway (GS Vecchi) could not be separated But over the closing laps both McMullen and Williams seemed to run out of legs and this allowed Holloway to pick them off to claim a podium spot.

The women’s race taking place at the same time saw a commanding win for Katie Scott (Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s) riding for her new team this season. The Swindon based rider was never challenged all race taking the clear win. Helen Pattinson also riding for Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s won the vet women’s race while defending senior women’s champion Sarah Barber (North Hants RC) won her category.
… continued after advert


1st Alexander Forrester Zapnet 59mins 03secs
2nd Adrian Lansley PedalOn @9secs
3rd Sam Allen PedalOn @12secs
4th Jamie Norfolk PedalOn @1min 24secs
5th Joe Hickerton Spokes BPC ‘2mins 14secs
6th Tom Budden Sotonia CC @st
7th Dave Spencer VC Venta @3mins 10secs
8th Tom Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden
9th Karl Norfolk PedalOn
10th Chris Minter PedalOn

Vet 40+
1st Paul Lloyd PM 41mins 41secs
2nd Dan Guest Cotswold Veldrijden @1sec
3rd Lewis King Beeline Cycles
4th Phil Bowley Owens Cycles
5th Crispin Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s

Vet 50+
1st Gary Barlow Reading CC 37mins 20secs
2nd Kevin Holloway GS Vecchi @5secs
3rd Dave McMullen Cotswold Veldrijden
4th Mike Williams Fareham Wheelers
5th Andrew Cracknell PedalOn


1st Katie Scott Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s
2nd Abbie Manley Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s
3rd Ella Freeman Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s

1st Sarah Barber North Hants RC
2nd Kara Perryman Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s
3rd Lydia Brooks Les Filles
4th Lindy Larkin Sarum Velo
5th Mel Smith Cotswold Veldrijden

1st Helen Pattinson Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s
2nd Jessica Connor Cotswold Veldrijden
3rd Harriet Guest Cotswold Veldrijden
4th Caroline Goward Scott Racing
5th Cam Powell PedalOn



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,