News: GB’s Senior Academy 2017/18

The Great Britain Cycling Team name the riders in the senior academy for 2017/18

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: GB’s Senior Academy 2017/18

The Great Britain Cycling Team has named the riders that will make up the Senior Academy for the coming year. Thirty one riders are selected, including 14 who have graduated from the Junior Academy. The Senior Academy is the final step on the pathway to the senior Great Britain Cycling Team with recent graduates including Manon Lloyd, Emily Nelson, and Mel Lowther.

Ian Yates, Performance Pathway manager for the Great Britain Cycling Team, said: “We know that all of the riders are incredibly talented, but it’s also so important that they’re prepared for the demands of life as a full time athlete off the bike too. This can mean anything from health and nutrition to public speaking and even learning a foreign language to help them when living and racing abroad.”

“Competition for places is as fierce as ever, largely due to the success of our pathway, and we are confident that the squad we have selected will go on to achieve great things in the future. I’m looking forward to watching them all develop and supporting them as they progress through the Senior Academy, and hopefully, into Senior Programme and on to professional teams.”

Lauren Dolan, who represented the Great Britain Cycling Team at the 2017 UCI Road World Championships in Norway, and steps up from the Junior Academy said: “It’s an honour to be selected for the Senior Academy, and follow in the footsteps of so many riders who have gone on to achieve such great things in the sport.

“Representing the Great Britain Cycling Team at my first world championships this year has really given me a hunger to keep working hard and improving with the ultimate aim of competing at senior world championships and the Olympic Games.”

Senior Academy

Women’s endurance
Ellie Dickinson
Becky Raybould
Megan Barker
Rhona Callander
Abbie Dentus
Lauren Dolan
Jenny Holl
Jessica Roberts

Men’s endurance
Matt Bostock
Matt Walls
Adam Hartley
Ethan Hayter
Joe Holt
Rhys Britton
Joe Nally
Jake Stewart
Fred Wright

Men’s sprint
Alex Jolliffe
Lewis Stewart
Hamish Turnbull

Women’s sprint
Sylvia Misztal
Milly Tanner
Lauren Bate
Sophie Capewell
Georgia Hilleard
Blaine Ridge-Davis


Kye Whyte

Dan Tulett
Cameron Orr
Emily Wadsworth
Sophie Wright





Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,