Report: Mildenhall CC Hill Climb

Dan Sutton, riding in his first Club Hill Climb, roared up the 930 yard hill to become Mildenhall’s Hill Climb Champion 

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Mildenhall CC Hill Climb

Just 21 seconds separated the Mildenhall Cycling Club members competing in their annual Hill Climb Championship on Primrose Hill in Moulton on Sunday.

Dan Sutton, riding in his first Club Hill Climb, roared up the 930yard hill in 2 minutes 19.9 seconds and will be crowned as Mildenhall’s Hill Climb Champion at their Prize Presentation next February.

David Robb (48) was the first rider of the day up the hill and set the tone for the remaining cyclists with a respectable time of 2 minutes 41.5 seconds. The very next rider off, one minute behind him was his eldest son 15-year-old Alex. The schoolboy excelled himself shaving over ten seconds off his time recorded in the 2016 Hill Climb to stop the clock at 2 minutes 38.1 seconds and the satisfaction of beating his Dad by three seconds!

Having ridden out to Moulton from their Exning home, competed in the Hill Climb, they then cycled to Cambridge to watch Alex’s 12-year-old brother Francis playing Rugby!

Pete Clements was the next Mildenhall rider off up the hill and Mr Consistency rode to within a second of the time he achieved in last year’s event, going past time keeper Mike Wiseman in 1 minute 27.4seconds
… continued after advert


Like the Robb’s he had ridden out to the event from his home in Weeting, taking part in the Club ride out from Mildenhall on his way and it was good to see the club’s colours at the start and on the hill cheering on their club-mates.

Clements was the fastest Mildenhall rider on the road, that was until 22-year-old Sutton began his ascent of Primrose Hill, beating his time by seven seconds.

The fastest rider of the day was Nik Banks (Ely & District CC) who did it in 1m 52.4s, while the only other rider to break the two-minute barrier was James Ward 1m 55.1s

The event was held jointly with Ely & District Cycling Club and compared to recent years was held in near perfect conditions with the hedges lining the hill, protecting the riders from the cool autumnal air.

Picture attached: Mildenhall’s 2017 Hill Climb Champion Dan Sutton, at the start.

1. N. Banks (Ely & District CC) 1m 52.39s
2. James Ward (Ely & District CC) 1m 55.09s
3. R. Golding (Ely & District CC) 2m 07.43s
4. L. Barron (Ely & District CC) 2m 09.17s
5. H. Leadbetter (Ely & District CC) 2m 09.43s
6. B. Sealy (Ely & District CC) 2m 12.53s
7. C. Brown (Ely & District CC) 2m 14.99s
8. J. Russell (Ely & District CC) 2m 19.00s
9. S. Croft (Ely & District CC) 2m 19.06s
10. D. Sutton (Mildenhall CC) 2m 19.89s
11. E. Husband (Newmarket C & TC) 2m 21.57s
12. N. Leadbetter (Ely & District CC) 2m 21.75s
13. P. Clements (Mildenhall CC) 2m 27.42s
14. A. Robb (Mildenhall CC) 2m 39.07s
15. J. Ward (Ely & District CC) 2m 39.59s
16. O. Batster (Ely & District CC) 2m 41.41s
17. D. Robb (Mildenhall CC) 2m 41.46s
18. L. Marshell (Ely & District CC) 2m 43.39s
19. B. Gray (Ely & District CC) 3m 03.44s
20. C. King (Ely & District CC) 3m 08.81s




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK