News: GB Medals at CX Euros

There was a silver for Tom Pidcock and bronze for Ben Tulett at the European CX Championships in Czech Republic.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: GB Medals at CX Euros

First race of the day was the Junior Men and in this Ben Tulett, winner at Koppenberg earlier in the week, finished third. With the sun shining and some tricky slippery muddy sections to trick the riders up, it was the Swiss rider Loris Rouilleur who gapped the rest early on whilst behind Sean Flynn and Ben Tulett were in a chasing group of five riders.

Around halfway, the home country’s Tomas Kopecky bridged to the leader with Dutch duo Pim Ronhaar and Ryan Kamp chasing hard and Tulett a further six seconds whilst Flynn was another eight seconds back.

With only seconds in it, the charge on the final lap was going to be decisive and so it was as the Swiss rider had time to celebrate the win from Kopecky whilst Tulett pulled out an amazing final lap to pass the Dutch riders and get the bronze, only eight seconds behind the winner. Sean Flynn was sixth with Lewis Askey 17th.

Tom Pidcock Unlucky
It just wasn’t Tom Pidcocks day at the Europeans in the Under 23 men’s race. From lap 1, the odd slip here in the mud and multiple crashes (two on the hurdles) made it hard work and yet, when it came to the battle for the win, there were only two riders in it and Tom was one of them.

Unfortunately for him, in the sprint, Tom (centre in the pic above) tried to come between the Belgian Iserbyt and the barrier and the inevitable happened and Iserbyt closed the door and blocked Pidcock’s sprint.

In the Under 23 Women’s race, 16 year old Harriet Harnden was 19th whilst Anna Kay was 23rd. In the Senior Elite Women’s event, Britain’s Helen Wyman led the way as both her and Nikki Brammeier started mid field and soon clawed their way up into the top 10. Whilst Wyman continued to make progress, up to eight where she finished, Brammeier lost a few places to end the race in 12th whilst Hannah Payton was 22nd. Winner was world champion Sanne Cant.

The final race of the day, the men’s, had no British riders in it – Mathieu van der Poel won from Lars van der Haar and Toon Aerts





Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK